Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making non-fiction exciting.
I'm an NQT and have really struggled with teaching information texts to year 2 in a consistantly engaging way. It's too late for this unit but I'm really looking forward to the next non-fiction unit as this book gives some brilliant ideas for teaching recount, instructions, information, explanation, persuasion and discussion. There is a DVD which looks like it's going...
Published on 22 Nov. 2011 by Kitty Andreas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book shame about the DVD
I bought this book because my school is embracing the Pie Corbett style as a way improving writing. The book is helpful especially for teachers who have not had the opportunity to go on any courses. However the DVD which accompanies this book was damaged from new.
Published 23 months ago by primary teacher


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making non-fiction exciting., 22 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
I'm an NQT and have really struggled with teaching information texts to year 2 in a consistantly engaging way. It's too late for this unit but I'm really looking forward to the next non-fiction unit as this book gives some brilliant ideas for teaching recount, instructions, information, explanation, persuasion and discussion. There is a DVD which looks like it's going to be very helpful (not had a spare minute to actually watch it, yet). I'm very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fab book by Pie Corbett!, 23 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
An excellent book for primary teachers. Could form the basis of an INSET session or two without too much additional preparation. Good quality materials as you would expect from Pie Corbett covering a wide range of non-fiction genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Pie again, 23 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Clear, practical just what you need in school. I have many of Pie C's books but bought this one hoping for help with an up coming observation. The DVD was excellent. I gained 2's across the board, what more can I say. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book shame about the DVD, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
I bought this book because my school is embracing the Pie Corbett style as a way improving writing. The book is helpful especially for teachers who have not had the opportunity to go on any courses. However the DVD which accompanies this book was damaged from new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest value of this book is that it shows you ..., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
A must for any teacher and those with a passion for teaching writing. It qualifies the importance of talk to help children learn to write. The greatest value of this book is that it shows you how to stage the lead up to writing. Excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Super ideas for inspiring pupils' writing.
Could be improved by having some blank 'boxing up' frames/writing skeletons to be easily copied for instant use in the classroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another innovation from Pie Corbett, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Yet again Pie has developed an approach to teaching and learning that delights the wordsmith. Moving the focus from scoring points and ticking boxes into the joy of creating texts.I love the fact that in the DVD he alludes to the failure of APP to address, what should surely have been the point, the progress.I spent many frustrating hours asking the question what about the progress? I was given no guidance on moving children forward. A complete waste of public money. As he says we dont need endless days spent pouring over APP grids. It is simple, read childrens work and work out what they need to do next! In this book we are given clear guidelines. I am looking forward to introducing my school to this.Well done Pie (and Julia).Update I have introduced this in my school and so far the results are great the children are loving the approach and we can see real progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for teachers, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
The content of this book is exceptional and is ideal for schools developing oracy in their curriculum. The DVD complements the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book but I should have bought the hard copy as I think the DVD is essential to go with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years (Paperback)
Every time you're a bit stuck for ways to motivate children with their writing, this book gives you some cracking ideas. My most stubborn of reluctant writers absolutely loved acting out his sentences to anyone who would listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk for Writing across the Curriculum: How to teach non-fiction writing 5-12 years
£25.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews