Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good pocket guide
The book is compact and has excellent colour photos of every bird listed. Some related species are included in the text of the relative but not illustrated, that's good. Descriptions are excellent as they describe the appearance of each bird, it's habitat, and its behaviour. Two frustrations are (i) the birds are grouped by habitat, yet in reality birds cross into other...
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by Earnestpax

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable birds
If you're visiting Trinidad or Tobago and like to know what the birds are that are flitting in front of you, this is a useful guide. Most of the commonly seen birds are there. There are birds on Tobago that are not seen in Trinidad and vice-versa. Unless you are reasonably into birds, this is a good little guide. Personally I bought this and the Birds of Trinidad and...
Published on 14 Mar 2009 by Alchemist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable birds, 14 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
If you're visiting Trinidad or Tobago and like to know what the birds are that are flitting in front of you, this is a useful guide. Most of the commonly seen birds are there. There are birds on Tobago that are not seen in Trinidad and vice-versa. Unless you are reasonably into birds, this is a good little guide. Personally I bought this and the Birds of Trinidad and Tobago Helm Guide[Martin Kenefick and others]. I found both useful, the real photos by Roger Neckles in the Richard Ffrench book being an additional help. If you are in this area, I do recommend going to the Asa Wright centre and Caroni Swamp, both in Trinidad. The first has brilliantly coloured birds and in the swamp you can see all the vivid scarlet ibis fly in to roost by late afternoon, a magnificent spectacle for anyone who enjoys wildlife. I enjoy bird photography and both books proved very useful. It is worth paying for a local guide on both islands as they'll point out birds you'll otherwise not notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good pocket guide, 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
The book is compact and has excellent colour photos of every bird listed. Some related species are included in the text of the relative but not illustrated, that's good. Descriptions are excellent as they describe the appearance of each bird, it's habitat, and its behaviour. Two frustrations are (i) the birds are grouped by habitat, yet in reality birds cross into other habitats, so you still have to trawl through much of the book when identifying, and (ii) quite a number of birds occur only on Trinidad or only on Tobago and there is no mark near the title of the bird to indicate this, you have to read the text through in detail to find its distribution. Overall it's a very good beginners pocket guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birding Holiday on Trinidad & Tobago, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help me learn some of the commoner birds on T&T prior to birding there. Found it extremely helpful. The photographs were splendid. It doesn't cover all the birds but is a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and clear, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
Nice and lightweight for travel as an extra book. Will be using this updated photo-guide alongside a traditional field guide. Always good to compare photos with drawings (and to have in case you haven't managed to get a pic yourself!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide for the casual birdwatcher, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
This is an inexpensive photographic guide to 106 species. However for the serious birdwatcher it leaves you wanting. I found it helpful and informative but at least 10 species I saw were not depicted in the guide and some not even mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for casual observation, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
This was great for straightforward identification and pretty good on location. Lack of schematic photos or drawings made it difficult to identify raptors etc. Recommended for a first book and ideal for short break!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
Nicely presented book with good info as far as it goes but we found we needed something more
with a wider range of birds covered. Ended up buying another book when we were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars holiday to tobago, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
really good book pictures good and clear for beginners and we ticked off birds as we saw them, got good descriptions of the birds and where to find them on the island. would recommend this book it was easy to use and helpful to identify the birds we saw on our holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Compact easy to use Bird Guide, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
I chose this book as it is a handy size and a good starting point for our holiday in Trinidad and Tobago being enthusiastic birdwatchers for the first time in the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars birds of trinidad and tobago, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) (Paperback)
I ordered this book nearly two weeks before christmas as I was going on a cruise calling at these islands. Due to Royal Mails total inefficiency it arrived the day after we went !
As far as the book is concerned it actually exceeded my expectations and I thought it was excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History)
Birds of Trinidad and Tobago (Macmillan Caribbean Natural History) by Richard Ffrench (Paperback - 23 Mar 2004)
8.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews