Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unmissable, unputdownable read!, 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Other Side of Paradise (Paperback)
I have read this book twice now and on both occasions it had me gripped until the end. The book tells the story of Dr Kit Masters, a young doctor with a desire to cure polio, who gets the opportunity to practice in paradise; a beautiful South Seas island. The book is set during the First World War and the atomic bomb testing in Bikini island and tells the tale of the doctor's integration into the island community and his attempts to protect the island from disease and the effects of the war. It also tells the story of his love affair with the island's princess. The best thing about this book is that it is one of the few novels that makes you feel you are really there. The descriptions are vivid and exciting without being overly detailed and the plot is fast moving. This is the perfect 'holiday book' - make sure you have lots of free time on your hands before picking it up as you're going to be very unsociable until you've finished it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The other side of paradise, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Kit Masters is a young doctor in 1937. He has a fight with a fascist black shirt, and is forced to flee for the world he knew.

When Kit arrives on the south seas island of Koraloona he becomes enchanted with the place, and dreams of spending his life there, raising a family with the beautiful Aleena, and building a hospital with the colourful character of Doctor Reid.

Kit's plans all start to fall apart as war threatens to engulf not just his new home, but the whole world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 18 Nov 2008
When pioneering doctor Kit Masters is forced to flee England, he makes a new start on the South Sea island of Koraloona. Enchanted by the island and its people, Kit falls in love with the daughter of the island princess, and dreams of building a hospital. But all is under threat as war approaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Side of Paradise (Paperback)
A brilliant storyteller. As are the rest of the books written by Noel Barber.
A book that you cannot put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, buy it now!, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this as a first edition, on a summer holiday in Greece and I couldn't put it down. 30yrs later I find it just as compelling reading and again couldn't wait to read the next chapter. Simply a great adventure well told, with a fabulously rapid pace, I look forward to 're-reading more of Mr barber's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 25 Sep 2013
By 
A Johnson (Latmer, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Side of Paradise (Paperback)
Noel Barber is an ace adventure writer and has lived in Asia so his books are full of good advice and information. This story of a young Doctor on his first posting is full of good island stuff and I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book when it was first publshed and I really enjoyed it, However this book was to give as a present. for someone who had lost their copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not read this book for a long time but only remember it to be a cracking good story. It tells the tale of a doctor disgraced in London and is advised to travel to a faraway island that has polio as a regular illness to children and he has the cure.Of course he falls in love with the island princess....what next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Adele204 (lancashire, uk) - See all my reviews
The other reviews reminded me of what a wonderful book The other Side of Paradise is. Having read it over 20years ago I can still remember the south sea island and Barbers wonderful descriptions of it, Kits first impressions on arrival and his developing love affair with it and its people. Surely a sign of a good book when you can still recall it many years later. As with Barbers other novels his journalistic background adds such depth and knowledge to his writing and makes the characters so real. Despite being written in the 1980's it is still as fresh today and I must re read it again as soon as I have finished re reading one of his other novels 'Tanamara'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noel Barber, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other Side of Paradise (Paperback)
Wonderful Book, cant go wrong with this author absorbing story, cant put it down looking forward to starting another book of his
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other Side of Paradise
The Other Side of Paradise by Noel Barber (Paperback - 3 Aug 1995)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews