Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars positive reviewing, 20 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology by Matt Driver.

This slim volume is one in a really useful series edited by Jenny Rogers. Like the others, it is full of practical good sense and easily applicable techniques. It sets out six of the core themes of positive psychology - strengths,mindset, resilience,positive emotions,relationships and personal growth and explores them with examples and stories. Dotted throughout the book are exercises and activities which coaches might do for themselves, or try with clients, and I found myself turning pages down or marking them to come back to for further reflection. Driver gives the theoretical background for a number of tools coaches might use, for example, questionnaires, stressing their positive use. 360 feedback can concentrate on the weaknesses, but Driver demonstrates how it can be used positively. I found myself caught up in the positive frame, even when I thought there were some leaps Driver's argument made, as he outlined the usefulness of the positive approach, of which I have long been a fan anyway.
For me, the most difficult chapter to get to grips with was that on resilience, but again there are some practical hits and tips for coaches working with their less resilient clients. I found the exploration of coaching leaders and managers particularly helpful again with the concentration on the appreciative approach and focussing on strengths. Driver is quite clear on the debate issue of whether the coachee should have goals, he comes down quite firmly on the side of goals, but develops the type of goal saying "SMART is not enough". I think this book would be very beneficial for coaches starting out on their exploration of being a coach, and would recommend it as a text to read to start your thinking and discovery of the power of the positive approach; however, it is a really good refresher for the more experienced coach, an easy read, and full of positive and practical ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real science, and Real business., 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
If you're looking for inspiration or want to take your coaching to the next level, this might be a book for you.

Written in 2011, this book is based on substantial and up-to-date psychological research that parts with pathology and un-wellness and looks at what success is and how to achieve it.

Seligman, Csikszentmihalyi, Schwartz, Dweck and many others who are writing 21st century psychology, all here in user friendly language and linked to Coaching in a very practical and straightforward way.

Don't be fooled by the word "Positive" and think it's sugary mellow talk. This is real business & science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improving coaching, 5 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
This book assumes thatthe reader is in active coaching, but then outlines diifering views and positions that the client and coach may take There is discussion on how these can be manged . It is easy to read, interspersed with examples that are easy to assimilate and apply I would desribe it as particulalry useful in improving depth of knolwedge and approach in a multitude of potential situations encountered For me it is a further upeward step in insight , and hopefully application in the coaching scenario
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant combination of coaching theory and practice, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
I found this book inspiring and motivational. It goes to the heart of recognisng the good in ourselves and others. Having finished reading it I'd like to go back to the beginning and start again - for the richness of the content in terms of research and shared experience but also for its practical examples as well as tools & tips. I particularly liked Matt Driver's `positivity cube' based on six simple ideas or behaviours which enable `stuck' situations to move forward and could be applied in any situation. It is a very accessible book and I think anyone who is in management, coaching or involved in leading groups of people would find `Coaching Positively' an excellent companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coaching Positively, 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book. Matt Driver has an easy writing style that easily allows you to adsorb the breadth of research he has undertaken. As the strap line says, 'lessons for coaches from positive technology', and so it is. A great introduction to the whole area of positive coaching, full of examples and resources, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and helpful, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
H. Andrews (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
Matt's book refers to the work of others in Positive Psychology, so works as a tour of the state of that field as applied to coaching. He also uses client examples to clarify how the approach might be used. I have come away from the book feeling more confident in my encouragement of the positive in my coaching practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book., 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
Personal Development and Coaching are my loves and this book supports both.
It is well written and easy to use. I like the fact that it recognises negative views too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and practical guide, written for practitioners, 25 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice) (Paperback)
This is a very useful and informative book which provides coaches at all levels of experience with a broad and insightful look at what we can learn from the field of positive psychology. This is more of a `trusted companion' than a text book. It's very readable, well researched and always practical. Matt is consistently strong in pointing out how coaches can use robust recent research to inform reliable coaching techniques - lots of real life examples to accompany each section.
Consistently, Matt emphasises the wisdom of working `at cause' - helping the client find and acknowledge positive choices and responsibility in the way they read and respond to their situation.
It's unusual to find this degree of breadth in a short volume; Matt covers the territory between SMART goals (and the limits thereof), GROW frameworks through to working with meditation and autobiographical memory.
Matt's experience shines through this book, which will be useful for coaches, coaching supervisors, or managers who want to be better managers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coaching Positively: Lessons for Coaches from Positive Psychology (Coaching in Practice)
£23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews