Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars58
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£11.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2001
I am a Leeds United season ticket holder - so why did I pick up a book from the manager of our rivals? - Maybe I am a little macarbe but mainly I do enjoy football literature.
As a partisan fan I can't help thinking that Mr Ferguson is abit of a moaner and really sections of this book back-up that myth -- he never really does give Leeds the credit of winning the title but that Man U lost it and injuries and the Sun (yes the yellow ball in the sky) has alot to answer for!!
But to be perfectly honest this is a compelling read tracing the mans life and the first 250 pages deal with his formative years and his career in Scotland. I agree that he is forthright but the questions the previous reviewer mentioned are never explored.
A worthwhile piece of football literature for ALL football fans if they can stomach it. Well worth it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2002
This book is not exactly a "page turner" , but it is well worth reading. Sir Alex Ferguson emerges from it not only as a phenomenally successful football manager , but as a genuinely impressive human being. I enjoyed his early life story in particular , probably because his later life is now so familiar. My first recollections of Ferguson were when he managed St Mirren to some successes in the 70's and was largely unaware of his relatively successful playing career with St Johnstone , Dunfermline, Rangers et al.The novel traces his playing career and skilfully interweaves it with details of his personal life and comments and opinions on the people he encounted along the way.His full life included stints as a toolmaker and pub manager in Glasgow. A picture develops of an energetic ,determined,competitive, tactically skilful and honest man who commands and displays loyalty and is a master motivator. Ferguson watched and learned from people like Jock Stein over the years and acknowledges such influences throughout the book.
"The Treble" Man.Utd. achieved in 1999 begins and ends the story and will always be the highpoint of Ferguson's career and the Man Utd success story of the past decade is covered in detail with interesting insights into his dealings with Ince , Kanchelskis , Cantona etc.
Sir Alex Ferguson emerges from this book as an impressive figure. There is no trace of arrogance in the story, from a man who came up through the lowliest ranks of Scottish clubs in his playing and management career. As his management career draws to an end this well-written book is a worthy tribute.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 1999
As a lifelong united fan I was very much looking forward to reading this book especially after the dramatic events of last season.I have always been struck by the fact that sir Alex Is either loved or loathed depending on one's footballing allegiance.This book should do a lot to enhance either viewpoint.This book tells the reader a great deal about what makes this man tick.It is no surprise that Sir Alex was not prepared to accept second best even at the short-trousered stage In his life. I was very much struck by his genuine humility and modesty despite all his success.I doubt whether non football lovers will get much from this book and I suspect that united haters will not read It out of principle but this book is a fascinating and occasionally moving read.Many ghost-written autobiographies lack that feeling of "genuiness" but Hugh McIlvanney has done a superb job In bringing out the essence of an extraordinary sporting figure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
Even allowing for the bias that I'm a United fan, this is a truly incredible book. Tough, uncompromising and, to be fair, almost brutally honest in parts, this book is never less than compelling and offers a remarkable insight into one of the most successful football careers Europe has ever seen. Any true football fan will find it hard to put this book down - and the sections dealing with Rangers, Paul McGrath, the Jim Leighton controversy and latterly Brian Kidd are fascinating. This book is also well worth reading in contrast to Patrick Barclay's 'Football - Bloody Hell' as the latter fills in the few gaps left by the former. I'd unhesitatingly recommend this book - it's perfect for a two week holiday when you can devote yourself to it by the pool or on the beach. Given the ongoing status of Fergie's career I wouldn't be surprised if an updated version is in the pipeline. One of the great sports books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
Despite not being an avid supporter of Manchester United I have always been very keen to have an insight into the life and times of club's greatest ever manager.

The book clearly portrays the great mans early days and his tough upbringing in Govan, Glasgow. Uniquely, in a city which had major religous differences Alex's parents were from a mixed marriage. We get a great insight into Alex's early footballing life and the tough times that his family endured in surviving.
A fascinating discussion about Alex Ferguson's time as a player were amongst other clubs represented Glasgow Rangers. Even as a player we could to realize that he had a volatile temperament which would continue to serve him as a natural football leader.

From success at the unfashionable Aberdeen football Club to the pressures of managing one of the biggest sports clubs in the world Alex remains how much his childhood upbringing continues to be a major backbone of his life.

A truly great read into the one of soccers most respected characters.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 1999
This book is not 100% soccer. It has a lot of substance to it. The first couple of chapters are all about what life was like growing up in a rough part of Glasgow. Basically Alex Ferguson has had a really colourful life and this book is more than just soccer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
This is a book that once you start reading - you can not put down, It covers all aspects of his life from Growing up all the way to the European Championship of 1999,
you do really become Alex Ferguson when reading this book, he gets in your head and share his life, it's only when you look in the mirror after reading the book and do not see the quirky scot looking back at you that you are drawn back to reality!
This is a top notch book and for the price a bargain - you do not need to be a reds fan or football to read this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
One of Sir Alex's earlier classics, but updated for this version. 'Managing My Life' is a journey from the Govan shipyards to United Godfather, and as the above review says, its told with all the biting controversy and human sensitivity we have come to expect from him. Sir Alex's life at United is covered in other volumes, so its interesting to read of his experiences before moving to Old Trafford. Indeed, he was a legend at Aberdeen even before he set foot in English football. Recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
Fascinating read, such attention to detail regarding previous matches played as a lad and masterminded as a manager.
Not enough about his life outside of football for me but I guess that shows how much of SAF's life is full of football.
Luckily I've had the honour of meeting SAF several times through business and he really is the kindest and friendliest down to earth person you could ever meet. This book only scratches the surface of such a fascinating man that is irreplaceable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Great book which leads on to his later career at Manchester United. Fergie started his managerial at St Mirren where he was sacked and went to Pittodrie where he took Aberdeen to two European trophies (which I witnessed). Broke the Old Firm monopoly in Scotland and then went down to England and the rest is history. I had the pleasure to meet him in his days at Pittodrie, always time to speak to the fans . Surely must be best ever Manager in Britain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)