Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!
Hmmm I thought not another counting book..BUT..this book is absolutely brilliant! Just the right length for a bedtime read it tells of a little boy who takes one bear at bedtime to bed and.....kangaroos and lions! -Watch out for the caterpillars, my daughters favourite -guaranteed to make everyone giggle.
Published on 24 Sep 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice illustrations but...
The book has nice illustrations but somehow failed to manage my 22 month old's attention for more than 2 days. He is a great fan of books but this didn't appeal to him much
Published 12 months ago by tanu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
Hmmm I thought not another counting book..BUT..this book is absolutely brilliant! Just the right length for a bedtime read it tells of a little boy who takes one bear at bedtime to bed and.....kangaroos and lions! -Watch out for the caterpillars, my daughters favourite -guaranteed to make everyone giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely read., 12 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
This book is charming. It is a beautifully illustrated story, which teaches counting in the most subtle and gentle of manners.
The illustrations are typical of Inkpen, with each page colourfully and carefully presented to appeal to both the younger and older eye.
The story is pleasant, simple and offers a useful presentation of counting principles. I love to use this with my Nursery class. It facilitates the teaching of numeracy, but also maintains the children's interest.
This book is a very valuable purchase for either the primary teacher of the parent. Your child is almost certain to enjoy the warmth of the story as a bedtime read, but will also find ease in the introduction of counting.
A useful classroom resource and a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of my favourite books!, 23 Nov 2010
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Hardcover)
This was one of my favourite bedtime stories when I was little, I have this version tucked away with this book cover. I loved counting all the caterpillars and the monster with 10 heads who takes forever to say goodnight, I still know all the words! It's brilliant fun to read to kids, I highly recommend it. And it's a good, sleepy tone for the last bedtime story if you're convinced to read them loooads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A counting story with more than meets the eye, initially!, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Hardcover)
Endearing cover, featuring that all-important single loyal friend, opens to 24 quality pages, in double-page spread format.

With a different coloured number at the top of the page, the count starts with the little boy and his only requirement for bedtime - 1 bear.
But, on the second page we find 2 pigs who like to dress up, on the next - 3 kangaroos who like to bounce on the bed.......

As the pages turn, the little boy and the bear encounter a mischievous menagerie including some giraffes, lions, snakes, ostriches, crocodiles..... and the 'extras'........those 9 cunning little caterpillars which caught the eye, or did they? Maybe go back and have another look?
Finally, we get to No. 10 - a multi-headed monster which takes forever to say goodnight and a fitting end to this suitably sized story AND a massive but still cosy tuck up for the night, with that initial requirement!

Beautifully illustrated throughout making this far more than just another learn-to-count book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A counting story with more than meets the eye, initially!, 16 Sep 2011
Endearing and durable hardboard cover, featuring that all-important loyal friend, opens to 24 quality pages, in double-page spread format.

With a different coloured number at the top of the page, the count starts with the little boy and his only requirement for bedtime - 1 bear.
But, on the second page we find 2 pigs who like to dress up, on the next - 3 kangaroos who like to bounce on the bed.......

As the pages turn, the little boy and the bear encounter a mischievous menagerie including some giraffes, lions, snakes, ostriches, crocodiles..... and the 'extras'........those 9 cunning little caterpillars which caught the eye, or did they? Maybe go back and have another look?
Finally, we get to No. 10 - a multi-headed monster which takes forever to say goodnight and a fitting end to this suitably sized story AND a massive but still cosy tuck up for the night, with that initial requirement!

Beautifully illustrated throughout, making this far more than just another learn-to-count book!
[..]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars preschoolers will love, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
I originally bought this book for my son who loved it when he was two,he is now fourteen. I have now bought it for my nephew who is now two and he loves it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was so good I bought it twice!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
Excellent book, bought this for my own son and he loved it,:) therefore I ordered a copy for my nephew's Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice illustrations but..., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
The book has nice illustrations but somehow failed to manage my 22 month old's attention for more than 2 days. He is a great fan of books but this didn't appeal to him much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strange book, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
I don't get this,it doesn't scan. Illustrations are nice though. Maybe it will work better for an older child, than my one year old, so you can talk about the sleep delaying tactics and the do the counting together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book., 11 Feb 2012
This review is from: One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) (Paperback)
As a family, we have always loved Mick Inkpen's books. The illustrations are just delightful and both my children have spent hours pouring over their details. While browsing the children's books section I was reacquainted with this book and bought it for my nephew's daughter.
The effect has been the same, a delighted child.
It is a book which helps young children learn to count, by challenging then to find creatures one to ten on separate pages, as each group says "Good night". I would wholeheartedly recommend this book as an absolute treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight)
One Bear At Bedtime (Picture Knight) by Mick Inkpen (Paperback - 1 Jan 1989)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews