Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2013
I am the mother of two children 12 and 14 years old. I found this book by chance while doing research on wellbeing. In this book I found many interesting things about the psychology of children. The authors show us several examples of exercises and methods to educate children and show them how to learn certain behaviors. I don't totally agree with other comments, I think this book doesn't apply only to teachers, I believe that every mother can find a lot of things extremely important for the education of their children. I am pleased that these methods are already being used in many English schools, now we should wait when these courses will be also taught in our schools! In the meantime this book provides us many good topics to discuss with our children.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Boniwell and Ryan's text is a significant contribution to the growing area of Wellbeing and Positive Education literature. The authors have captured the science and practice of positive psychology and have brought together an array of evidence-based practices and exercises that will allow teachers to explicitly incorporate well-being into their classes. Friendly format and engaging exercises will stimulate many classroom discussions.The comprehensive list of classroom activities will positively impact upon the well-being of secondary students. This book is an asset to any teacher who believes in `whole-student' learning.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
This book is a marvelous compendium on the subject of Positive Psychology. The organization - with lesson plans, "how to" instructions, handouts, PowerPoint slides and references - is clear, comprehensive and very well presented, and it will certainly have a highly positive impact for both teachers and pupils. Despite the fact that I am only working with adults, I will no doubt use the authors' engaging and inspiring ideas and resources in my seminars and coaching sessions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I believe the book is a great job as a whole piece, and exquisite in each topic it reveals. Teachers will find many exercises and examples of activities to facilitate courses on the subject. In this book you will also find how to develop certain skills of children and how to make them happy. I loved this book and other books written by Ilona Boniwell and Lucy Ryan. I think the approach is fun and easy to understand.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
The book which will change your view on the motivation of young people, giving you some different insights on how teenagers think and act. This book is both entertaining and informative! If you are teacher, it will modify your perspective on your students, colleagues and yourself. If you are interested in learning how the motivation and well-being of your students can be increased, you must buy this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
This book is just fantastic, I can't sing its praises enough. One of the most useful resources I have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
Ilona Boniwell and Lucy Ryan's book is exactly what teachers of positive psychology need. This book offers practitioners working with 11 to 14 year olds a highly practical education resource for running personal well-being lessons, backed up by scientific research from the field of positive psychology.

The book is divided into six subject headings, with six lessons offered per subject area. This will allow you to run a programme of 6 to 36 lessons. The six core concepts within positive psychology for young people are: Positive Self, Positive Body, Positive Emotions, Positive Mindsets, Positive Direction and Positive Relationships. The authors ensure that the lessons are easy to understand, to lead and to manage by ensuring each lesson contains:
* A suggested 60 minute outline lesson plan
* The main body or the `how-to' of running the lesson
* Suggested homework where appropriate
* Academic references and resources

This book would be valuable for every secondary school teacher responsible for SEAL education.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
Forget about this just being for school children. This is a wonderful resource for anybody wishing to teach / apply positive psychology to improve wellbeing. Stressed execs would benefit from some of these exercises too.
It's dynamic, exciting , well researched and uber accessible.
Highly recommended.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse