Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth & Darcy
I am a sucker for Pride and Prejudice and just love Elizabeth and Darcys story so I wanted to know more about their story. Of course I am a die hard Austen fan and P&P is my fave book and Tennant is no Austen but she comes close. She manages to take Austens beloved charachters and continue their story in such a way that once again we fall under their spell. Again I really...
Published 7 months ago by Babs O'Brien

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pemberley
As a huge fan of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice I have one question for Emma Tennant- WHAT WERE YOU THINKING! You have turned the character of Elizabeth Bennet, who we all love for her confidence and out-spoken manner into someone unrecognisable. She is constantly second guessing herself and has lost the passion of her convictions. Not only that but Georgiana has been...
Published on 20 Dec 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, terrible book, 6 April 2008
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
I have no idea how this book managed to get published as it is absolutely awful. For starters the timeline is so wrong that it makes you wonder if Emma Tennant ever read Pride and Prejudice. There are so many errors (too many to mention), but the one that really stuck out to me was that in P&P Lizzie and Jane appear to have been married around the same time, with Lydia married some months earlier. ET states that Lizzie has been married for just less than a year, so how then can Jane already have a one year old child with another on the way and Lydia, who can be no older than 17, have 4 children.

To make matter worse ET does no justice to the characters and they are not at all true to P&P - Lizzie comes across as whiny and unsure of herself, Georgiana is a brat and Darcy is unlikable and even more arrogant than he was at the start of P&P.

This is a really bad book and a complete waste of time and money. AVOID AT ALL COST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sequel, 8 May 2014
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
Supposedly a sequel to ‘Pride and Prejudice’.

Good points: the characters are mostly accurate, the plot – such as it is – is feasible. Theme: all married men want sons, and Darcy is no exception.

Bad points: the timeline is totally inconsistent, with Elizabeth worried about infertility after only a year of marriage, yet Jane – who was married at the same time – already the mother of a daughter who is at least two or three, and Lydia – married a few months earlier – has managed to acquire FOUR children!

Moreover the plot rambles, mostly relying on Elizabeth’s private thoughts and feelings, which jump to unlikely conclusions more than ever, and Darcy’s reluctance to tell his wife anything, while happily sharing confidences with his housekeeper, steward’s son, and sister. It also has vulgarities which would never have been written by Austen, and two unpleasant new characters who are so dreadful they are not even amusing.

Interesting as one person’s idea of what might have happened, but not really worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth & Darcy, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
I am a sucker for Pride and Prejudice and just love Elizabeth and Darcys story so I wanted to know more about their story. Of course I am a die hard Austen fan and P&P is my fave book and Tennant is no Austen but she comes close. She manages to take Austens beloved charachters and continue their story in such a way that once again we fall under their spell. Again I really felt Elizabeths struggles and enjoyed turning every page. worth buying and one of the best Austen style writers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!!, 7 Feb 2008
By 
A. Harrison-bryant (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
This author does not understand the characters or the story of Pride and Prejudice. Save your money and don't buy it, there are far better books out there. Rating this as one star is too good for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 17 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
You have to wonder whether Emma Tennant had ever read Pride & Prejudice as only the names remain the same! Characters have changed beyond all recognition, particularly Elizabeth Bennett, Charlotte Lewis appears to have lost a child and the time sequences are completely out - Georgina has only aged two years yet Lydia has managed to have 4 children! Very very very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for Austen fans, 28 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Pemberley (Hardcover)
No, you won't get more real or imitation Jane Austen, but you will get a thoroughly pleasurable read in a book that carries on the Pride and Prejudice story in a perfectly possible way. Central to the book is Elizabeth's dismay at not producing an heir to the vast wealth of Pemberley, and a number of characters from P&P are seen in further action. There is no literary pretension in this novel, no challenges for the reader, just a relaxing tale that you can enjoy in a deckchair or propped up in bed -- not in your study!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised, 7 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
Pemberley is a sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. The story is based at Darcy's Derbyshire mansion, where Elizabeth is now residing as his wife. Everything seems blissful - Darcy has been softened and loves doting on Elizabeth, but all is about to return to how things were before the wedding as it is Christmas, and everyone in the family are embarking on a trip to Pemberley. Elizabeth is very concerned: Jane is about to give birth, Wickham will be present, and what about her mother? Will she keep her cool? Will Darcy revert to his prideful, sullen self? Is Christmas going to be a disaster?

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I was concerned that it would just be a copy of Pride and Prejudice, but it isn't. It holds it own, and although the characters are the same, as are the location, it is not the same as Pride and Prejudice.

I liked that Tennant was consistant with the characters - so Mr. Collins was as ridiculous as ever, and Mrs. Bennett as flamboyant as Austen wrote her. Tennant added new characters too, which I think helped her move away from Austen's work and helped her novel to develop on its own accord.

This is not a long book - it is under 200 pages. It was an easy and enjoyable read. I was drawn in and connected with the wonderful characters again. I was eager to find out what would happen in the end. The story was a fun read but I did think the ending was a bit rushed. However, I will be looking to read Tennant's new installment: Pemberley Revisited.

If you like Pride and Prejudice I don't think you will be disappointed by this novel. Obviously not as good as the original it is a great follow up book.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Pemberley (Paperback)
unexpactedly, i absolutly loved this book. it is a great story and is a must for any elizabeth and mr dacey fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pemberley
Pemberley by Emma Tennant (Hardcover - 4 Nov 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews