Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LORD OF THE ISLES As good as the genre gets!, 15 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Lord of the Isles (Hardcover)
The late and greatly missed Nigel Tranter (b.1909-d.2000) was not only one of Scotland's leading
historians, but was also the premier writer of Scottish historical biographical fiction. If you were to organise his books chronologically they would form an almost complete biographic history of Scotland from the earliest times to the Highland Clearances. I started to collect his books as they were published in early 1970s and acquired each new title until the last in 2007.

Lord of the Isles has always been one of my favourite books by this author, and I was fortunate to have my volume signed by the author when I purchased it in 1983. It is a fictionalised biography of Somerled, King of Man and Lord of the Isles, who drove the Viking overlords from Man and the Hebrides and unified the Norse and Celtic peoples under a single ruler in the mid 12th century. This is a much neglected period of Scottish history in fiction but one which contains wealth of stirring and passionate tales which only Nigel Tranter has brought to the printed page.

Tranter's vivid prose as always flows seamlessly through the story and brings to life the characters and historical settings. As a celebrated historian, Tranter's books were always meticulously researched, accurate and full of historical detail and minutiae giving his stories a feeling of truth and reality that very few authors of fiction ever achieve.

Thank you Mr.Tranter for your contribution to literature, your prolific output which would keep any reader content for years, and your determination to bring readable Scottish history to the people.

You are sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Somerled the Norse Slayer, 28 Feb. 2004
By 
Carson C. Smith "Carson C. Smith" (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Isles (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
Nigel Tranter is, without a doubt, the most gifted writer of historical fiction available to the modern reader. Lord of the Isles tells the story of Somerled, the Norse Slayer, the Ruler of the Hebrides, the Lord of the Isles and the father of Clan Donald. There are rare books, whose imagery is so vivid, that it would be virtually impossible to bring them to cinema. This is one such book. Tranter's description of Somerled's dragon fleet taking to sea fills the reader's face with the mist created by oars beating upon the waves and makes the heart race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A privilege to read, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Isles (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
I am indebted to Nigel Tranter for his stirring tale of a very important historical personage, Somerled was the ancestor of the Mcdougalls and Mcdonalds - all 5000000 of them, if the DNA tests are accurate. He was a great admiral and general and got rid of the Vikings from much of the Scottish isles.
The writing is good and authenticity is Tranter's watchword.A real privilege to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had never read this book before and what a great read. I sail on he west coast of Scotland so to read Tranter's descriptive prose of that part of the world was a huge joy and brought history to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story, beautifully written., 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First book i've read by Nigel Tranter, half way through just now and i'm blown away how good it is written. Action, plots, drama romance all cleverly pieced together with charm and wit..
i've already ordered up my next books from Nigel Tranter. If ye like to read adventure and Scottish history, this is it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. I read it over and over again. Really connect with the characters and inspired me to visit the sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of |Isles - Nigel Tranter., 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had heard of The Great Somerled, but knew absolutely knew nothing about him so again Mr.Tranter showed me the way through his life and very mysterious death. I loved the description of the land and how Somerled freed his land from the Norse. After he died, unfortunately, everything he had joined together fell apart and was cut up between his three sons. It is interesting to find out where some of the Clans were first began. I loved this book. A great favourite and I am sure I will read it time without number. A good book to start anybody on the history of Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Macdonald should read it, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Isles (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
Anyone who is a Macdonald, or related Clan, and interested in the origin of the Clan its a must read for all those that have come later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nigel Tranter - Lord of the Isles, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a great fan of the late Nigel Tranter. I have read many of his books and I have learnt more Scottish history through his works than when I was in school and college. I am glad they are being released on Kindle as I will be collecting the electronic versions. I hope that the back catalogue is being released, it has taken a few years but worth the wait.
If you like history and novels based on historical events Nigel Tranter weaves in the blank areas between the facts and legends Nigel Tranter's books are for you....enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Nigel Tranter, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book many years ago and enjoyed it then - unfortunately lost my hard copy so kindle was good way to repeat the experience without paying so much. Brilliant as all NT books are. The main character is typical of his time and the writing is ,as ever, flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Isles (Coronet Books)
Lord of the Isles (Coronet Books) by Nigel Tranter (Paperback - 20 Oct. 1994)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews