Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for my Non Medical Prescribers exam
I've been a nurse over 20 years and decided to proceed with non-medical prescribing. Unfortunately the lecturer at university is not very good at getting her points across which is why I bought this book. The way it is written is clear and concise without being condescending. I have certainly found it very useful to refer to during the course and a must for exam...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. J. Armer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A very basic introduction
Inside this book, it says it meant for student nurses and perhaps the book title should reflect that. If you are new to pharmacology, it is a helpful intro, but doesn't really give any meat to the subject ( to be fair, the authors do say this and encourage the reader to research more). There is also (I think) a mistake where it talks about gram positive and gram negative...
Published 5 months ago by Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for my Non Medical Prescribers exam, 26 April 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Armer (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
I've been a nurse over 20 years and decided to proceed with non-medical prescribing. Unfortunately the lecturer at university is not very good at getting her points across which is why I bought this book. The way it is written is clear and concise without being condescending. I have certainly found it very useful to refer to during the course and a must for exam preparation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for pre & post registration nurses, 17 Jun 2012
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
This book provides the essentials of pharmacology in a jargon free and easy to read format. It contains beautifully clear figures and diagrams to support the text; ideal for pre registration student nurses and post registration nurses alike. The 'clinical tips' are especially useful in placing the information provided into the practice setting and the drug calculations and multiple choice questions are an excellent way to check knowledge and understanding. As a senior nurse and Practice Education Facilitator I would recommend this book as an ideal introduction to pharmacology for student nurses and an excellent resource for post registration nurses. I look forward with interest to further publications from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses 2/e, 29 Sep 2012
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
This is a 'must-have' addition for all student nurses as they progress in their nurse training. It takes you through the basics of pharmacology which every nurse needs to know, with the format of the book being user friendly and clearly laid out. At the end of each chapter there is a selection of drug calculation and multiply choice questions to test your knowledge. I have found it invaluable and often consult it before and during a nursing placement and consider this to be one of my best buys in published nursing literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
I found it helpful and easily understood. An excellent start to pharmacology and the tests at end of each chapter help to consolidate learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for your exam revision., 28 Jun 2014
By 
Tracey C (Farnham surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
Excellant for all student nurses ... highly reccomend this book.
It has helped me with my exam revision no end and it was explained in really easy termonalogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 7 May 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Burns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
This has come in handy as a student for the course Im doing full of useful information. I would recommend to anyone who is taking an A & P course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for NMP Course, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
Quite americanised but got a lot of great stuff in it.
Easy read.
Good test questions at end of each section.
Worth money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A very basic introduction, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inside this book, it says it meant for student nurses and perhaps the book title should reflect that. If you are new to pharmacology, it is a helpful intro, but doesn't really give any meat to the subject ( to be fair, the authors do say this and encourage the reader to research more). There is also (I think) a mistake where it talks about gram positive and gram negative antibiotics....in this book it says the gram positive cells take up the stain because they are simple....however it is the more complex multi layered cells that take up and then keep the stain, where as the simple bacterial cells can't keep the stain.....only one thing but I felt mistrustful after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good first read, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
I bought this whilst studying for my Non-Medical Prescribing course. Very easy to understand. Well laid out and the case studies and MCQ at the end of each chapter are excellent. The one criticism I have is that it seems to be geared to secondary care - with little reference to prescribing in the community. it also focuses quite a lot on student nurse, rather than registered nurse level. Having said that it was a good basic text for the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses (Paperback)
Very good book for nurses, clear explanation and to the point, no more no less. I would recommend it to nurses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses by Deborah Robertson (Paperback - 1 May 2012)
21.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews