Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book reaches out and gives you a hug!
Much like the first book of Robert's that I've read, 'Living Wonderfully' (which is sadly no longer in print) 'Shift Happens!' has the distinct quality of giving the reader an experience of feeling really good while reading it!
I'm not sure how he does it, but Robert seems to be able to project a feeling of unconditional love and acceptance through the pages of his...
Published on 6 Sep 2001

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More bad than good
Small chapters and simply set out, this looked a good book to dip into occasionally.
In truth it seems to be a finger wagging lecture and drones on about what you should not do and is terribly light on what you should - other than worship God.
If that's what I wanted I would have gone to church.
Published on 17 Oct 2007 by Nobby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book reaches out and gives you a hug!, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Much like the first book of Robert's that I've read, 'Living Wonderfully' (which is sadly no longer in print) 'Shift Happens!' has the distinct quality of giving the reader an experience of feeling really good while reading it!
I'm not sure how he does it, but Robert seems to be able to project a feeling of unconditional love and acceptance through the pages of his book. As you read, you begin to feel good... really, really good about yourself. You could be in the depths of despair, and read this book and feel hope. More than hope. You begin to feel healed at the deepest levels.
I know this may sound like an awful lot for a smallish book to be capable of, but this book does what its subtitle claims. Unlike plenty of the self-help books out there, this book does not give you ten easy steps to making your life perfect. Instead, it becomes the alchemist in your transformational process as the words sink into your consciousness. You see, Robert has this knack of telling the Truth. The real truth that no one can deny. He tells it simply, with humour. It is palatable, acceptable, and therefore, 'Shift Happens!' winds up being like a private course of sessions using a therapy that will work on anyone, with any condition.
The first time I read the book, I read it all in one go. It flows well and is easy to read. I didn't want to put it down because it made me feel too good.
The second time I read the book, I read it in bits and pieces while commuting on the tube. This is also easy to do, because the short chapters elaborate on a specific bite-sized chunk that can be digested quickly. It is the perfect companion on a train. You can be sheltered by its wisdom. Yet it is light enough to ensure you will not miss your stop.
It's also a handy little book to refer to every now and again, right when you need that little influx of moral support. I dare say that this book practically comes out and gives you a hug every time you read a bit of it. It really is one you should read and keep!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent and inspiring book., 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book and I am ready to start it again. It is full of 'down to earth' inspiration and examples of other peoples trials and tribulations which makes you feel like you are not alone! I gave it to a few friends and family for Christmas and they all agree with me. I'm seriously thinking about attending the seminar which complements this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shift happens!: Powerful ways to transform your life, 15 May 2006
By 
C. Turney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Summary: An excellent, enjoyable book full of wisdom.

Reader: Lecturer in nursing

An excellent book that has greatly improved my life and several others, friends and others. This has insightful wisdom that is easy to apply in everyday life and is written in a very thoughtful, thought-provoking and humerous way. A real delight to dip in to, especially when stressed, to help us remember what is valuable in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspirational, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
This a very good book. Lots of short and very inspiring stories. It opens your mind to a different way of thinking. Robert shows you that happiness is a decision you have to take every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life (Paperback)
Love this book,has a very positive influence. The author is probably one of the best grounded self help authors, and worth encouraging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More bad than good, 17 Oct 2007
Small chapters and simply set out, this looked a good book to dip into occasionally.
In truth it seems to be a finger wagging lecture and drones on about what you should not do and is terribly light on what you should - other than worship God.
If that's what I wanted I would have gone to church.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life
Shift Happens!: Powerful Ways to Transform Your Life by Robert Holden (Paperback - 21 Sep 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews