Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to add to your set
This book was my first reference to group theory and I can see no fault with it, the book starts from the basics and doesnt give the normal abstract approach from the beginning of the book, an approach which i see in lots of other books. So if you are confused with other books on this and get confused by all the symbols, etc, then buy this book for a different and more...
Published on 20 May 2008 by D. Fretwell

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a very good book - but leave it on the shelf.
A nice easy book to introduce the concept of Groups, and in particular Group Actions. There are several draw backs - the non-standard notation for Dihedral Groups, and multiplication on the left all make this book very complicated to be used in conjunction with a lecture course or another text on group theory. There is too much emphasis placed on early the woolly ideas of...
Published on 9 May 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to add to your set, 20 May 2008
By 
D. Fretwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Groups - Modular Mathematics Series (Paperback)
This book was my first reference to group theory and I can see no fault with it, the book starts from the basics and doesnt give the normal abstract approach from the beginning of the book, an approach which i see in lots of other books. So if you are confused with other books on this and get confused by all the symbols, etc, then buy this book for a different and more flavoured approach. There are plenty of exercises to check your understanding and everything is explained clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 11 Jun 2009
By 
S. Elvidge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Groups - Modular Mathematics Series (Paperback)
This book is a fantastic guide to Groups, it covers everything you need to know for a first or second year University Groups course and probably a lot of what you need for further courses.
The book is well presented with well laid out chapters, each which include a large number of worked examples and questions for the reader to do to help try and get their head around a particular topic.
A must buy for someone studying Groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid buy, 22 Dec 2009
By 
C. Stafford (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Groups - Modular Mathematics Series (Paperback)
Having purchased this as a recommended textbook, it certainly fits in with the course which I am following. The book starts off well by assuming no previous knowledge about groups, and presenting all the material from first principles. From thereon, it is relatively easy to follow. The frequent exercises ensure understanding, and are good practice for working through longer problems. I have not yet studied the whole book, but from what I have covered, the material is useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a very good book - but leave it on the shelf., 9 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Groups - Modular Mathematics Series (Paperback)
A nice easy book to introduce the concept of Groups, and in particular Group Actions. There are several draw backs - the non-standard notation for Dihedral Groups, and multiplication on the left all make this book very complicated to be used in conjunction with a lecture course or another text on group theory. There is too much emphasis placed on early the woolly ideas of a group, and less the more challenging later results are poorly supported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groups - Modular Mathematics Series (Paperback)
This book is perfectly in line with one of my modules last year, which made revising for the exam much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Groups - Modular Mathematics Series (Paperback)
Brand new as stated. Very good service, arrived promply and well within the timescale indicated. Would recommend this supplier to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Groups - Modular Mathematics Series
Groups - Modular Mathematics Series by Camilla Jordan (Paperback - 1 July 1994)
28.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews