Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life just got a whole lot more interesting!
- A must read, turns the orthodox ideas of ancient history completely on their head (and inside out as well) - This book takes a completely fresh look at religious history and mythology. Discarding all dogma, previous assumptions and interpretations. It also looks at the evidence that doesn't fit the orthodox picture. The evidence most historians try to brush under...
Published on 22 Jan. 2000 by howard@koolman.com

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The wild speculations become tiresome
I generally enjoy the alternative "Indiana Jones" approach to archaeology, even though I don't accept most of it. However, whilst someone like Graham Hancock is more speculative, Alford dives right in and shows that ancient Sumerian and Biblical stories "prove" ancient man had spacecraft and atom-bombs.
I am sure there is far more to ancient societies than meets the...
Published on 8 Dec. 2003 by Ghoti666


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life just got a whole lot more interesting!, 22 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
- A must read, turns the orthodox ideas of ancient history completely on their head (and inside out as well) - This book takes a completely fresh look at religious history and mythology. Discarding all dogma, previous assumptions and interpretations. It also looks at the evidence that doesn't fit the orthodox picture. The evidence most historians try to brush under the carpet. But which IS there. The truth of our ancient history just might be too fantastic to imagine. It is impossible to read this book and not look at the world around us in the same way again. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will challenge the way you think, 9 Oct. 1999
By 
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
I happenned to chance upon this book while flying out of Heathrow. Didnt know what was in store for me till I started reading it. It has changed the way I look at world religion, for me the explanation given in this book definitely makes more sense then all I have ever heard through what religion has to offer. A must read for anyone with an open mind. It will thrill you scare you and maybe even change the way you look at life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging ideas even if you don't subscribe to them, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
S. J. Matthews "Macrosteg" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
Alan Alford introduces mind boggling ideas and intriguing questions that makes any reader put down the book and just sit there and think. His ideas ranges from curious, to challenging to down right absurd. And where his theories are beyond the realms of plausibility, to which he himself has now rebuked, the ideas, questions and anomalies that the book raises will not only entertain but have you thinking for weeks if not months after you put the book down. Highly recommended as long as you don't want to read something that gives you the absolute truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy going in places, but still very interesting!, 27 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
On the whole, I preferred "Lord Of The Rings" for bedtime reading, though - in places - this was almost as difficult to put down. In my opinion, the author got a little too bogged down in attempting to interpret ancient Sumerian texts (we always used to know them as "legends"). Fascinating ideas, though, but until "Planet X" does return and either prove or disprove, they will have to remain as someone's ideas. Good for stretching an open mind, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
Well worth reading this book if you enjoy alternative historys or ancient alien theories. Interesting ideas and concepts to ponder on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The start of a legacy...., 4 July 2005
By 
Petros Koutoupis (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first book Alan Alford published and even though his later theories escape the original hypothesis of this book, it is still a good read. Much of the material is based on the works of Zecharia Sitchin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book has chaged my life, 19 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
I truly believe this book has changed my life. It gives a detailed history of man kind and abled me to realise who I am And what is my perpose in life. I think every body should read it. one day it might chaged the way society pertraiyes religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the real bible, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
This book is very interesting and has some shocking theories that may be true as one other reviewer put it-it make more sence than most religons? Never the less it does leve at least some very good points that cant be explained.

Monolith stones-Why would ancient cultures make them so huge and heavey and what was there point as some were built for no reason at all?

I hate when science tries to explain that it was to show what tribe they belonged to or to differentiate themselves from others -Thats total nonsance in my opinion

Some other points -nasca lines -Now septics say they can make these with modern tools -But i ask why did ancient cultures make them ??-not how-but why and why bother to make them so big and so different and so many? And keep in mind that they had no airships to see them from above?

Another point are there ancient stones that are carved so well and needed no cement to put them together and the designs look as if some advanced tools like a drill was used-Now thousands of years -no such thing existed and if it did -it would be the only one know

Another thing is that -Charles darwin himself said before he died that he was wrong about his theory -I read this somewhere online-That alone was probably the most though out idead ever-He was right becasue scientists dissmiss the extra genes or something that we have to an ape -and say its just like that with no real explanation -we clearly came from a space rock at the very least as dna or whatnot

Further i hear reviews that say these aurthors need to come into the reality and that the aurthors are total nuts and so forth-maybe that is becasue they seek the true meaning of life and all the reviewer knows is what he sees everyday and cannot come to terms -as someone said-open eyes closed mind-thus even though most of this may be theories -There are some unexplainable mysteries -that cannot and maybe ever not be explained unless we open are minds and stop and forget about day to day life for once -

The book itself is a fantastic read and in many cases make alot of sence but still leaves so many posibilities and theories. I do beleive that science cannot explain everything as it so likes to .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The wild speculations become tiresome, 8 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Gods of the New Millennium (Paperback)
I generally enjoy the alternative "Indiana Jones" approach to archaeology, even though I don't accept most of it. However, whilst someone like Graham Hancock is more speculative, Alford dives right in and shows that ancient Sumerian and Biblical stories "prove" ancient man had spacecraft and atom-bombs.
I am sure there is far more to ancient societies than meets the eye, but Alford's cut & dried approach is too extreme. although I think traditional archaeology is often too conservative, Alford is throwing out the baby with the bathwater.
It is quite entertaining on a science-fiction level, although his style is quite dry and clumsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gods of the New Millennium
Gods of the New Millennium by Alan F Alford (Paperback - 19 Mar. 1998)
Used & New from: £5.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews