Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La La La.......Wow Wow Wow
This book is a must for every Kylie fan, it is a celebration of Kylie and Generation K, plus it is a look at pop culture and how Kylie has influenced it and been influenced by it. William Baker will take you back to childhood when you first remember seeing Kylie in Neighbours to the pop icon she has become today.
With text from Baker, plus hand written notes from...
Published on 12 Nov 2002 by Mr Peter J Bond

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a cop out
Well I read the words of previous Amazon shoppers and I have to say I was a little disappointed. If you're looking for a Kylie style biography, for example who made a dress or outfit for a certain tour or video, this is for you. This isn't rocket science however and Baker does seem to use some words like femininity and sensuality a lot in this book, and I finished it in a...
Published on 7 July 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La La La.......Wow Wow Wow, 12 Nov 2002
By 
Mr Peter J Bond (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
This book is a must for every Kylie fan, it is a celebration of Kylie and Generation K, plus it is a look at pop culture and how Kylie has influenced it and been influenced by it. William Baker will take you back to childhood when you first remember seeing Kylie in Neighbours to the pop icon she has become today.
With text from Baker, plus hand written notes from Minogue, they both compliment each other perfectly, to cram 15 years of an incredible life into this book must have been hard but it is compelling reading, a book that is very hard to put down till its completed plus the pictures can be looked at many times, but on every viewing you see another photo you didn't see before and see actually how many guises Kylie has had.
Love her or hate her (surely no one can?) you will love this book, if you know any Kylie doubters buy them this book as a gift, there opinion about Kylie will change overnight and give her the respect she is due.
KYLIE FOREVER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars come into her world..., 21 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
La La La looks amazing...there are photos that even the most ardent Klyie fan will not have seen before. William Baker, Kylies best friend and Creative designer writes most of the text
in this hardback book, with Kylie adding some intersting insights
of what it is like to be the "Product Kylie" and the "Private Kylie." My only problem with the book was that some of the text was hard to read as it was printed on contrasting colours Eg-Bright pink writing on red back grounds etc, and also some of Kylies text was handwritten, so it was not that easy to read in parts.
There would be five stars if not for those last points!!
Otherwise this is a must have for Kylie fans old-(like me!!) and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a cop out, 7 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie La La La (Paperback)
Well I read the words of previous Amazon shoppers and I have to say I was a little disappointed. If you're looking for a Kylie style biography, for example who made a dress or outfit for a certain tour or video, this is for you. This isn't rocket science however and Baker does seem to use some words like femininity and sensuality a lot in this book, and I finished it in a few days. It's also very short (if you've read Geri Halliwell's Just For The Record, you get the idea, in fact she probably copied Kylie or vice versa). If you're looking for a juicy read about Kylie's ups and downs, both professional and personal then I'd advise to look elsewhere, but if you prefer to read the 'official' version of things, this is the best you're going to get until Kylie decides to tell her own story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked book!, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Hannah Southworth (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
Love Kylie, I had this book years ago but it went missing. Finally got round to replacing it. Really good read and such gorgeous and beautiful photos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
Was very fast in post! cover of the book is a bit bad but over all is a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars buy, buy, buy !, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
Essential purchase for all Kylie fans, typed narrative from William Baker with many additions from Kylie in her own handwriting
making it more personal.
Many photos unseen and unexpected, she really is something wonderful !
Book is 10 years old now, but still a worthwhile purchase.
Only reason for not giving 5 stars is some of the text is copied over images/photos making it a struggle to read at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars William Baker's ego, 12 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
wrote this book. If you count a couple of hand-scrawled paragraphs, you may consider Kylie to be a coauthor as well.
Serious amounts of hallucinogenics must have been consumed during the layout phase of this book, since some pages are rendered unreadable by clashing colours. The remainder of the text varies erratically between the occasional useful insight into the personality of our pop queen and dubiously tangential topics like William Baker's fashion sense.
I get the impression that Baker's a very likeable chap, but his editor's shocking. Who cares what you don't learn if you enjoy the journey? Unfortunately on this journey, there was little to learn or enjoy along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars la la la, 3 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Kylie: La La La (Hardcover)
the cover was not the same as the picture but other wise i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kylie: La La La
Kylie: La La La by William Baker & Kylie Minogue (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews