Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically helpful, and not just for health & social care
This is a truly brilliant book for anyone involved in public affairs research.

Following the guidance here produces a really high class literature review indeed, and the principle can be applied in any field, but the value of the book is well beyond just the literature review guidance. The explanation and discussion of research terms and considerations are...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by Rosey Lea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot to read before writing 12000 words
It is helpful and useful if you know what you are looking for otherwise it is a very long winded was of putting things when you already have a mammoth project ahead of you. it would have been far better to have concise pointers and check boxes rather than long chapters
Published 18 months ago by Red


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically helpful, and not just for health & social care, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a truly brilliant book for anyone involved in public affairs research.

Following the guidance here produces a really high class literature review indeed, and the principle can be applied in any field, but the value of the book is well beyond just the literature review guidance. The explanation and discussion of research terms and considerations are worth their weight in gold. The book assumes no prior research knowledge, so the guides you right through the types of research available, pros and cons, right down to how to effectively phrase the question your review seeks to answer.

Even if not involved with literature reviews, this book really is an essential part of any researcher's reference shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd found this book 2 years ago!, 14 Feb 2011
By 
South Londoner (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little book that explains in a step by step fashion how to do a systematic review for your research project or dissertation. Its focussed on health and social care and is perfect for health professionals doing their first piece of original research as part of a higher qualification. It covers all the essential bits including how to select and refine a research question, how to search for research articles and most importantly how to appraise and synthesise the evidence. This book would have saved me a lot of time and effort if I would have come across it 2 years ago when I started my masters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An invaluable aid for students and professionals, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Misha The Penguin (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My day job requires me to work with medical evidence and evidence based practice so literature searches and reviews are commonplace. When looking at this book I thought I wouldn't be able to gain very much from it, however this was not the case. Old habits are difficult to break (!) and this booked flagged up a couple (and helpfully provided the solutions!). The book is clearly set out starting with how to define your research question through to searching the literature followed by reviewing your data and critically appraising articles.

There are helpful sections on quantitative and qualitative data which give simple explanations which appear brief, however if you really were looking for more depth on these subjects there are books dedicated to them. The overarching premise is that this book will help you complete a literature review for a piece of academic study but this book is also helpful for those people who are new to Evidence Based Practice and need to review the appropriate literature for practice purposes.

Overall I thoroughly recommend this book - whichever category you fall in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent review on how to write a review, 15 Jan 2011
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Starting from the basics, with no pre-qualifications required, it lays out a sensible approach to writing a literature review.

Some of the things covered include:
- effectively phrasing/defining your research question
- description & explanation of commonly used terms
- different types of types of research available with pros and cons
- searching the literature
- reviewing your data
- critically appraising articles

I have found this book really helpful, and has been a indispensable roadmap for me during the ardous job of writing my thesis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Aveyard!, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
I could kiss Aveyard for writing this book!! It's really clear and helpful and I can't imagine how my dissertation would have turned out without reading this book. The book is applicable for all health and social care subjects. It's been a god send and I would recommend this book to anyone completing a literature review..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literature review planning and writing guide, 6 Feb 2011
By 
misswise (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a scientist, I found this book to be a detailed and comprehensive guide on how to write a literature review. Many students struggle with how to plan and execute a critical review of their subject matter so this guide gives good explanations on how to write a review and the skills herein are transferable to other subject ares not just limited to health and social care. Its layout by section and summaries at the end of each one mean that the flow of text and ideas is easily understood. It is also good value for money at the purchase price and I would recommend it to both undergraduates and graduates undertaking any form of literature review write ups !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for any nursing student, 17 Jan 2011
By 
kiaratrak (Lincs, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
I have nothing but praise for Helen Aveyard and her books. Ive read quite a few recently and this one comes very top of my list. Easy to understand and access for consulting individual concepts, well organised, written in plain language and not goobledigook! If you are a student within healthcare and you are undertaking a degree - this book will become a good friend to you - worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Guide to Writing That Literature Review, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
This book works well for those trying to decide how to conduct a literature review. It explains how to do appropriate searching and goes right through to appropriate approaches for writing a good review. I wouldn't be without it now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide for health and social care students, 17 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really helpful and detailed book which gives a good overview about doing a Literature Review for coyurses or for research purposes. The book is broken down into eight chapters which cover all the basic things which need to be considered when writing a review. This starts with the inevitable "Why do a literature review in health and social care"? It then follows on with chapters discussing how to develop a research question, what literature is relevant, how to search for literature, how to critically appraise literature once you've found it (THE key chapter in my humble opinion), how to synthesise findings, discussing findings and making recommendations and finally how to present the review once it's written.
The book looks at different kinds of research - both qualitative and quantative looking at the merits and pitfuls of each method. It goes on to look at how your findings should be written up and the common traps people fall in to when analysing their findings from the research.
The book is the size of a normal paperback 22cms by 14cms and contains around 162 pages excluding indexing and introduction so no waiting in for the postman as it will fir through the door!
As a public health worker I would have welcomed this book as a student - even if only to dip in and ouut of - it's a step by step guide in detailed form to getting it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic compact book for any person doing a healthcare MSc, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide (Paperback)
This book is very small but perfectly formed! It really shows you how to go about and write a Literature review for anyone doing a healthcare degree. It's also English unlike some books which are American and therefore not as good. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide
Used & New from: £10.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews