Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not guess the end
This is my second Jeffery Deaver book , having read "The Bone Collector" . Yet again I was gripped and could not book the book down. Surely another film in the making.
I knew after The Bone Collector I was in for an ending with a twist and yet I was still surprised. Am now about to start A Maiden's Grave Can't wait
Published on 18 Sep 2000

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting but ludicrous
There's no doubting that it's a exciting page turner but the plot is full of holes and the denouement is nothing short of ludicrous. I won't give it away but the big reveal renders what came before totally nonsensical.
It turns out that the Coffin Dancer, a meticulous planner who will go to any lengths to get his kill, has left an awful lot to chance and seems to be...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not guess the end, 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
This is my second Jeffery Deaver book , having read "The Bone Collector" . Yet again I was gripped and could not book the book down. Surely another film in the making.
I knew after The Bone Collector I was in for an ending with a twist and yet I was still surprised. Am now about to start A Maiden's Grave Can't wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting but ludicrous, 7 Sep 2009
By 
There's no doubting that it's a exciting page turner but the plot is full of holes and the denouement is nothing short of ludicrous. I won't give it away but the big reveal renders what came before totally nonsensical.
It turns out that the Coffin Dancer, a meticulous planner who will go to any lengths to get his kill, has left an awful lot to chance and seems to be relying on a hell of a lot of good luck and coincidence. The fact that he wasn't killed during the course of such a dumb plan is some sort of miracle.
There are other major (and minor) plot flaws and niggles but the big one is unforgivable.

I couldn't put it down but when it was done it left a sour taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best thrillers that I have ever read., 28 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
This second Lincoln Rhyme story from Jeffery Deaver is even more gripping than his first, "The Bone Collector". Like it's predecessor it's one of those books that you just can't put down. Just when you think you've figured something out there's another twist to the story and you just keep on reading. If you don't mind finding your book lying on your bedroom floor in the morning because you've desperately tried to stay awake to read just a few more pages the night before, then "The Coffin Dancer" is for you. Apart from being a fascinating insight into the world of forensic science, you really feel that you are there with the characters, trying to figure out the killer's next move. I would offer one piece of advice however. Don't read this book before you've read "The Bone Collector" as you will miss some of the essential background to the characters that you will need to enjoy "The Coffin Dancer" to the full. Congratulations to Jeffery Deaver. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read but flawed in Places, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can only add to what a number of other reviewers have already said about this book. I found the book well written and very readable. Parts of the story were excellent and described the action that was taking place very well indeed. No complaints on that score.
In all works of fiction there are always points in the story where the reader is asked to suspend reality and to accept a particular course of action taken by one of the characters as this is required to lead the story to where the author wishes it to go, and most readers accept this without questions. What the author should not do is to not have too many of these, or to build up a character in the story to then have them do the most improbable thing.

In this case "The Dancer" is built up throughout the story as the almost perfect killing machine, to such an extent that he invariably detects the traps set for him by the police all the way through the book, only to be caught out at the end of the story because the story had to end somewhere.

All in all for me this was a good enough read, certainly not bad enough to be a one or two star book, but equally it does not deserve any higher than the three stars that I have gave it due to these stretches that the story takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great twist at the end, 20 Aug 2008
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
the follow lincoln ryhme novel to the bone collcetor and it is just as thrilling. great final twist at the end and you dont even see it coming so i wasnt sure i had read it rite. a good forensic story that keeps the suspense going that you cant put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lincoln's best mystery, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
Deaver excels with a plot that packs in plenty of surprises and characteristic Deaver-diversions. The first chapter captures the uniquely distractive style of writing on which his thrillers are based. The research is tight, always nudging the plot along, and the narrative itself is written with more verve than the other two Rhyme novels. The best of the Rhyme series heretofore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly gripping with lots of exciting twists, 20 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
There is no doubt that I am quite a fan of the forensic crime thriller type of books, but despite that, this is the first Jeffrey Deaver that I have actually read. I thought it was fantastic. The plot was far more interesting and clever and had a lot more twists and turns along the way to keep you guessing than most of the other books of the same genre that I have read.
I think that it is incredibly difficult for a book like this to get every single aspect perfect. Certain imperfections have to be expected, and the way Percy wanted to take things into her own hands as opposed to having the police assist, was a little unrealistic. This minor issue however, did not detract from the quality of the book.
I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this book. It kept me firmly in it's grasp throughout the whole story, and I can't wait to read some more Jeffrey Deaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best novels out there!, 23 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
Having seen 'the Bone Collector' movie, I haven't been interested in Jeffery Deaver's works up until now. Having finished everything else that I had lined up, I decided to finally take a look at the Lincoln Rhyme series with the 'Coffin Dancer', and this is certainly one of the greatest thrillers I've ever read!
In this story we follow Lincoln Rhyme the bed-ridden criminalist in his chase of the elusive Coffin Dancer. Using his aides and his protege Amelia Sachs, he examines evidence from crime scenes and arranges the entire criminal investigation from his bed. This time round the Dancer is one-by-one eliminating some of the workers at an airline charter company who witnessed something they were not supposed to see.
The suspense is fantastic and the depth of the story is amazing. I loved the blend of criminalist examination of forensic evidence together with the action and drama of the actual pursuit of the suspect. I was also not expecting a twist in the story's end, but it turns out there is much more to the story than first meets the eye. The interaction between all of the characters is also highly entertaining, and you are taken through a range of emotions: everything from sadness, to anger and suspense.
All in all, these Deaver books seem to be horribly massacred by Hollywood attempts to make them into movies. For all crime fiction fans, drop everything else and read this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SURELY THIS COULD BE THE GREATEST THRILLER EVER, 10 Jun 2005
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Coffin Dancer (Paperback)
Wow with a great start in a doomed aircraft, and csi investigations that defies suspense, a criminal genius that is beyond compare, think Hannibal only 10 times worse, great twists, incredible story and you have Deaver's best ever novel, Bone Collector was great but this just blows it out the water.
I have seen so many books that say could not put it down well this is literally unputodownable missing several stops on my way to work. Forget 5 stars this is a 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I can't comment yet, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, unfortunately, cannot comment on this book yet - I havent read it, due to illness, but I know I will not be disappointed! Jeffrey Deaver is definitely one of the best writers of grotesque and gory thrillers and is one to read if you want to be kept on your toes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0acbdbc)

This product

The Coffin Dancer
The Coffin Dancer by Jeffery Deaver (Paperback - 5 Nov 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews