Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars780
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2005
I have read this book to children in Year 2 and 3, all of which loved it. The illustrations are beautiful and there are many lessons which can tie in with the books themes; travel, friendship, rhyming etc.
A lovely story which is especially suitable for 5-8 year olds.
0Comment|107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2007
My daughter, 5, borrowed this book from the local library. I suspect I'm going to have to buy it as she won't want to return it!! It really is a wonderful story with great verse. The message behind the story will appeal to children interested in animals and the marriage of small and large.

Cannot fault it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2003
Another super children's story from Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler. Those who have read Julia's previous works, such as the Gruffalo, The Monkey Puzzle, Room on the Broom and the Smartest Giant in Town, will recognise the pleasing, rhythmic style and carefully crafted structure of the story as well as the quality of Axel Scheffler's glorious illustrations which bring this enchanting story to life.
It is the story of a tiny sea snail who wants to travel the world and hitches a lift on the tail of a humpback whale. They travel the world together and, when the whale gets into trouble, the snail manages to pay his fare by getting the help of some school children.
A truly lovely picture book story which parents and grandparents will enjoy reading as much as the children will enjoy hearing again and again.
0Comment|162 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2007
Although my daughter is only 11 months old she just loves having this gorgeous story read to her and can spend ages turning the pages of her board book version.

For me, it is an absolute delight to read and look at, and difficult to decide which is more enchanting - the words or the illustrations.

Her other favourite is the Gruffalo and she has started to point to the owl and the snake, and of course the Gruffalo, when I ask her to show me where they are, and I am hoping that she soon starts to get the same developmental benefit from the Snail and the Whale as I can think of no finer introduction to the concept of relating words to images than the works of Donaldson and Scheffler.

PS I love the scared face of the woman in green in the speedboat "Buzz".
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is popular with both my 13 month old and my almost 3 year old. It is written in a lilting rhyme which is great to read aloud - I really do enjoy reading it to them, and interesting, detailed illustrations. The story is simple but touches on so many themes you'd like little children to think about; the desire to see new and amazing things, why even when you're small you can make a big difference, and helping out someone who needs it. I would thoroughly recommend this book for those with little children, and I'm sure it will be a favourite in our house for a long time to come.
22 comments|134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2006
This book is excellent! It shows you that anyone can become friends with each other. In this book, a snail and a whale become friends and travel together. When trouble arises, the snail becomes the hero. This book is great for young children showing them that if you put your mind to something, you can accomplish anything even how small you are.

Cynthia Marie Rizzo, author of "Julie and the Unicorn" and "Angela and the Princess"
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
This wonderful book has the flow of a song, almost Dylan Thomas in its pace and grace (no pun intended). Shows the wonder of travel and lets small children know that they can make a difference and that being small does not mean they are not capable or important.
Need a new copy now as the first one is worn out with love.
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2005
I absolutely love this book. It is a classic tale with a friendship reminiscent of Wilbur and Charlotte, though expressed in much fewer words. This is an exceptional book with beautiful illustrations and a wonderful story - perfect for all ages. The adventurous spirit and courage of our tiny hero is remarkable, proving that even the smallest of us can make a huge difference in the world. This is truly a prize book for my collection, and one I will enjoy reading again and again for years to come.
J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2007
This is a beautiful book in every sense: the illustrations are detailed and glorious and the rhyming text enhances the experience. A little snail hitches a ride around the world on the tail of a massive whale. He sees all sorts of habitats and environments, as well as how mankind can adversely affect marine life, before the whale gets beached on the sand. The snail may be small, but now he manages to help his friend (with the assistance of mankind this time!) and as a result they both get home safely.

This is children's writing at its finest. There is so much depth to this book and in reading it you will have the opportunity to really share and discuss, as well as simply to enjoy the enchantment, humour and magic of this lovely story!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2006
The rhyme is excellent - a blend of humour and colour.

The pictures are just how you'd imagine the story if you didn't have pictures.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85
£3.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.