Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle, Challenging and Humane, 1 April 2006
By 
R. Mann "Rachel Mann" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bonhoeffer's 'Letters and Papers' represents his final theological reflections and correspondence produced during his internment by the Nazis. It is, by its very nature, sketchy and tantalising, giving the reader both insights into the state of his mind and glimpses of exciting theological developments in his thought. There is something powerful and modern in Bonhoeffer's wrestling with the question of the status of Christianity in a 'world come of age'; at the same time, it is extremely moving and troubling to follow his journey towards execution at Flossenburg Concentration Camp in April 1945. Do not approach this work lightly; to read it seriously is to take the risk of being left uncomfortable, stretched and changed. In short, it is a work which explores both private and public questions as relevant today as they were in the 1940s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound, radical and thoroughly human, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Letters and Papers from Prison: An Abridged Edition (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
I decided to read this as a follow-on from his excellent The Cost of Discipleship, which is in my opinion, one of the greatest works of Christian apologetics. Knowing Bonhoeffer's biography, it is obvious that this was his last work before he was murdered, and at times the retrospective knowledge that I had whilst reading it made me cry, especially when Bonhoeffer was hoping for a release in the not-too-distant future.

That said, the start is joyfully mundane, writing to his parents, requesting various reading material, how to keep fit in a prison cell and the joys of cigarettes. He moves on to more correspondence with his niece's husband, Eberhard Bethge, who later went on to be Bonhoeffer's biographer. There is a lot here which conveys much more of his humanity and compassion, along with recognitions of his own failings and foibles.

Some of the letters stand out more than others, and these tend to be when Bonhoeffer is questioning the status quo of christianity. He reveals that he was, in the true definition of the terms, a secular humanist, only without the atheistic connotations that we have come to associate with the phrase in recent years. His rejection of religiosity is something that his highly welcome although the evidence of this taking hold as popular thought until much later, with the likes of Rob Bell's Velvet Elvis being the modern expansion of this school of thought.

The only criticism I would have is in the translation. Bonhoeffer was fond of using latin phrases in his writings, but the translators have only included the english translation sporadically, so I had to keep looking up a lot of them, as they were not phrases in common use.

It is an immensely thought provoking collection and I cannot think of anyone I would not recommend this book to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God on the Gallows, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Samuel Romilly (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Letters and Papers from Prison: An Abridged Edition (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Woe be to the pastors that destroy and scatter the sheep of my pasture....
I will raise unto David a righteous branch and a King shall reign and prosper, and shall execute judgement and justice in the earth. In his days Judah shall be saved and Israel shall dwell safely in confidence. And his name shall be called: the Lord our Righteousness.
Jeremiah 23.1-6

One of the most haunting and traumatic passages in modern literature is to be found in a slim autobiography - Night - by the Nobel prize winner Elie Wiesel. It is an account of an incident that occurred in his childhood, a childhood spent in the concentration camps. For Elie Wiesel was a Jewish boy born in Nazi Germany. In one of them, Buna, three Jews who had attempted to escape, two men and a boy, were hanged. The other prisoners were forced to watch. The men died quickly. The boy, being lighter, was strangled more slowly,

'Where is God? Where is he' someone behind me asked ... For more then half an hour the boy stayed there, struggling between life and death, dying in slow agony under our eyes. And we had to look him full in the face. He was still alive when I passed in front of him. His tongue was still red, his eyes were not yet glazed. Behind me I heard the same man asking: 'Where is God now?'. And I heard a voice within me answer him: "Where is He? Here he is - He is hanging here on the gallows...'

That was it. For the Jewish boy hanged and for the Jewish boy watching, God died on those gallows and hope was buried for good.

In another concentration camp, Flossenberg, a Christian pastor, theologian and would-be assassin, was waiting for his own execution at the hands of the Nazis. He asked a similar question: 'Who is God?' and gave the answer, 'A crucified Jew'. For the Christian pastor God was to be found on the gallows and Hope was resurrected in the tomb of his prison.

Last Sunday we celebrated the feast of St Amos, the prophet who condemned his own people to terrible destruction for the injustices they had committed. Amos, a prophet walked into the limelight for a few days and then walked out. When he preached against the powers that be in the Royal Chapel itself, he was rebuked by the clergy of the established Church, ignored by the prospering classes, and was left to a fate unknown.

This Sunday, as I warned you, is the Feast of St Dietrich Bonhoeffer, the German pastor - shepherd - and prophet who preached and acted to bring about the destruction of his own country. And today - this very day - is the 53rd anniversary of the failure of the attempt by the German Resistance to assassinate Hitler.

Until very recently this is a feast day little commemorated in Germany, since such men as Bonheoffer - of Schindler - are viewed ambiguously. A Saint to some, a traitor to others.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer was born in 1906 of a well-connected, and intellectual middle class family living in Breslau. A brilliant pupil and student, he rapidly acquired distinction as a writer and teacher of the first rank. His greatest inspiration, and the ground rock of his faith, was the Sermon on the Mount, the ethical teaching of Jesus, and his greatest theological interest was the nature of the Church, and the cost of discipleship. He was an active pastor as much as an academic. Theology had to serve the pastoral ministry. In ordinary times Bonhoeffer would have been a extraordinary man, writer, teacher, intellectual, theologian, pastor. But these were not ordinary times. The spectre of Hitler was looming on the land, and the Church of which B was a pastor was bowing its knee to Baal.

This was not as surprising as it now seems. The Catholic Church was later to come to a reluctant and short-lived accommodation with the Nazis, but the Lutheran's who had flourished under the protection and support of their rulers, seemed to have no qualms. 'The Powers that be are ordained of God!' was one of the biblical passages most quoted. Some Lutherans felt they could not defy Hitler. Others had no wish to do so. These were the so-called German Christians who wholeheartedly welcomed the racist Aryan ideology of the Nazis and incorporated it into their understanding of Christianity. Jesus the Jew, St Paul the Rabbi, and Bonhoeffer the pastor had no place in that Church. Bonhoeffer and a few others broke off to form the Confessing Church. For most this was a way of retaining their Christian integrity, not bowing the knee to Baal. For Bonhoeffer it was the first step into active opposition to a satanic regime. This was merely the beginning of Bonhoeffer's isolation and exile: his was a voice increasingly crying in the wilderness, he was a prophet without honour in his own country, a pastor willing to sacrifice himself for his flock. And his flock included the Jews.

Another victim of the Nazi camps was the former U-Boat commander and Lutheran Pastor, Niemoller, who put the moral cowardice of his church and nation graphically.

First they came for the Jews and I did not speak out -
because I was not a Jew
Then they came for the Communists and I did not speak out -
because I was not a communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists and I did not speak out -
becasue I was not am trade unionist.
Then they came for me -
And there was no one left to speak out for me!

The Confessing Church would not adopt racist ideology, would not deify the Fuhrer, but still closed its eyes to the fact that the Jewish Question was central to the Christian faith at that time, in that place. It was the touchstone of faith or apostasy. Almost 2000 Protestant pastors were killed serving in the armed forces in Hitler's war; only 20 were killed by Hitler for their opposition to it. This Church was no longer Bonhoeffer's home. He was in the cold world with no place to lay his head. He saw with increasing clarity that opposition to Hitler - to the Devil and all his works - was what the Christian Faith was for. He wrote a new confession of faith confessing his won and his church's failure of nerve and of faith.

The Church was silent when it should have cried out because the blood of the innocent was crying aloud to heaven. The Church stood by while violence and wrong were being committed under the cover of the name of Christ. The Church has witnessed the brutal force being applied to countless innocent people, oppression, murder, hatred, and has not raised her voice on behalf fo the victims. She is guilty of the deaths of the weakest and most defenceless brother sof Christ.

The Church has lost its faith.

To this end he aligned himself with those conspiring to murder Hilter. He alied himslef with atheists and humanists in the attempt. He would renounce all privileges, seek no different treatment form the rest. He would use whatever credibility and connections he had in their service. He would lie, deceive, masquerade, camouflage and ultimately kill. Now to be a true patriot was to be a traitor. For the sake of Humanity, Hitler must die.

He has no illusions. It was action too late. Neither he nor the others in the conspiracy had clean hands or pure motives. They had let things go this far. Their action was an act fo repentance and atonement. As conspirators, they would be reduced to behaving with deceit, lying constantly. They would contemplate murder in their heart, their hands would be washed in blood.

What is worse than doing evil is being evil. It is worse for a liar to tell the truth than for a lover of truth to lie.

Cruel times give to cruel necessity. Hitler must be stopped. But he was unstoppable. He led a charmed life. Three times they tried to kill him.
- In February 1943 a bomb (of English design) was placed on Hitler's plane but failed to explode.
- in March he was to inspect an arsenal and the conspirators got hold of his itinerary. Major von Gersdorff strapped two bombs in his coat pocket and was going to detonate them beside Hitler, killing himself in the process. Hitler was late and in a hurry. He stayed only 10 minutes not the half hour forecast.
- the third and last attempt was July 20th 1944 when a bomb was placed in a bag by the leg of table at which Hitler was sitting. It went off, but almost miraculously Hitler survived unscathed.

Bonhoeffer had already been arrested. Now his involvement in assassination came to light. He survived until April 1945, a prisoner in body but not in spirit.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer was executed 50 years ago today. He too returned home to face the music, and to be a traitor for Christ. In the USA where he was visiting, he told Reinhold Niebuhr that Christians in Germany had two choices: either they could pray and work for the defeat of their nation which would thus preserve Christian civilisation or they could actively participate in their country's victory and thus bring about the destruction of that Christian civilisation. He knew which choice he had to make and knew he could not make it from the safety of America. He went home, offered himself as an Army Chaplain, was involved in the plot against Hitler, was triad and condemned for treason, and executed in Flossenberg Concentration Camp.

This great work written in prison is a lasting testament to a noble man, a righteous gentile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonhoeffer's Letters from Prison, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters and Papers from Prison: An Abridged Edition (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
There is much to explore as one reads this book. I referred to his biography and the Bible due to his many references. The introduction was valuable to explain that his writing was censured before release. The importance of the little things in life were interesting - - the birds, the sky, the feel of fresh air. His persistence with a discipline daily - - prayer, Bible reading, exercise, were impressive.
A good book to read and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It worked out pretty well on Kindle, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a classic and I got it to read 70 years since he was killed. It is worth reading and bearing in mind the context in which he wrote these letters etc. It worked out pretty well on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters and Papers from Prison: An Abridged Edition (SCM Classics) (Paperback)
Excellent service and great quality product. Had a little difficulty tracking this book down for study purposes but Amazon to the rescue once more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My thoughts, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting rather hard to understand in places which he could have explained further. the poems were excellent and moving will keep a copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring stuff.., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man puts into a more helpful context, the contemporary 'need' for comfort. There is a lot to learn from here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Obviously very personal but also a great book on certain theological discussions. Really enjoyed it! Read it and some other of his books for my dissertation and very much enjoyed the process of studying his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letters and Papers from Prison: An Abridged Edition (SCM Classics)
Letters and Papers from Prison: An Abridged Edition (SCM Classics) by Dietrich Bonhoeffer (Paperback - 9 Dec. 2013)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews