Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read in a complex area, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide for educators and teachers wishing to design effective programmes of instruction. It is clearly based on years of research and experience, and provides a clear roadmap for the design of programmes that promote learning that is easily assessable.

The book is well organized and easy to read. Clear diagrams and tables help to explain the material. Many references are given, which add to the confidence one has in message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 12 July 2014
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
I first read this book back in 1999 when it was first published and it became a much-used tool in my early teaching career, and one I quoted and recommended to others.
It has since been updated a couple of times and new sections have been added with a co-author.

It still remains a useful introduction to using learning outcomes properly, as aids to learning, rather than as constraints.
Its conclusions are still controversial in some circles. In my early days I gave my students the assessment criteria on the basis of this book and was condemned by colleagues for "giving them the answers". Recently I used the book to justify changes to assessment in my current university - again to "it's the end of the world" complaints from traditionalists.
Of course, in a year's time they'll deny ever making a fuss...

A great book, still relevant, and a source of much discussion and creative teaching ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are teaching in Higher Education this book will change your life, or at least your teaching., 12 Sept. 2014
By 
Andrew Dalby "ardalby" (oxford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
This book should become a standard text for all teaching staff in Higher Education. If you are being taught by someone who has not read it or if you are in a University that does not apply constructive alignment then as a student you should be worried. It should be on every higher education teacher's bookshelf and you should check that they have read it.

Constructive alignment is one of the most powerful tools we have for improving higher education. If it could filter down to secondary education then even better, but there are arguments for the militaristic approach that is currently the norm. This takes students back to an experiential way of learning - much more like primary school, but with the required maturity that you should have amongst higher education students (that is why it probably would be a disaster at secondary level).

Many academics will resist this progressive approach but the simple selling points are that you get higher grades, better outcomes and better student feedback for doing less teaching. Do less and get more who could possibly object to that. Less of the dirge of the lecture and more of the inspiration and mentoring, more time for research and less time for regurgitation. This book is a classic and should define where higher education goes from here. This is a starting point and the ideas will develop in a multi-structural way, but this is a paradigm changing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have found principles constructive alignment very useful in planning a new course. Book full of clear, practical examples which can be adapted for own context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching for Quality learning book, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
L. J. Farrell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
This is a text book we use for our students on the Postgraduate Certificate in Teaching in Higher Education. It is a very useful book for the students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am happy for this book because there are a good idea ..., 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
I am happy for this book because there are a good idea and good relishinship between its chapters and it is important for teaching and learning quality in higher education
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and helpful, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
This book is aimed at those who are involved with teaching in universities or HE.
It is very readable for this type of literature.
I have found it supportive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education) (Paperback)
Really good. Should be compulsory for all university lecturers to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comprehensive and a good background on higher education issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaching for Quality Learning at University (Society for Research Into Higher Education)
£24.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews