Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ripping yarn.
Remarkably entertaining. In cold blood, the plot does not sound anything special. Ex-SAS member gone to seed is called back for one last job against the IRA member who nearly killed him. The joy lies in the likeable heroes (who towards the end perform astoundingly heroic feats), entertaining supporting characters and reprehensible villains. The author Stephen Leather...
Published on 6 Jun. 2000

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fly Goodyear
Goodyear can thank the gods of serendipity that it wasn't involved in this caper in which super terrorist Carlos the Jackal, the IRA, and two renegade ex-SEAL snipers team-up to cause international havoc at a Baltimore Orioles baseball game while being chased by the FBI, Secret Service, MI5, and an out-of-shape, former SAS non-com.
THE LONG SHOT has two main...
Published on 13 Dec. 2005 by Mr. Joe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ripping yarn., 6 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
Remarkably entertaining. In cold blood, the plot does not sound anything special. Ex-SAS member gone to seed is called back for one last job against the IRA member who nearly killed him. The joy lies in the likeable heroes (who towards the end perform astoundingly heroic feats), entertaining supporting characters and reprehensible villains. The author Stephen Leather writes very different books, some in the American style, others very British and it must be confessed that they are of variable quality. For my money this is his best and in absolute terms is an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Stephen leathers writing especially when he has a character that you get to know.
I have read all of his books so far and haven't found one I didn't like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inkypink, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
The books I buy from Amazon are for my niece who is in a care home, she is an avid reader and always comments on how fast they arrive and how inexpensive they are compared to other suppliers. I will continue to buy them from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great read from Stephen Leather, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I liked the Spider Shepherd books the best - but Mike Cramer is a truly flawed great British hero. A real page turner to coin a well used cliche!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S Leather, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
Again another amazing book. Story exciting from the first word to the last. Characters believable and S.Leather never let's you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book read., 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
These books are actually for my husband & this is the easiest & cheapest way to get them.he has always got his head in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long Shot (Mike Cramer), 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, Kindle special, so easy to download and read, there is nothing I can fault in any Stephen Leather novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex plot that is gripping from cover to cover, 30 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
I read this book some years ago on a boring holiday. The only thing to slow down my progress was my husband who had picked it up one day and then wouldn't put it down either. We both fought over it and have since bought every other Stephen Leather book. They are all good but some are fantastic. This is my personal favourite, although The Double Tap and The Chinaman are a close second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
I have enjoyed all of Stephen Leather books and this is no exception. The subject setting is well researched which adds to the very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 Mar. 2013
Leather's on form here - suspect I need to read the rest of the Cramer books now!

Great story, action packed from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers)
The Long Shot (Stephen Leather Thrillers) by Stephen Leather (Paperback - 2 Feb. 1995)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews