Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable book
The volume is one of the SCM `Core Text' series, aimed at 2nd and 3rd year undergraduates, and as such would not be a particularly easy read for any without some theological training. Nevertheless, its qualities mean that anyone who is a Christian would benefit from having a go and, having done so, will be richly rewarded by the experience. While Higton deals with some of...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by The Revd Dr Shepherd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but a good starting point
What Higton has managed with this text is give a very good starting point within the Christian realm. It is by no where near a complete look (as very few books can ever be) at what Christian Doctrine is out there. However, what it does give is the basics on which Christian Doctrine is founded and what this means in the Christian world. It is a much better example than...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by manoftheclothe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable book, 19 Feb 2008
By 
The Revd Dr Shepherd "Peter Shepherd" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text) (Paperback)
The volume is one of the SCM `Core Text' series, aimed at 2nd and 3rd year undergraduates, and as such would not be a particularly easy read for any without some theological training. Nevertheless, its qualities mean that anyone who is a Christian would benefit from having a go and, having done so, will be richly rewarded by the experience. While Higton deals with some of the most obvious traditional topics: the Trinity, Incarnation, the Holy Spirit, Creation, Death, Suffering etc., he does so in a way that is soaked in Christian devotion and driven by the imperative not simply to `make sense' of (what we mean by) `God', but particularly what all that means for living a Christian life. So `theological proficiency' lies not particularly in the ability to write an essay on the Chalcedonian Definition but in becoming "critically attentive to the world.......to start taking critical notice of the ideas and patterns of thought that make the world go round....to learn what happens when you start examining and questioning all those ways of making sense in the light of the gospel, asking what difference might be made to those ways of making sense by the belief that God has addressed the world in Jesus Christ". Another appealing feature is the intellectual humility of the author. Many books on Christian Doctrine manage to give the impression that the writer has had some kind of privileged `viewing' of the Godhead; that they are explaining to us - rather like being guided around a factory - how this bit works, how that bit is related to the other bit, and so on. Higton is not that kind of guide. So, for example, the doctrine of the Trinity is not primarily about understanding God at an intellectual level; it requires a more existential understanding: "the primary reality of Trinitarian Christianity is not the words or images that Christians manage to deploy in order to describe God, but the ways in which their whole lives are caught up...into God's own life of love and justice.....[and he concludes] knowing God is more like joining a party than it is like facing an individual". Making the traditional, rather technical distinctions between an `economic' and `immanent' reading of the Trinity, he reminds us that while God certainly makes his Trinitarian `Godself' known to us, we should not be so bold as to imagine that we therefore know everything there is to know about that `Godself': "the doctrine of the Trinity declares that this graspable, knowable, effable set of historical realities is the ineffable God's way of making Godself known. This is the opening up to us....of the ineffable life of God - a life that is something like a drama, something like a dance, something like a community." Higton lectures in Theology at the University of Exeter and he is clearly a born teacher. His ability to take some complex idea and then explain it using stories and analogies is also remarkable. Each chapter begins by reminding us of the ground we have already covered, and its relevance to the next part of the journey. He then, using bullet-points, tells us what he is going to do in this chapter, following that with some suggestions (many setting `homework' to be done on the internet) as to how we might prepare ourselves for the journey ahead. He then suggests some further reading for those who are particularly interested in taking some diversionary route or two and, for those who are `proper' students, there are various explanatory boxes and exercises sprinkled liberally through the text. Every now and then we re-cap key points. Each chapter ends with a section for those who, having managed to get that far, wish to go further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fine book in the SCM Core Texts series., 23 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text) (Paperback)
When I studied Divinity, at the time my faculty mostly studied theologians, and so I felt a bit left out when I met others who had studied Systematic Thelogy. Since graduating, any theological study I have done has concentrated on the history of theology rather than at a purely systematic level.

Therefore, I bought this book to bring me up to date. I must say I am not disappointed. It is lucid, avoiding much of the jargon and academic language found in some theological textbooks. Although my theological outlook is somewhat conservative, I think Mike Higton's book is as good and fair an introduction to Christian Doctrine as you will get. However, some knowledge of the historical development of the subject would help place this book's treatment of Christian Doctrine in its context. Nevertheless, Christians and students of theology of whatever persuasion should consider buying this book for it will reward careful study and thought time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Well it was a grind, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text) (Paperback)
Really hard work getting into and I wonder if it could have been condensed. More for the scholars than the average man in the street who wants to know about Jesus, who he was and what he stood for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but a good starting point, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text) (Paperback)
What Higton has managed with this text is give a very good starting point within the Christian realm. It is by no where near a complete look (as very few books can ever be) at what Christian Doctrine is out there. However, what it does give is the basics on which Christian Doctrine is founded and what this means in the Christian world. It is a much better example than Christian Ethics by Neil Messer. If you wanted a basic start in this subject Higton is a good place to start before moving up to McGrath or Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text) (Paperback)
excellent book for my course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text)
Christian Doctrine (SCM Core Text) by Mike Higton (Paperback - 31 Jan 2008)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews