Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's wrong with me?
By rights, THE VETS should be a 5-star read. I'm taking this opportunity for self-appraisal to try and understand why, for me, it's not.
It's a couple of years before Hong Kong is to revert to Red China. Chinese expatriate Anthony Chung meets in Paris with ex-U.S. Army Special Forces Colonel Joel Tyler to set in motion plans for the Heist of the Century in Britain's...
Published on 13 Feb 2005 by Joseph Haschka

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long pre-97 Hong Kong adventure
An early 1993 novel from Leather evidently based on his stint in HK with SCMP. The novel does pick up well on the pre-handover anxiety that happened where the locals sought to get other citizenship, expats relocated, and the British/ Chinese politics hit fever point. The adventure plot itself is good, with a serious heist in HK, a large British bank with sterotyped...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's wrong with me?, 13 Feb 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
By rights, THE VETS should be a 5-star read. I'm taking this opportunity for self-appraisal to try and understand why, for me, it's not.
It's a couple of years before Hong Kong is to revert to Red China. Chinese expatriate Anthony Chung meets in Paris with ex-U.S. Army Special Forces Colonel Joel Tyler to set in motion plans for the Heist of the Century in Britain's last jewel in the crown. To that end, Tyler implements an elaborate scheme to recruit other U.S. Army vets of the Vietnam war for the venture. He ultimately attracts ex-Huey pilot Dan Lehmen, a phony investments scammer on the run from the Mob, ex-Tunnel Rat Eric Horvitz, a border-line sociopath living alone in the Canadian woods, ex-Huey door gunner Larry Carmody, who left Nam with a chip on his shoulder and minus one forearm, and ex-Huey crew chief Barton Lewis, a lonely divorcé recently diagnosed with terminal stomach cancer. Then there's ex-Air America, i.e. CIA, chopper pilot Chuck Doherty, who fled a murderous Special Forces operation in Laos, only to stash his Huey in the Thai jungle and live as a Buddhist monk these last twenty-two years.
This thriller is intricately constructed with more than the usual amount of character development. There's even a plot twist, although the reader is let into the secret 120 pages before the book's conclusion and it's left only to see how Dan, Eric, Larry, Bart, and Chuck fare before the dust settles.
THE VETS is actually a hard book to put down, but I was left with a niggling dissatisfaction. I think it's because there wasn't anybody serving as a protagonist whom I could cheer on from the sidelines, though Lewis perhaps comes the closest. The ultimate beneficiary of the plot is only introduced seven pages before the last, and my reaction was "Why should I care?" In the meantime during the previous 557 pages, our "heroes" have shown a willingness to break the law and/or have been instrumental in ruining the lives of people who, if not always likable, are at least innocent bystanders in the conventional sense. Now, mind you, I'm no goody two shoes. If I was starving, I'd forcefully shove into the gutter an 80-year old granny reaching for the world's last slice of pizza. But, that wasn't the case here, and I'm knocking one star off THE VETS for it's lack of a moral lynch pin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long pre-97 Hong Kong adventure, 10 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
An early 1993 novel from Leather evidently based on his stint in HK with SCMP. The novel does pick up well on the pre-handover anxiety that happened where the locals sought to get other citizenship, expats relocated, and the British/ Chinese politics hit fever point. The adventure plot itself is good, with a serious heist in HK, a large British bank with sterotyped British Chief Exec on the Peak, flambouyant gweilo wife and socialite daughter. Leather adds a dirty dozen/ magnificent seven recruitment plot where Col. Tyler enlists and forms a team of Viet war veterans. This is all good fodder, though the whole novel at 560 pages was far too long to hold the story as tight as it could be, a point in fact is that the team don't even get to Hong Kong till page 240. I'm glad Leather did improve and I certainly enjoyed the Bombmaker and Spider stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pator, 21 July 2011
I have read just about all of Stephen Leather's books over the last few years and although I liked every one of them THE VETS is by far my favourite. I loved the characters and the action and found it compelling reading.The story line is very good and finds 5 ex-military men brought together for one last mission. They are all different in character and temperament and all have their own reasons for wanting to take part.This book should be a must read for everyone.
Two other of his books I found very good are THE CHINAMAN and THE BOMBMAKER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very different book, well researched. Good for any one who likes thrillers. Made me want to try other Stephen leather books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have now read nearly all of his novels, and always a good read !!!!!!!I've Never been dissapointed with his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
These books are bought for my husband who is an avid reader of Stephen Leathers books.he always enjoys them and never complains,so the condition of the books is always good & the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An early Steven leather novel but certainly one of the ones you want to retread once again great storey line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another blinder, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the vets started off slow very unlike stepher leather but ended up another classic with a great twist in the tail , brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Leather = Legend, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
I have bought every book Leather has written as they are so good, try one you wont be disappointed. RM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S Leather, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Paperback)
I really loved this book. It was moving and the story was amazing. As always you will never be let down with a S. Leather book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers)
The Vets (Stephen Leather Thrillers) by Stephen Leather (Paperback - 3 Feb 1994)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews