Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making non-fiction exciting.
I'm an NQT and have really struggled with teaching information texts to year 2 in a consistantly engaging way. It's too late for this unit but I'm really looking forward to the next non-fiction unit as this book gives some brilliant ideas for teaching recount, instructions, information, explanation, persuasion and discussion. There is a DVD which looks like it's going...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Kitty Andreas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book shame about the DVD
I bought this book because my school is embracing the Pie Corbett style as a way improving writing. The book is helpful especially for teachers who have not had the opportunity to go on any courses. However the DVD which accompanies this book was damaged from new.
Published 18 months ago by primary teacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Talk for writing - non-fiction variety, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
If you know about Pie Corbet approach and want to use it for non-fiction genre then this is a manual for you. Admitedly it is a little bit more suited for older pupils but that might be just me. Would recoment it for KS2 teachers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good but., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
A great resource. Used this quite a lot with my class. The techniques detailed have me to some pleasing outcomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it-you won't regret it!, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
This book is GREAT! It's packed with helpful advice about how to teach NF writing effectively. The accompanying DVD shows exactly what is explained in the book and you can't beat seeing it in action! The DVD could be used for staff training very effectively. This book has re-ignited my passion for teaching NF writing. I'm always looking for well researched approaches and this sits comfortably alongside formative assessment and the brilliant research findings published by John Hattie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can see the difference..., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Children's writing dramatically improves by the use of talk for writing. This book is a great aid to teaching it effectivly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas for getting amazing results, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
We adopted a lot of the Pie Corbett strategies on our school recently and they have worked brilliantly - highly recommended.

Super fast delivery too. Ordered it at lunchtime on super saver delivery and it arrived the next day!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth buying!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I've bought - I have found this book a fantastic resource for Literacy lessons. It is full of really useful ideas and ways to get children talking about writing within a lesson, and producing excellent work during non-fiction modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Pie Corbett's methods make such a difference to teaching and learning in Literacy. This book is easy to read and the DVD is great if you havent had the opportunity for CPD on Talk across the curriculum. Ive already lent my copy to another teacher, her lesson last week was graded good with outstanding features. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for teachers, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
The content of this book is exceptional and is ideal for schools developing oracy in their curriculum. The DVD complements the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for teaching, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
I really enjoy using this book in the classroom, it gives ideas for writing opportunities cross the curriculum and PIe Corbett is an excellent practitioner to learn from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talk for Writing book, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Excellent resource, we have used this in our classrooms and found it of great use to the teacher thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years
22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews