Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first SF
I read this book over 30 years ago and fell in love with SF and the poetry of James Elroy Flecker through it.

The story is a little dated now, deals with a 20th century man being 'defrosted' into the Rupublic of London, post-nuclear war, being run by androids on behalf of the remaining human race. The story follows him adapting into his new life and getting...
Published on 11 Jan 2008 by Paul Chipperfield

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book but don't buy it for your Kindle
Edmund Cooper is one of my favourite SF authors but don't buy this book for your Kindle

The publishers have not proof read the conversion into electronic form and it is littered with typos for instance android is often spelt "an droid" really ruined it for me
Published 18 months ago by Paul Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first SF, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Paul Chipperfield (Frimley Green, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The uncertain midnight
I read this book over 30 years ago and fell in love with SF and the poetry of James Elroy Flecker through it.

The story is a little dated now, deals with a 20th century man being 'defrosted' into the Rupublic of London, post-nuclear war, being run by androids on behalf of the remaining human race. The story follows him adapting into his new life and getting caught up in the struggle between those humans who don't accept the status quo and the androids. I believe that it was made into a TV series by French TV, but can't swear to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic sci-fi, 26 Nov 2005
By 
Peter Ball "ballfamily4" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The uncertain midnight
Edmund Cooper's books are easy to read and understand, but still provide thought provoking ideas. This book deals with a future where we create emotions in our robots, and what happens when they fall in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying early Cooper novel, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Uncertain Midnight (Coronet Books) (Paperback)
This 1958 novel was the first Edmund Cooper published under his own name, though he had previously written three published under pseudonyms. The Uncertain Midnight was also published under the title Deadly Image and neither title seems to bear much obvious link to the story. He had clearly found his writing voice by the Uncertain Midnight as it seems a work of some maturity and quite closely resembles his style in later novels. Not exactly though - this book is slightly longer (a good thing) and has longer chapters than subsequent novels.

The story is about coexistence of humans and androids and dips into philosophical questions such as can artificial intelligence be said to be alive? What was their function: to serve humans or dominate them? This is literate science fiction and probably a bit ahead of its time. The slight disappointment for me was the ending which felt rushed and too short. Maybe it's not the best Edmund Cooper book to recommend to those new to his stories, but overall a satisfying and worthwhile read from an author with a very fertile imagination and the simple lyrical prose in which to express it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking read, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic to re-read coopers books again, just a shame about the odd typo error but most enjoyable non the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book but don't buy it for your Kindle, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Edmund Cooper is one of my favourite SF authors but don't buy this book for your Kindle

The publishers have not proof read the conversion into electronic form and it is littered with typos for instance android is often spelt "an droid" really ruined it for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncertain Midnight (Coronet Books)
Uncertain Midnight (Coronet Books) by Edmund Cooper (Paperback - 1974)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews