Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to theory that informs practice, 13 Mar 2010
By 
PG Daniels (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
If you are new to teaching in the Lifelong Learning sector you may come across a bewildering range of academic terms - learning theories, curriculum models, ideologies. There is such a range of different views that you might be tempted to say if you can't make your mind up , how do you expect me to?
What this text does in a straightforward way is to introduce the reader to the range of theories and models that can influence the way in which you teach. It covers the main areas that trainees on Cert Ed / PGCE need to get a firm understanding of in order to learn about the theory that underpins their course.
It's particularly useful if you enjoy the practical activities of Geoff Petty but find his references to theoretical models rather too anecdotal. This book does look at practical teaching but don't depend on it as a "tips for teachers" manual - you need to go elsewhere for that. What this book does is help you to be informed about theories and come up with the ones that work for you in your context. The range of contributors to this book mean it doesn't have one voice dominating but it does have a cohesive style. Get this and it will see you through your course and afterwards in your practice as a professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars seriously good, 16 July 2010
By 
Tim (far far away) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
This ought to be up there on the reading list for every PCET PGCE course.

Extremely relevant and up to the moment. Interesting because it goes beyond the 'this is HOW you teach' and looks more into the WHY and the big picture, the context of HE/FE.

I guess my only snag is that could have been even better with some more insight regarding the philosophy of teaching - why do we do it? what is the Teacher's motivation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my assignment, 4 Mar 2011
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
This book was a valued help to me it is easy to understand and had every thing i needed to help me with my assignment,learning styles,and theroists.such a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source of information, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
An excellent up to date easy to follow book. A modern outlook on teaching, standards and assessment, packed full of extremely useful information and with reference to other valuable resources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Guide, 8 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
This book is a must for undertaking teaching qualifications, all you need to know and more,
Including citing, referencing, Read book in stages and refer to often, to much to take in on one reading
session. Certainly got me through the PGCE examination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me with my Cert Ed course. It is great as it is up to date and includes all aspects of the course - so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent condition, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
Bought second hand copy, but it was like brand new. Arrived promptly. Would buy second hand again to save money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No problems with the delivery, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
Useful book to act as reference for the future and help me with the various assignments I am currently writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice (Paperback)
Needed it for my course (PGCE). Easy to follow and useful. Get it if you need it for an essay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for DTLLS, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are torturing yourself with this irrelevant and tedious course with pointless driveling essays on psycho-babbel, then this is the book for you. It covers most of the subject matter and will give you endless references. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice
Teaching in Lifelong Learning: A Guide to Theory and Practice by Ron Thompson (Paperback - 1 Oct 2009)
24.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews