Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming and funny story with lovely illustrations and flaps for little fingers
This is a lovely picture book with gorgeous wholesome pictures, and a lift-the-flap on every page. A boy heads into a pet shop with big signs on the window "Everything must go". Inside there's a very friendly rat for 1p who's dying to be picked and helps throughout the browsing process. There are lots of interesting animals, terrapin, turtle and tortoise; a perch of...
Published on 28 Oct. 2007 by ELH Browning

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you child is learning numbers
Full of the usual Mick Inkpen excellent illustrations. A fun way to learn numbers for your child, especially if they like animals. Recommended, but not as good as Billy's Beetle.
Published on 8 Oct. 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming and funny story with lovely illustrations and flaps for little fingers, 28 Oct. 2007
By 
ELH Browning "Esther-Lou" (Kingston Bagpuize, Oxon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
This is a lovely picture book with gorgeous wholesome pictures, and a lift-the-flap on every page. A boy heads into a pet shop with big signs on the window "Everything must go". Inside there's a very friendly rat for 1p who's dying to be picked and helps throughout the browsing process. There are lots of interesting animals, terrapin, turtle and tortoise; a perch of things beginning with p (platypus???); a skink ("a sausage on legs" says the rat) and so on. Will the boy choose the salamander, the anteater, or what? The finale is a long fold-out page with a collection of animals and a pop-out pelican.
With its flaps and interesting animals, this is probably suitable for children from about 18 months (in response to the other review, Billy's Beetle has the same kind of feel as this book but possibly has more text and certainly has no flaps so is better from two and a half). This book should also last the test of time. It still amuses my daughter who at 7 is really too old, and she also likes to do the maths, adding up the prices of the various animals for sale up to reach £1.
In sum, totally charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never get sick of it, 1 Dec. 2007
This review is from: The Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
My son has had this book for a year and we still enjoy it. I'm now buying it for my God-daughter. It's one of those gems of a children's book which wont make you groan when your child asks you to read it again and again and AGAIN! (in the same league as Night Monkey Day Monkey & The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully illustrated wry happy ending, 7 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Pet Sale (Hardcover)
I just loved this book, my daughter Tess (age5) really enjoyed the character of the little rat. He was so endearing and funny, you can't help but love him. The lift-up flap format really added to the enjoyment of the story, and even though I thought it was a tad babyish for Tess, she couldn't wait to lift the flaps. You will find yourself smiling all the way through this book..the ridiculous prices of the animals, rats' description of them, and of course the beautiful illustrations. It will leave your child feeling warm inside and believing in happy endings....now that must be worth something, surely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inkpen masterpiece !, 30 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
My little boy (aged 4) has had this book for two years and still loves it. It is a wonderful book; it has laughs, pathos, numbers to learn and lots more besides. A must have for your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and beautiful, 23 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
Although every Mick Inkpen book is so distinctly and wonderfully "Mick Inkpen", each one has something new and unique about it. I read The Great Pet Sale over and over again to my boy because it makes me laugh. Apart from being beautiful like all Inkpens, it is funny in a new and different way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely tale, we love the rat!, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
A boy visits the pet shop with his money.. What animal will he choose?

It includes lots of animal names, money and answer story about a rat desperate to be taken home.

My qualms are that a couple of times you're not sure which animal is which (I'm not a natural history expert and we both guess) and that when the boy spends his money, the amount of each animal is unrealistic, but hey, it's a picture book!

Love Inkpen's distinctive style of illustration, love the story and foldouts as always. My three year old is always pleased to see this at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you child is learning numbers, 8 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
Full of the usual Mick Inkpen excellent illustrations. A fun way to learn numbers for your child, especially if they like animals. Recommended, but not as good as Billy's Beetle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story to introduce numeracy, 22 July 2012
This review is from: The Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
I am a primary school teacher and i have used this book on many occasions to introduce the value of money and also basic addition problems. It is a wonderful story to also read for enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
This book arrived in good time, well packaged and in excellent condition. My 5yrs old granddaughter loves to read & as she has many Mike Inkpen books in her collection I thought 1 more would be good. I know she will enjoy reading this as I did when I skimmed through it on arrival.... I will report back in December (That's her birthday) on how much she enjoyed reading the book. Thanks for prompt service & I will use seller again..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST-HAVE ON EVERYONE'S BOKSHELF - REGARDLESS OF YOUR AGE, 28 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Pet Sale (Paperback)
Best children's book ever - this is such fun. Twenty years on from buying it for my own, I am buying it for a friend's little boy and think i love it even more - all those funny little voices came back into my head, reminiscent of reading it aloud the first time. Also its not particularly sentimental, and doesn't have a deep meaning! Its just really good fun, with great illustrations and little flaps to open up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Pet Sale
Great Pet Sale by Mick Inkpen (Paperback - 19 Aug. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews