Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A credit to the memory of Dorothy L. Sayers
Jill Paton Walsh is surely a credit to the memory of Dorothy L. Sayers and a true friend to Peter and Harriet Wimsey's fans the world over. Thrones, Dominations is entirely convincing and hugely enjoyable. Perhaps the first chapter does not quite hit the Sayers note but the book then reads in a manner which honours one of Britain's favourite Queens of Crime,...
Published on 27 Mar 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter never shows up.
this book does little to bring Lord Peter Wimsey back.
Introductory quotations do little to enhance a verbose exercise.
.Sorry Dorothys Sayer name is on the cover.
Sorry I bought it.
Published 6 months ago by musik liebhaber von toronto


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A credit to the memory of Dorothy L. Sayers, 27 Mar 1999
By A Customer
Jill Paton Walsh is surely a credit to the memory of Dorothy L. Sayers and a true friend to Peter and Harriet Wimsey's fans the world over. Thrones, Dominations is entirely convincing and hugely enjoyable. Perhaps the first chapter does not quite hit the Sayers note but the book then reads in a manner which honours one of Britain's favourite Queens of Crime, especially after the introduction of the criminal element.
I found Harriet Vane on the whole slightly better drawn than Peter Wimsey. Her growing confidence in her new persona as 'her Ladyship', her ever present sense of fun and essential decency are all very credible. They also represent a convincing progression from the troubled soul of Strong Poison and Have His Carcase and then her more mellow moods in Gaudy Night and Busman's Honeymoon. Peter Wimsey is at once too stuffy (in his reaction at Bunter's momentous decision and his disapproval of the new King for instance) and too socially in advance of his times for plausability. But Wimsey did evolve under Sayer's pen, from a rather superifical dilettante to a more thoughtful and complex character. And who can blame Paton Walsh for having a little fun with one of his ex-mistresses or a less than respectful jobbing actor ? As to the plot, this is worked through most competently and entertainingly, with suitably dramatic and sinister moments which involve exploring a tributary of the Thames and an unfortunate dog.
It is only to be hoped that the little précis of events in the Wimsey households during the war years, at the end of the book, is not an indication that Paton Walsh does not intend to write them up as further novels. The short paragraphs are a tantalising tasters of what could make several novels between The Haunted Policeman and Talboys, where the Wimseys appeared for the last time under Sayers's pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 1 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrones, Dominations (Paperback)
I was very reluctant to read a Peter Wimsey book not written by Sayers herself. However, I wanted some closure on how the Wimseys marriage went on and, comforted by the fact that at least Sayers had planned the book, I decided to order it. I have not regreted it, as it is a very interesting book. It is obvious both that she thought of the plot and that she did not write the actual book, but I don't think she would have been ashamed to have written; in fact, although not as good as her later novels, it is on the same level as her earlier works.

I must say, though, that it has not inspired me to buy the next book, which I understand in written exclusively by Walsh. This novel in my view completes the story of Peter Wimsey and anything more would be too much of a good thing. Also, I am not sure Ms.Walsh could continue writing about these characters without altering them in essentials or making them sound too modern. Besides, Peter Wimsey is a creature of the thirties; I cannot imagine him in wartime ot post-war Britain, or (God forbid!) in the sixties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter Lives!, 14 Mar 2004
This review is from: Thrones, Dominations (Paperback)
Initially I wasn't too sure of this book; I get a slightly queasy feeling at the idea of one author taking over the characters of another but this novel is such a treat!
I'm fairly sure I can spot at least some of the areas where Sayers leaves off and Patton Walsh takes over (DLS didn't have to work so hard to be 'period' for example - she just was!) but it was so delightful to have Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane alive once more.
A word of warning, however... whilst deeply engrossed in this book I've missed my stop on the tube a couple of times and managed to get on completely the wrong train and ended up miles from home (not a common occurance) still, at least I had the book for company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost seamless, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Walsh speaks with an authentic voice which can come only from a proud knowledge of and great liking for the Wimsey novels.. It is very hard indeed to make out where Sayers falters and Walsh begins. She is to be congratulated for this splendid pastiche. Any Sayers fan must enjoy this addition to the canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, and a satisfactory read, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Thrones, Dominations (Paperback)
I was wary of this book, as I was afraid that this late collaboration would not match the original. However I was very pleasantly surprised. There were the occasional touches that felt late, rather than early, twentieth century, and were perhaps a little PC.
It rounded the stories off, as it felt like it gave you the chance to find out what happened after the last page. Overall, it was great fun, and a joy to be reunited with characters who you thought would go no more a roving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - on a level with most of Sayers' own Wimsey books, 28 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Thrones, Dominations (Paperback)
This, the final Peter Wimsey book, began as a few pages and some schematic notes left by Dorothy L Sayers, and was completed by Jill Paton Walsh in the 1990s. Walsh does an excellent job: "Thrones, Dominations", while not quite as good as "Busman's Honeymoon" or "The Nine Tailors", is easily up there with, say, "Have His Carcase". The join between the two authors is almost invisible. The development of the Wimsey/Vane marriage is convincingly described; the characterizations of both major and minor players are excellent; and Jill Paton Walsh comes up with an original and plausible explanation as to why the faithful Bunter was so much less in evidence in the short stories set after the marriage, despite obviously still working for Peter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good read., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's good to be able to continue reading about Lord Peter's adventures into detection. Started by Dorothy L Sayers and finished by Jill Paton Walsh the book lacks a little of the humour and characterisation of the actual novels written by Sayers herself, but Walsh does get some of the 'sound' of Sayers in her writing. The growing relationship between Wimsey and his new wife Harriet is well written and true to Sayers original feeling for them. The story of the murder is good and quite dark in places, and I was kept guessing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrones, Dominations (Paperback)
Like several of the other reviewers I believe I know which parts of this novel are by Sayers and which by Jill Paton Walsh. However, we all seem to be thinking of different bits. In any event, to my mind at least, this novel does not stoop to pastiche and the main clue that a modern sensibility has been involved is the fact the Jewish characters, admittedly peripheral, are treated with dignity rather than the casual anti-semitism that mars many of Sayers books. The book could never actually be mistaken for one completed in 1937 by Sayers unless one credits her with psychic powers regarding the forthcoming war and with a very modern interpretation of Edward VIII.

The plot, presumably essentially original, is closest to Five Red Herrings (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) of the previous Wimsey novels, although thankfully much less complicated. I concur that it's not one of her strongest - it's obvious who dun it and the necessary coincidences are a bit far fetched even for the genre - but it is easily good enough. In Busman's Honeymoon: A Love Story with Detective Interruptions (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) Sayers had developed a rather prurient interest in the Wimseys' marriage bed and that is carried on here. In fact the continuity over the relatively short period covered by Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) and Busman's Honeymoon and the events of this book is strongly maintained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lord Peter never shows up., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thrones, Dominations (Paperback)
this book does little to bring Lord Peter Wimsey back.
Introductory quotations do little to enhance a verbose exercise.
.Sorry Dorothys Sayer name is on the cover.
Sorry I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't read this, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was attracted by the idea of a new book featuring Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane. Abandoned it after a couple of chapters. I may have another try....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thrones, Dominations
Thrones, Dominations by Jill Paton Walsh (Paperback - 17 Sep 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews