Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away With Western Influences
If you are prepared to lay aside your view that God is an Englishman and that Jesus was a blue-eyed arian, you will be blown away by this book.

Vincent J. Donovan, was a Catholic Missionary in Kenya among the Masai people during the late 60's, and he realised that although they had been there about hundred years and done lots of 'good work', there were...
Published on 29 April 2006 by David Peddie

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christianity rediscovered?
Vincent J. Donovan, a Catholic Missionary in Tanzania among the Masai people during the late 60's, realised that although the mission to East Africa had been there for nearly two hundred years and done some 'good work', there were virtually no conversions. (p13.) He realises that all the mission has done is import western Christianity, and he comes to believe that every...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Ottmar B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Away With Western Influences, 29 April 2006
By 
David Peddie (Birkenhead, Merseyside UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
If you are prepared to lay aside your view that God is an Englishman and that Jesus was a blue-eyed arian, you will be blown away by this book.

Vincent J. Donovan, was a Catholic Missionary in Kenya among the Masai people during the late 60's, and he realised that although they had been there about hundred years and done lots of 'good work', there were virtually no conversions. He realises that all they have done is 'import' their western Chritianity, and he comes to believe that every culture created by God has, withing its own culture, all it needs to believe in Jesus if someone will only tell them. So he started a really radical outreach which blew away all of the traditionally accepted forms of 'mission' and focussed on the communities. He laid out a 5-year plan to reach all of the communities of the Masai and simply tell them about Jesus and Salvation in the context of their own culture rather than a culturally western influenced Christianity. At the end of his 12 month 'telling' he gives them the choice to choose or reject the message. As simple as that. It is a disturbing book in that it lays out quite clearly that pretty much all of 'modern' mission (i.e. the last 150 years) might just have got it all wrong, and in some instances, devastatingly so. A difficult read if you have a rigid mind-set about Christianity and Mission. A revelation otherwise. As I read it I found myself thinking YES, YES, YES. This is what Christianity is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God is at work everywhere!, 22 Mar 2009
This review is from: Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Vincent Donovan's description of his work with the Masai was refreshing for its open reflection of how he faced the searching questions of members of this deeply spiritual African tribe. If anyone needs evidence that God is at work outside the orthodox Christian section of the world's p[opulation, this book will provide it. If only the church today would emulate Vincent's approach!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christianity Rediscovered - what a find!, 28 Aug 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
"Suppose you were a missionary and you realised how questionable the whole system was. And yet suppose you believed in Christianity, believed that Christianity has something to say to the world... What then? What would you do?"

I'd hardly got to the end of the first page of this book when I recognised that sinking feeling in my belly. No, not disappointment. It was that feeling of, "Why, why, why did nobody recommend this book to me 10 years ago?!" I've been absolutely gripped by Vincent Donovan's story of reaching out to the Masai of East Africa. Having visited Tanzania last year (and climbed Kilimanjaro with the help of a Masai guide) the descriptions in the book really came to life for me.

But this is far more than a heart-warming tale. Donovan's searing critique of modern missionary methods really struck a chord with me. But anyone can find faults can't they. So what impressed me was the way that Donovan, more lucidly, poignantly and sensitively than anyone else I've come across, distills and translates the Christian message for a new cultural context. Unlike many contemporary missionaries to 'emerging culture' he never plays fast and loose with the gospel. Rather he patiently and faithfully uses the verbal transmission of seed form Christian concepts to grow new redeeming hope in the minds and hearts of those he's called to reach. As the preface to the 3rd edition (2001 by Lamin Sanneh) so ably discusses, this book has huge implications for the church in every global context, especially in the West. So have you read it yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant and humbling, 27 Jun 2008
By 
Ms. A. C. Borthwick "AnnieB" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book describes Vincent Donovan's personal spiritual journey with the Masai and is a rivetting read. Mission in its truest sense, where Donovan emptied himself of his own prejudices and allowed a free and honest dialogue with a deeply spiritual people. PLEASE READ IT - CHRISTIANITY AS IT SHOULD BE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Find, 9 April 2011
Many, many Christians that I've spoken to have already read this but it was a real discovery for me. At a time when I was coming up to the deadline for my MA dissertation I was advised to read Christianity Rediscovered by my supervisor. Not only was it helpful but it fed my passion for evangelism and got me thinking about how and why it works (or doesn't). This is a must-read for Christians of all ages - inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a vital read for mission in any context, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Christianity Rediscovered is a classic for good reason. I've spoken to people engaged in all kinds of cross-cultural interfaith or mission work who have this book now in their spiritual dna giving integrity to what they do and helping them listen and learn from 'The other' in honouring respect. This is a book of huge honesty and compassion and is theology shaped by life and community. Hugely accessible and life-changing. Seeking Justice: The Radical Compassion of Jesus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 25 years of sanity - but are we listening?, 11 Jun 2011
This book is as relevant as it was all those years ago and it seems at times, that we haven't yet got the message! These thoughts and suggestions are so amazingly pertinent to UK, as well as other countries. Good read and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought it twice, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
I gave my first copy of this classic book to a Godchild. So I had to buy another, which I have returned to it several times. It's both a good story and an insightful criticism of the missional techniques Donovan sets out to challenge. You should draw your own conclusions. But for me it shows that we can learn much about ourselves by observing and learning from other cultures. God works in ways and with peoples as God chooses, whether 'a church' likes it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth rediscovering!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Easy to read and very thought provoking. Makes you consider how culture can obscure or make relevant the Christian message. Friends will be getting this for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different view, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book looks on Christian Mission from the side of those it seeks to serve. What I find most refreshing is that it is written in a spirit of humility, openness and great love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics)
Christianity Rediscovered (SCM Classics) by Vincent J. Donovan (Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews