Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (290)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from a teacher
I have read this book to children in Year 2 and 3, all of which loved it. The illustrations are beautiful and there are many lessons which can tie in with the books themes; travel, friendship, rhyming etc.
A lovely story which is especially suitable for 5-8 year olds.
Published on 5 April 2005 by Gemmad

versus
13 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing....
....if you've read Room on the Broom ! the rhymes aren't half as good and often quite "forced", and the story isn't as gripping as the others. Maybe more suitable for older children than for toddlers.
Published on 26 Mar 2007 by Cecilia Costa


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review from a teacher, 5 April 2005
By 
Gemmad (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have read this book to children in Year 2 and 3, all of which loved it. The illustrations are beautiful and there are many lessons which can tie in with the books themes; travel, friendship, rhyming etc.
A lovely story which is especially suitable for 5-8 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous tale of a snail and a whale, 7 April 2007
By 
Gael (Highlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Snail and the Whale (Paperback)
Although my daughter is only 11 months old she just loves having this gorgeous story read to her and can spend ages turning the pages of her board book version.

For me, it is an absolute delight to read and look at, and difficult to decide which is more enchanting - the words or the illustrations.

Her other favourite is the Gruffalo and she has started to point to the owl and the snake, and of course the Gruffalo, when I ask her to show me where they are, and I am hoping that she soon starts to get the same developmental benefit from the Snail and the Whale as I can think of no finer introduction to the concept of relating words to images than the works of Donaldson and Scheffler.

PS I love the scared face of the woman in green in the speedboat "Buzz".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read childrens' book, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Sandra Gordon (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Snail and the Whale (Paperback)
Anyone who has not read this book is missing an absloute treat. There are so many books for children available that sometimes it is difficult to know what to buy, but this will never disappoint. It is a heart-warming story told in rhyme with beautiful illustrations and it gives children an important message about friendship. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


158 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Snail and the Whale, 18 Sep 2003
By 
M. Tebbutt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another super children's story from Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler. Those who have read Julia's previous works, such as the Gruffalo, The Monkey Puzzle, Room on the Broom and the Smartest Giant in Town, will recognise the pleasing, rhythmic style and carefully crafted structure of the story as well as the quality of Axel Scheffler's glorious illustrations which bring this enchanting story to life.
It is the story of a tiny sea snail who wants to travel the world and hitches a lift on the tail of a humpback whale. They travel the world together and, when the whale gets into trouble, the snail manages to pay his fare by getting the help of some school children.
A truly lovely picture book story which parents and grandparents will enjoy reading as much as the children will enjoy hearing again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great rhyming picture book - a winner, 24 Oct 2004
By 
joc66 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Snail and the Whale (Paperback)
This book is popular with both my 13 month old and my almost 3 year old. It is written in a lilting rhyme which is great to read aloud - I really do enjoy reading it to them, and interesting, detailed illustrations. The story is simple but touches on so many themes you'd like little children to think about; the desire to see new and amazing things, why even when you're small you can make a big difference, and helping out someone who needs it. I would thoroughly recommend this book for those with little children, and I'm sure it will be a favourite in our house for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story for young children, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Allan McPhail (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My daughter, 5, borrowed this book from the local library. I suspect I'm going to have to buy it as she won't want to return it!! It really is a wonderful story with great verse. The message behind the story will appeal to children interested in animals and the marriage of small and large.

Cannot fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Things Come in Small Packages, 24 July 2006
This review is from: The Snail and the Whale (Paperback)
This book is excellent! It shows you that anyone can become friends with each other. In this book, a snail and a whale become friends and travel together. When trouble arises, the snail becomes the hero. This book is great for young children showing them that if you put your mind to something, you can accomplish anything even how small you are.

Cynthia Marie Rizzo, author of "Julie and the Unicorn" and "Angela and the Princess"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Voyage, 25 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This wonderful book has the flow of a song, almost Dylan Thomas in its pace and grace (no pun intended). Shows the wonder of travel and lets small children know that they can make a difference and that being small does not mean they are not capable or important.
Need a new copy now as the first one is worn out with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rhyme and pictures, 22 May 2006
The rhyme is excellent - a blend of humour and colour.

The pictures are just how you'd imagine the story if you didn't have pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting and Heartwarming Adventure, 1 Nov 2005
By 
J. H. Sweet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absolutely love this book. It is a classic tale with a friendship reminiscent of Wilbur and Charlotte, though expressed in much fewer words. This is an exceptional book with beautiful illustrations and a wonderful story - perfect for all ages. The adventurous spirit and courage of our tiny hero is remarkable, proving that even the smallest of us can make a huge difference in the world. This is truly a prize book for my collection, and one I will enjoy reading again and again for years to come.
J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Snail and the Whale
The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 3 Sep 2004)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews