Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my all time top 5
If you've read David Pawson you will expect a tightly argued, clearly and lucidly structured and presented approach from arguably the best Bible teacher of this generation. This book is no exception. Clarity of insight and non technical wording come as standard with Pawson.
The key framework is understanding repentance, faith, baptism in water, and baptism in the...
Published on 25 Oct 2002 by huskies

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To Be Avoided
I had quite a good opinion of Pawson before i had to read this book for a course on evangelism. This book is truly awful and i don't say that to shame Pawson but it just really is that. The truth is that "the normal Christian Birth" makes the christian birth so complicated and convoluted that becoming born again seems like a human feat that takes forever. I'm writing this...
Published on 8 April 2012 by M 1985


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my all time top 5, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
If you've read David Pawson you will expect a tightly argued, clearly and lucidly structured and presented approach from arguably the best Bible teacher of this generation. This book is no exception. Clarity of insight and non technical wording come as standard with Pawson.
The key framework is understanding repentance, faith, baptism in water, and baptism in the Holy Spirit as elements of Christian birth. He cuts through non Biblical contemporary evangelical terminology that often muddies the waters, and also provides an exegetical approach to a whole host of new testament passages in light of the theology presented. Each of the four elements is taught with clarity and insight, so I go back to them time and again e.g. if speaking at a baptism.
Most books on the subject are not without controversy. The practical implications of Pawsons conclusions are quite profound and far reaching. However I havent read better. Prepare to be challenged!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Future Christian Classic For Effective Christian Living, 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
This book is destined to become a Christian classic! If you are a Christian and haven't yet read it do so immediately! It covers the basics of full 'Christian Birth'. A hasty 'decision for Jesus' at a Billy Graham Crusade can be a poor foundation for living, instead a Christian needs to be certain about Repentance, Believing in Jesus, Water Baptism, and Receiving the Holy Spirit - this book will help. It also looks carefully at the so-called 'problem passages' that many Christians struggle with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading and still ground breaking, 27 Oct 2012
By 
J McMurdo (Northern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
I bought this book over 20 years ago. It is one of the most well thumbed volumes in my library.

I have just read it again. it is still as radical and ground breaking as it seemed then. This is sad in a way. There are still too many shallow conversions, for example lacking repentance or the power of the Spirit - or both. Until these things change, this remains one of the most important books of the last 50 years.

Although the book is rich in scriptural exegesis, it is not just a theory book. As the author says, it has been "...hammered on the twin anvils of biblical study and pastoral care".

David Pawson has a high view of scripture. Free from the shackles of evangelical cliche, calvinistic dogma and sacramental tradition, he produces a rich resource for anyone interested in giving new converts a proper start in the Christian walk. No room here for shallow converts. There are a few controversial or unusual, yet well argued assertions running through the pages of the book. A few examples:
* The book stops short of teaching baptismal regeneration, yet it does argue that in scripture baptism is almost synonymous with salvation
* Salvation is frequently a process lasting days months or even years rather than an instantaneous once and for all act
* Holy Spirit baptism/ filling is not 'automatic', but is to be sought and continuously experienced
* He insists on using the phrase 'Baptism in Holy Spirit' without the definite article.

There is even an interesting - and surprising - historical piece on the Reformers view on believers baptism.

Still essential reading for all Christian leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent teaching what it means to be born again, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who is confused and unsure of what it means to be born again. Lots of scripture examples and deep teaching as you might expect from David Pawson. Valuable if you want to help others too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
An interesting book which covers a wide range of issues. The writer explores complex issues in an accessible and engaging way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
I found the item very useful and I had no problem with it and I did not wait for it too much but exactly the time suggest at the time of the purchasing. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars normal christian birth, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
Excellent book and i'm very pleased with my product so far and would recommend it to others. it makes reading an enjoyable experience because you can have access to your product at anytime and it's regularly updated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
I bought this book before I received the DVD's with the same title and initially the book was too much of a heavy read for me. After I watched the DVDs though it was much easier to dip into and out of the book for references and to read it by topic (in all fairness to David Pawson he does suggest that one can read the book sequentially or by topic). The subject matter though was an eye-opener for me and my wife and we felt it appropriate to be baptised as believing adults on the strength of the Biblical evidence. I have also come to realise that I lacked greatly in my understanding of the Christian birth process and what it means. Be prepared to have your long held views challenged.

This book is now a valued resource in my small library. I can highly recommend the DVDs as an additional resource, especially if you want to explain the various points in the book to anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and Rewarding. A Must Read for those seeking and reviewing thier faith., 2 Nov 2014
By 
K. W. E. Page (Leigh on Sea England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
Excellent book.Goes back to basics on what becoming a Christian disciple entails set out in Biblical principles (especially Acts). One must be prepared to have one's own beliefs and practices challenged. Set out in a straightforward manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To Be Avoided, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life (Paperback)
I had quite a good opinion of Pawson before i had to read this book for a course on evangelism. This book is truly awful and i don't say that to shame Pawson but it just really is that. The truth is that "the normal Christian Birth" makes the christian birth so complicated and convoluted that becoming born again seems like a human feat that takes forever. I'm writing this because i think young inexperienced christians could be quite damaged by a book like this. Pawson believes in a form of baptismal regeneration, or at least believes that baptism is necessary for salvation, confuses the baptism in the Holy Spirit with the New Birth, thinks that a general confession of sins/sinfulness at conversion is not sufficient (we have to confess all our sins publicly and individually at conversion: he cites John the Baptist's baptism of repentance not understanding that John's Baptism wanted to make people realize they were sinners and prepare them to receive God's grace in Christ). I think that if you want to have zero assurance of salvation this book is perfect: Pawson also believes in conditional security just to make matters worse. The terms and conditions for salvation seem never ending, one wonders how the thief on the cross was saved so simply by God's grace through faith. A doctrinal and theological nightmare. For those who seek God's simple salvation the words of Christ remain: "I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it" Mark 10:15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Normal Christian Birth: How to Give New Believers a Proper Start in Life
£7.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews