Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the Best Study Skills Book Around
As I say in my title this is possibly the best study book I have ever read, and as a lecturer I have read a lot of them. This is a clear and straightforward book, with a lot of sensible hints, tips and suggestions which can be used to develop good study habits, and make studying a much more pleasurable experience. I am very impressed with this book, and I believe it...
Published on 29 April 2010 by Wendy Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic, Rather Than Ultimate, I Feel
Coming at this book as a university lecturer, I was hoping that it would give me advice that I could pass on to my students. Unfortunately, I don't think that's really the case; pretty much everything covered is stuff that by now strikes me as rather obvious and common sense. That doesn't mean that the book wouldn't be of use to those either in their first year or,...
Published on 26 Jun. 2011 by Ben Saunders


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Extremely Useful, 24 Aug. 2010
By 
wicket2005 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an extremely well thought out book to aid students in their study. It covers topics like 'getting it on paper: learning the skills for confident academic writing' and 'research skills and orientations: first steps to good research', etc. It is displayed in such a way that makes it interesting to look at, it isn't just pages of text, there are tables, bullet points, topic paragraphs all displayed with a green font that helps to break the subject matter into bite size pieces.

I think this book would be very handy for students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
This is the first even academic book I bought and it surely won't be the last. Quality did not disappoint, as good as brand new and 10 times cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extensive and helpful, yes, but perhaps a more concise version would be better suited to the busy life of a university student, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
Roroblu's Mum "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I chose this book as I thought that it would be useful for me, especially as I am about to embark on the adventure that is university. When I got it, I had a quick look through the contents page, and saw MANY different sections. Whilst the book suggests that you should specifically read the sections that are appropriate for you, I feel that it would have been better suited if it were more concise, and in note form rather than passages of information. Nonetheless, the guide goes into great depth regarding the various techniques and methods that can be used to aid the retention of information, the presentation of work, learning techniques and much more - thus living up to its name! It also provides a form of interaction in the numerous activities throughout the guide, designed to help the reader recognise and identify key areas/skills where improvement or development is required, but also identifying the best way for the reader to learn. I believe that the guide is very helpful when used for referring to when a student is working. Useful for pretty much any degree, and is suited to someone who wants to excel in their university studies. However, I really feel a more concise version of this guide would be of greater use to a student!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of general study skills, 21 Oct. 2010
By 
mr_ska (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The title may be hyperbole, but this handbook published by the Open University Press is certainly an excellent overview of general study skills for students. It is well laid out with clear and concise instructions and tips on how to organise and structure your learning. It also contains plenty of great advice on how to create the outputs (e.g. presentations and essays) that students are usually assessed by.

Having spent a few weeks with it I am sure it will provide good service to many students who are either generally lacking in overall confidence regarding studying, but also to a fair few who want to dip in to work on specific weaknesses.

That said, it shouldn't be treated as the be all and end all. It's a fantastic overview but you will still need to look beyond what you find in the book both for depth on general skills and for information on subject specific skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FdA Business and Management, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Siân Nicholson (Newton Aycliffe, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Perfect for my FdA Business and Management degree, thanks to ex students selling their used books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills), 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Brilliant book, really helpful. I would recommend. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Obvious more than helpful, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
Ren (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to agree with the review about the book being style over substance. I do like the layout and design of the book, everything is clear and easy to follow, if perhaps a bit repetitive with the endless book/chapter summaries, but it does have plenty of interactive case studies, charts and questionnaires to fill out.

The main problem is the total lack of worthwhile content. Perhaps a young student may get some benefit from it, understanding the way different types of people learn for instance may help the student tailor their study methods to their best learning style. However, I'd say even the youngest university student is going to get only a bare minimum from this book, as you would expect them to have worked out most of the issues for themselves by then.

For example, one section spends several pages explaining how you know if something is plagiarism. In the modern world, I would expect most students to be able to work that one out long before they reach university age, with the amount of internet information available, I would imagine most people will have had this explained to them after someone has handed in a wikipedia page for their homework assignment at school, and if they get to university not knowing passing off someone else's work as their own is a bad thing, I think they probably have bigger problems to deal with than the finer points of study technique!

There were a few interesting sections, the chapters about academic writing styles would probably be useful to the new degree student, although the chapters on punctuation and grammar would probably be considered too little, too late by that point I'd imagine.

In all, a potentially useful book to skip through, although probably not as useful as the authors are hoping as there's fairly limited information on learning tricks and short-cuts to help you learn, understand and retain all the information you'll need. But certainly worth a look for the new university student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 26 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
I was expecting a little more from this book but it seems to be a series of quizzes to test your study skills.
Could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills), 8 Sept. 2010
By 
Jago Wells (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for a daughter already at uni and a daughter who is approaching that stage. My first impressions are that it is a well thought out book which will certainly help those are about to embark on an academic life. It is straightforward and easily accessible and understandable. Certainly not couched in dense, hard to follow language.
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) opens up a new world of academic structuring which is a million miles from what I had to contend with at school! With exercises and hints on how to evaluate information and extract the relevent information from the irrelevent,The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook could just make all the difference between breaking through the academic morass and finding your feet in a new world of study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better for those returning to studying, 21 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This guide offers some useful advice and there are some excellent nuggets in there. While much of it is commonsense or may have already been picked up by some students, it is a good refresher to those returning to studying or earlier in their academic career. It's certainly worth a look and it's better than a lot of the study guides out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills)
The Ultimate Study Skills Handbook (Open Up Study Skills) by Cornelia Connolly (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews