Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for mental health nurses, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
As a pharmacist new to the mental health environment, I was advised to get this book by colleagues. It's been written by numerous contributors who are experts in their field and provides a comprehensive introduction to the specialty.

The table of contents is clearly laid out, making material easy to locate, and the text is easy to read, with liberal use of case studies. Each section has a number of in-text questions that prompt the reader to think about the content, though thankfully with answers supplied. At the end of a chapter the contributor provides both a bibliography and list of references for those who want to go into a subject in more depth. As the bit that I do know something about, I can recommend the pharmacology and medication chapters.

A particular strength of the book is that it explains concepts to non-specialists very effectively. I've found it very useful and would happily commend it to anyone new to the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for Mental Health Nursing Students, 5 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
As a mental health nursing student I have found this textbook to be a key reference and invaluable resource in broadening my understanding of mental health and it has contributed to the development of my evidence-based practice and encourages a recovery- based, client-centred approach to nursing. The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing (Third Edition) as the title suggests, uniquely portrays the concept of mental health nursing as a discipline which combines both the art of developing a therapeutic relationship with the client and the science of evidence based practice.
The third edition has incorporated updates to policy, legal framework and advancements in evidence and interventions related to mental health. Norman and Ryrie have revised the chapters and I found the third edition very readable, with an improved structure.
I found the `case study' sections and `thinking spaces' at the end of each chapter a useful resource as they helped to facilitate my learning and apply the theory to clinical practice.
I would recommend this textbook to anyone who is training to be a qualified mental health professional as an essential resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date and practical, 2 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
I graduated as a mental health nurse just over two years ago, and have been working in child and adolescent mental health since. This book is much improved since the last edition and I have found it a valuable source of information. It gives much more detail and and guidance on procedures that are encountered on a day to day way such as care planning, conducting assessments and discharge planning, identifying and managing risk etc as well as other important areas of nursing practice that are often neglected in training, for example family work. In terms of learning material, the 3rd edition also has lots of case examples and questions to consider. What really comes across is that this book is written by practitioners who are dedicated to thier work and have a hands on and real appreciation of the challenges of working as a mental health nurse in 2013.

I would recommend this book, especially useful for students and newly qualified but certainly relevant to the more long in the tooth. Every nursing team should have this at hand in the office along with an up to date BNF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars critical and comprehensive reading for mental health nurses, 29 July 2013
This book is a well structured, accessible and informative textbook that covers all the essential of mental health nursing both theoretical and clinical. It is an absolute must for students and practitioners working in the field, with a comprehensive breakdown of interventions and psychopharmacological treatments that work with a range of mental health diagnosis, but also the ethical challenges that practitioners working within mental health often face.

I found the chapters on care planning and admission and discharge planning by consultant nurse Jane Padmore and mental health nurse Charlotte Roberts particularly useful and relevant to my current clinical practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Substantial Text for Student Nurses, 11 July 2013
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
This new version is another great addition to the library and I would advise student nurses studying mental health to use this as one of the core texts that will be of benefit throughout the duration of their training and beyond. The chapters are clearly presented and cover a wealth of areas, they are written by competent authors with clarity and a contemporary focus. A great reference book.I will be recommending this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for any assignment., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
I am a student mental health nurse, now entering the third year of my degree course. I had the 2nd edition, but having used this in one form or another for every assignment I recently 'upgraded' to the latest 3rd edition. I can not praise this edition enough. Clear layout. All encompassing subject area. Written at appropriate level for under graduates. Can't fault it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really comprehensive, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
This book is a great resource for student nurses but as an experienced RMN I also found it really interesting and it's a great way to get an overview of current approaches / interventions. I was even able to use it in an assignment for a complementary therapy course that I'm doing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mental health nursing, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Maria "Maz" (Solihull, midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
A must have, I was advised to purchase this book from my uni,
Wouldn't be without it, so much info great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide for anyone interested in mental health, 5 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
The art and science of mental health nursing is a useful addition to any clinical library and I would recommend it for all the courses I run on mental health. It provides an essential mix of theory and practice and has a good chapter on co existing mental illness and substance misuse (dual diagnosis) essential to anyone working within the acute field of mental health. The mix of core procedures and interventions gives clinicians an opportunity to dip in out out of this text depending on their current clinical field. The tables give excellent examples and case studies bring together the theory and practice. It is useful to have a text that combines all aspects of mental health and would be excellent for all students as a reference point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good text- a must have for evidence based practice, 30 July 2013
This review is from: The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice (Paperback)
As a Lead Nurse with wide role and little time, it is vital I can access current evidence base practice without the hassle of constant literature review searching. An excellent text which I can honestly say is a must have for all bands of nursing staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing: A Textbook of Principles and Practice
£29.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews