Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for SPSS novices
For someone who is not only scared by stats but is also pretty clueless about them (like me), this book is brilliant! Whether you have never opened SPSS before or whether you have some basic knowledge but not enough to do what you need, this book fits the bill. The writing is clear and easy to understand, with no jargon and useful examples, the boxes that show how to...
Published on 19 Nov 2007 by C. A. Pearce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Recipes, not reference.
This book is great if you are planning straightforward analyses. However, if you wish to deviate from the statistical 'recipes' given here you will struggle to find help. For example, there are many options in an SPSS dialogue box and it would be helpful to have an explanation of each so that one can make an informed decision about which to choose. However, such...
Published on 17 May 2010 by Sally Lennox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for SPSS novices, 19 Nov 2007
By 
C. A. Pearce "stupid_goldfish" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
For someone who is not only scared by stats but is also pretty clueless about them (like me), this book is brilliant! Whether you have never opened SPSS before or whether you have some basic knowledge but not enough to do what you need, this book fits the bill. The writing is clear and easy to understand, with no jargon and useful examples, the boxes that show how to perform the analysis is just as clear and when used in conjunction with the datasets on the website provide peace of mind on how simple it all is!

I would recommend this book to anyone who needs to use SPSS for any type of research (especially at undergraduate dissertation level) as it provides really clear and relevant help on all aspects of SPSS from getting to grips with the programme itself through to inputting the data, choosing the right statistic to analyse your data, and of course how to analyse it and interpret the results.

Quite simply, brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book saved my academic career, 19 Dec 2007
By 
J. SUTHERLAND - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
Simply the best book on introductory SPSS that exists.I know nothing about the author but having bought this book in the middle of a statistics open assignment I can confidently say that I love her and want to marry her. There must be dozens of books that claim to be beginners guides to SPSS- this one actually does what it says; totally brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help with statistics, 5 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
This book is really useful especially for those who find statistics boring and/or difficult. It is very clear and also helps you interpret output from SPSS without any complicated explanations. 100 times better than any other statistics or SPSS book I have looked at. It also includes data files online which you can access to help you follow along with the practise exercises. It covers everything from designing a study to graphs, correlation, multiple regression, non-parametric tests, ANOVA, ANCOVA, MANOVA and more. It is the ultimate book if you need help with stats in your geography/psychology degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best statistics book!, 1 Mar 2009
By 
H. Carver (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
Pallant's SPSS survival manual is the best statistics book I have ever read! I finally understand statistics! I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who struggles with statistics and spss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An illuminating book, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
An absolutely helpful manual for beginners in Statistics. This book briefly but accurately describes the statistical methods included in SPSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
Its an amazing book... very easy to read, I'd say data analysis was a breeze after using this book.
Usually, i hate technology. but this book helped me see that learning to use SPSS wasn't all that bad.
I feel good.... its the first time I had a 'self taught' technology .. am glad i bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear introduction for a beginner in SPSS, 8 Dec 2013
By 
G. Moga (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
I was using this book on my MA, and found it extremely useful. It very clearly defines the basic concepts, and the writing is clear and to the point. This is exactly what is needed for an introduction. What I found particularly helpful was the "description of the results", showing how statistical results are meant to be described in a scientific paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Students bible!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
I struggled to find a book that explained SPSS in layman's terms, this does it effortlessly, and brings you up to speed with what's going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Jerry Hexxus - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
Best book to get, step by step instructions using SPSS up to version 18. Book was a bit musty smelling, but dont care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic guide., 17 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15) (Spiral-bound)
This is a fantastic guide for anyone who is dealing with SPSS. It has step-by-step instructions with pictures and examples to make it even easier - if varies slightly depending on what version of SPSS you have, but it is easy to adapt the instructions to different versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SPSS Survival Manual: A Step by Step Guide to Data Analysis Using SPSS for Windows (Version 15)
Used & New from: £13.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews