Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A classic introduction to pure Dicipleship, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Not only is the book of the highest ltereary quality, but it explores the meaning of practical Christianity and warns against complicity with the world and all its corruption. Written at the time of great persecution, any author who openely crticises one of the world's greatest tyrants before being led naked to his execution, has my attention. A must read for those who feel they have lost their way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christian Classic Work, 23 Feb 2013
By 
T. Donoghue - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Dietrich Bonhoeffer wrote THE COST OF DISCIPLESHIP as a young, newly-ordained Lutheran minister, as he contemplated what how his conscience ought to respond to the newly established German leadership of Adolf Hitler. His writing is as uncompromising as his lived Christian faith in fully opposing the Nazi regeime, even unto death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of theologies great books of all time., 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Here we have the writings of a man gripped with a vision of what the church, the Christian life, should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamental stuff, 22 Aug 2012
By 
J. S. Montgomery "Revd Jenny" (Pontefract, West Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already owed a paper copy but good enough to want on Kindle as well. A must for those who are serious about their Christian faith and discipleship. Particularly helpful on grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cost of Discipleship, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Very very good book for a great price on time and in great condition. Very much a man of God following hot on Gods heels and showing that faith can cost you everything, Christ said it would be worth it not that it would be easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Arman Roshdi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
This item arrived on time. The parcel was in good quality. The book itself is a masterpiece in this field. I recommend it to everyone who whats to follow Jesus Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonhoeffer - you are so cool!, 7 Oct 2010
By 
G. P. De Berry "Gill de B" (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
What a thinker Bonhoeffer was. This is such a relevant book for today. As Christianity strives to make its voice heard in this secular world, we read Bonhoeffer's thoughts 80 years ago, as his state religion sells its soul to national socialism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Very thought provoking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still reading, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slow going a bit difficult in parts but I will persist and feel it well worth the time and effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics)
The Cost of Discipleship (SCM Classics) by Dietrich Bonhoeffer (Paperback - 1 Nov 2001)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews