Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful- Easily rivaling the work of fleming himself.
In the novel, Bond, first encounters The Union, a terrorist organisation reminiscent of SPECTRE. Unlike most Bond novels in which you are aware of the villains and their intentions, the book keeps you guessing all the way through the expedition up Kangchenjunga, the third tallest mountain on earth. I thought the expedition was a most origianal setting far superior to...
Published on 23 July 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best bond but better than no bond
I gave this book a rating of 3 stars as the stories not too bad and keeps your interest going
All fan's of bond will like this book I will read Raymond Benson again
Published 13 months ago by john naylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful- Easily rivaling the work of fleming himself., 23 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
In the novel, Bond, first encounters The Union, a terrorist organisation reminiscent of SPECTRE. Unlike most Bond novels in which you are aware of the villains and their intentions, the book keeps you guessing all the way through the expedition up Kangchenjunga, the third tallest mountain on earth. I thought the expedition was a most origianal setting far superior to the the work of John Gardner. It was also faster moving than any other Bond novel I have ever read, and also had a very contempory feel to it which I liked. There were three main women in the book and two bad guys- Harding and Marquis. I give the book top marks for plot, originality and over all being the best Raymond Benson effort to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Read - And One of the Best Bond Books!, 6 July 2009
By 
Mr. R. A. Jones "AL" (North Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
Raymond Benson's fourth James Bond novel, "High Time to Kill" was released the same year as the EON's "The World Is Not Enough" starring Pierce Brosnan in his penultimate 007 film. Whereas that film had a convoluted plot and drifted into inanity, Raymond Benson was delivering what many Bond fans hail as one of the finest instalments in the 007 cannon.

The novel begins with a few nods to the past as James Bond relaxes on a Jamaican holiday with his secretary Helena Marksbury, with whom he is involved in a secret affair as colleagues aren't supposed to be romantically connected. They are invited to a party hosted by the Governor of the Bahamas (who appeared in the Fleming short story "Quantum of Solace" - unrelated to the Daniel Craig film) and all seems well until blackmail and murder raise their ominous heads. A chase ensues between Bond and the killer, and already we're off to a flying start.

This isn't really relevant - and after a Goldfinger-esque golf match, the main story begins when a secret formula named "Skin 17" is stolen by a traitor. M - the female chief of SIS (which M16 is now known) - sends Bond to follow the traitor to Belgium.

The formula is hidden in a pacemaker which is then implanted into a Chinese man, and during his journey via air, the plane is hijacked and crashes into Mount Kangchenjunga - the third highest mountain in the world. The organisation who stole the formula are naturally angry and plan to climb the mountain in a bid to retrieve the microdot which is worth billions. The Russian Mafia, the Chinese and also the Belgians are after it - and, under M's orders, so is James Bond. A mountaineering party is assembled, including his arch rival from Eton, Roland Marquis, and a pretty New Zealand doctor prophetically named Hope Kendall. The race is on to see who can reach the site of the plane crash and claim the priceless microdot, and storms lay await ahead.

Like Ian Fleming's classic novels, the action is downplayed in barter to suspense and espionage, but the books moves at a swift pace - even if the main plot doesn't really begin until page 130. Many fans and critics languidly compared it to the Sly Stallone flick "Cliffhanger", and maybe that's a worthy comparison, but whereas that 1993 film employed an over reliance on action scenes and set pieces, "High Time to Kill" delves heavier into suspense and mystery. There's an enemy sniper on Bond's team - but who is it? Such mystery is gripping, and the novel is a marvellous read throughout.

Its excellence is infinitely higher than Sebastian Faulk's ultimately mundane "Devil May Care", and Benson's novel is staggeringly more deserving of the former book's incredulously high marketing efforts. With "High Time to Kill", Raymond Benson shoots high - and lands right on target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, action, romance. HTTK has it all!, 5 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
High time to kill succeds where other bond novels failed with the tension and suspense created throughout the novel. Beginning with the stealing of a susperior material, skin 17, bond has to track the villians who stole it, but meanwhile comes accross the Union. The Union is a criminal organisation who have bribed, blackmailed and killed many high authority figures to get their way. As good as SPECTRE and just as ruthless, bond has a real threat to his aspirations, which I feel has been missing for quite a while!
Bond has to track and find skin 17 for the British Government so they can get back some of their political and economical strength, but the book also sees bond going head to head with his old rival Roland Marquise. The Climax of the book is an expedition up the 3rd tallest peak in the world to retrieve this skin 17. But Bond has to overcome members of the Union who have infiltrated the expedition group as well as the extreme conditions.
Bensons writing really creates a tense atmosphere and makes you feel like you are up the mountain. This book is superbly written and makes you want to keep reading and reading. Bond at his best and back to basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Benson has nearly made the character of Bond his own., 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
Quite a good novel for a man I didn't think could cut the grade as Bond's writer. In this this instalment of Bond's escapades, Benson has truely created a BRILLIANT criminal organisation to equal that of SPECTRE which was created by the late Ian Fleming. Each individual character has been fully fleshed out and makes you interested in their objectives. This particular story has some great set pieces, some quite dramatic pose and truely evil villians. Benson has lost none of Flemings capablities in capturing the reader from the very start, though the story does tend to bog down during the middle, though it does raises itself towards the end. Thoroughly enjoyable and welcome back Mr. Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benson's best and a truly great Bond novel!, 3 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (Hardcover)
I've been a fan of the Bond books since the early sixties, and I feel Benson has done a tremendous job in capturing Fleming's original mood and flavour. 'High Time to Kill' is his best yet, miles above the first two (no pun intended) as Bond has a unique adventure in the Himalayas. I found the book immensely suspenseful and the characterizations having the kind of depth certainly missing from the films-- and I don't see this novel as being 'film-like' in any way. If anything, it reminds me more of something along the lines of Fleming's own 'On Her Majesty's Secret Service.' This is a bloody good Bond novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Benson's best Bond book (not that there's much competition), 28 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
After Benson's previous efforts, I did not expect much from High Time To Kill. But I was pleasantly surprised. The book is pretty well written and has an engaging storyline. What continues to annoy is a spate of Americanisms which Benson has Bond saying. Benson's Bond behaves differently from those of Ian Fleming and John Gardner and despite Benson's best efforts, there is a lack of continuity with previous Bond novels. But on the positive side, it's a novel which is so exciting, it virtually turns the pages itself! A thrilling easy to read book which I finished in two nights. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one kept me up all night!!!!!!!, 27 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
Having read most of the Fleming Bonds and a few of the Gardner's I was prepared for a good solid spy story. What I found was a fantastic Mountain climbing adventure that I started at Ten at night and could not put down till Six in the morning when I had read it to the end!!!! I've always enjoyed 007's adventures and this one had me enthralled his illicit affair with yet another MI6 assistant, his long time rivalry with Roland Marquis, and his remarkable skill in yet a whole new field, mountain climbing!! i'd reccomend this book to any Bond fan instantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the rest, 14 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (Hardcover)
After writing not so kind words about his previous outings as James Bond author, I was impressed. This is certainly better researched, much more cleanly written and actually captures the essence of Fleming. Dare I say the storyline is a little predictable. I look forward to the alledged new book set in Gibraltar. I will be VERY interested in the details there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Benson's best Bond yet, 28 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) (Paperback)
Being a fan of 007 myself, this is Raymond Benson's Bond novel since he wrote Zero Minus Ten. It is full of action and the locations are sesational in every way, from the warehouse in Aldershot to the peak of Kangchenjunga, I especially like the return of his colour changing Jaguar, with all of it's gadgets. I just hope that one day this novel will become a successful film as well as Zero Minus Ten and The Facts of Death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Benson's best yet!, 23 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: High Time to Kill (Hardcover)
A great book. Introducing the Union was a great idea and I especially liked the way they killed their victims by cutting their throats! You could say that there is too much resemblance to Ian Fleming's work but the mark is based on how good the book is, not how original it is. No-one can write espionage books better than Fleming, not even Benson. However, this is a brilliant book which beats Zero Minus Ten hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Time to Kill (James Bond 007)
High Time to Kill (James Bond 007) by Raymond Benson (Paperback - 1 July 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews