Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as much fun......
...cooking for one!

'In Delia's One is Fun, Delia has brought her thorough, detailed and commonsense approach to the problems of shopping for, storing and preparing food for one. No longer will single cooks have to wrestle with dividing ordinary recipes for four (how do you cope with a quarter of an egg anyway?).
Here is a treasury of specially devised,...
Published on 16 Aug 2004 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One is Fun
I was disappointed with this book - when I cooked for a family, I had many ingredients in the store cupboard. Now I can't afford to buy lots of spices, herbs, purees etc as they go out of date long before they are finished/used. Since this is a book for one person I expected that not so many 'special' ingredients would be used. I have tried two recipes and have been...
Published 24 months ago by Mrs. Esther Ann Hitchcock


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lone cooking, 14 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I bought this book when my husband went into hospital, it was to make me eat sensibly on my own. it certainly did that, but beware, the portion are generous. A worthwhile buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I bought this for my Mum as she had lost her old copy. It was as described and is a pretty good, if slightly old-fashioned, cookbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Condition "Good"?, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
Condition fair would have been a better description, some pages are food stained and others written on..

Given the price I have rated it fair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I bought. this book back in the early. 90s for my son to take to university it was well used and is still being used today by his family they just. increase the quantities,I bought this copy on their recommendations it's a great little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book review., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
Not very keen on it. Full of foreign ingredients one may only use once. Would not recommend it for the average cook. Bookworm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Delia, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
Ticks all the boxes as a classic Delia book - and as ever, the recipes still work without fail! Worth the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this years ago and now bought it again!!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I bought this when it first came out, used it a lot, but then moved abroad and needed to downsize with books, to many, so this went to the charity shop.
But 20 years on, saw Delia on food channel doing some of the recipes and thought, Must get that book again, Only two of us now family grown up and moved on and this is easy just to double up the recipes.
Made lots of my old favourites, Delia's French onion soup has always been a family favourite, this is in the book, Goujons of Lemon sole with herbs another.
Bought it second hand, excellent condition, quick delivery, well wrapped. will def use this seller again.
And now back on the worktop for everyday cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 20 Jan 2014
By 
I. Bates "Ian B" (York England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I've had to buy several copies of this book, my friends keep pinching them. (I'll let you have it back !!!!. never happens). Wide range of recipes, all fairly easy to follow. Get a copy, you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'I love Delia' club, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I do like Delia Smith's approach and agree with an idea this book is one of that 'you must have it', when you are a single /or not/.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cooking for one, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. D. Rydings (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One is Fun (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
Some of the recipes are specialised and time consuming to make but a lot are a useful change to the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

One is Fun (Coronet Books)
One is Fun (Coronet Books) by Delia Smith (Paperback - 1 April 1987)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews