Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
I read this book after hearing about it from the open university, and i wasn't dissapointed. It gives a perspective of the two wars that many historians including teachers never touch upon. The concept of total war is given significant space which will make you rethink the criterea of a so called 'total'war'. It covers the two war with a smooth transition covering some of...
Published on 15 Dec 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Open University course book
This book is a required Open University course book otherwise I would probably not have bothered buying this book at all.
Published 18 months ago by Sandy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 15 Dec 2002
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
I read this book after hearing about it from the open university, and i wasn't dissapointed. It gives a perspective of the two wars that many historians including teachers never touch upon. The concept of total war is given significant space which will make you rethink the criterea of a so called 'total'war'. It covers the two war with a smooth transition covering some of the post-war aspects of european society. I would highly recommend this book to people of all educational backgrounds be it A-level or degree status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for study of History, 20 Nov 2009
By 
Alexandre "ayjay" (London, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
Arthur Marwick was the first Professor of History at the Open University. He was one of the editors of this book. Whilst it makes mandatory reading for one of the University's courses, this book provides an excellent summary of resources and material, independently from the course. If you want a legible, coherent book of sources that, at the same time, makes good "bedtime reading" for anyone interested in European History and how societies have changed between 1914 and 1955, then this book is for you. A little over 270 pages to digest was not too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War and society, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
Set book for OU course. Meaty reading but interesting and diverse perspectives on the interaction between the world wars and the societies affected. Well referenced and scholarly. Military, economic, political and social analyses of the wars and interwar periods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required for study, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
I purchased this book as it was the required reading for AA312 and I am currently studying the course which has replaced it. This book is well written and will be useful for my continuing studies and my increasing subject knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy reading for a heavy subject, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
This is for serious study only, and as such I like it. It is certainly not for the casual reader and ties in with the Open University course of the same title. The rewards from this book are worth the effort put in to reading, analysing and interpreting what is there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Open University course book, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
This book is a required Open University course book otherwise I would probably not have bothered buying this book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Total War but a partial bore, 17 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
I am doing an Open University course and this book is part of the curriculum. As such it is invaluable and therefore gets a high star rating. However if you are looking for something that is both informative and readable - this isn't it. The essays herein contained are of a very academic nature and you will find you will be getting a lot of exercise reaching for the dictionary. It is published by the Open University and is specifically written as a companion piece to a course. There are plenty of books covering the subject though few (if any) cover the exact time frame. If you are doing a course buy it otherwise look for something not so dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but evidence base a little sketchy, 26 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 (Paperback)
This book was puchased by me as a requirement of the Open University course, AA312 (Total War & Social Change).

The book is a collection of essays deemed relevant to the above course. Most are well written and highly interesting snapshots of particular considerations in both wars.

Not recommended for beginners but a very good book nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955
Total War and Historical Change: Europe 1914-1955 by Clive Emsley (Paperback - 1 Jan 2001)
22.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews