Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, clear and concise introduction.
I read this book during a course of study in health policy during which a basic understanding of political ideology was pretty important. Coming from a scientific background I had very little prior knowledge of politics but I found that the style of Andrew Heywood's book was extremely clear. He outlines key ideas in Political Ideology in the context of their...
Published on 18 Feb 2006 by DelWij

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A thorough textbook, but not designed for students
A good book. It offers thorough description of a range of ideologies relevant to any politics course and is also a good reference. However it's design is not sufficiently analyatical or comparative for most students. Ideologies are treated well yet concepts like the individual and the state often recieve only superficial analysis.
Published on 19 Jan 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, clear and concise introduction., 18 Feb 2006
By 
DelWij "DelWij" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Political Ideologies: An Introduction (Paperback)
I read this book during a course of study in health policy during which a basic understanding of political ideology was pretty important. Coming from a scientific background I had very little prior knowledge of politics but I found that the style of Andrew Heywood's book was extremely clear. He outlines key ideas in Political Ideology in the context of their historical development, so one gets a good idea of how different social circumstances for example influenced the evolution of political ideas. There is also very clear explanation of the various areas of overlap between the various ideologies e.g. between Neoliberalism and Neoconservatism.
As someone who is not an expert in politics, I am unable to suggest personally whether the book expresses accurate information regarding the development of poltical ideologies but I used alot of information from the book in assignments which were marked by tutors who are extremly well versed in political ideology and they did not express any concerns about the ideas being excessively partial or biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good introduction., 27 Nov 2006
By 
B. Coppin "ben31415" (Cambridgeshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Political Ideologies: An Introduction (Paperback)
I bought this book because I felt ignorant about politics - I wanted to know the difference between left-wing and right-wing; I wanted to know the connections (if any) between communism, democracy, fascism and feminism.

This book answered all of those questions, and many more. It is an extremely clear and well laid out book, that takes you step-by-step through a whole range of political ideologies. It makes clear the internal tensions, and the surprising similarities between seemingly opposing views.

I found the style fairly easy to read, and it didn't assume too much prior knowledge. I found some of the later chapters on subjects such as ecologism, feminism and religious fundamentalism to be a little less well explored, and it was sometimes hard to see exactly how they fitted with the other subjects in the book. Apart from that, I'd say this is as good an introduction to the subject as you could hope to find. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding guide for all levels of study!, 14 Jan 2002
By A Customer
...The book starts by outlining its main aims in helping the student, and examines the terms such as 'Left' and 'Right' in the political spectrum. Heywood then goes on to examine each major political ideology and their branches in their appropriate chapters, working through them in chronological order, and putting them within their own contexts, and highlighting their significance. Furthermore, 'micro-biographies', in small boxes, with regards to political and philosophical thinkers, are included throughout, with their contributions to the ideas in question fully emphasized. If this isn't enough, there are numerous 'Perspectives on...' boxes spread throughout the text, showing specifically where each ideology stands with regards to certain polemic or unclear topics, such as Racism or Women in Society. As far as I can remember, the following ideologies are included, more or less in this order: Liberalism, Conservatism, Socialism (with Marxism), Anarchism, Fascism, Feminism, Ecologism, Religious Fundamentalism, although it is quite possible I've left some out.
This is a unique book, in that it's unbelievably easy to read and take in, and answers most questions you would have regarding political philosophy. As well as this, since passing on to university, my own copy of Heywood's Political Ideologies has served me well, even though I'm reading History now. Many Undergraduates and Postgraduates researching Politics and Philosophy also find this an invaluable tool for study (I have this on good authority!), and to sum up, anyone remotely interested in this field would find it to be a priceless addition to their personal library. A masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Without offending, I would like to say that this book is the bible of politics. Andrew Heywood gives an excellent great introduction to politics. As a degree student who had never studied politics, I found this book very useful as a book that I could refer to or as a first point to a subject that I may be studing! The introduction to political ideologies is also a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant guide into the depths of ideology, 6 May 2007
By 
L. Dablin "The Bibliophile" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Political Ideologies: An Introduction (Paperback)
This book deals very simply with political ideologies. It covers an enormous amount, from feminism and fundamentialism to communism and collectivism. Not only does it go into detail about the founding of the ideology - it also talks about it's development and it's relation to that political view in modern times and what has changed it. It has loads of little 'boxes' which talk about the various ideologies and their viewpoint on things, and an excellent section on comparative ideologies.

This book is a must for any ideological fiend - whether at A-level, post grad or just for fun!but
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 24 Oct 2001
This book makes the most complex of ideas totally comprehensible. It not only gives a good general desciption on ideological beliefs but it also includes detail on the subject. It is ideal for studying for a politics A-level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent coverage, 6 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Political Ideologies: An Introduction (Paperback)
This book provides an excellent coverage of the main political ideologies. Heywood's illustrations of the main ideologies are highly accessable and set out in an extremely clear manner. I would recommend this book to anyone studying politics or to those who are simply interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent 1st and 2nd year guide, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
A clear and useful introduction to theory that does not mess you around justifying it's price by volume of words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A thorough textbook, but not designed for students, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
A good book. It offers thorough description of a range of ideologies relevant to any politics course and is also a good reference. However it's design is not sufficiently analyatical or comparative for most students. Ideologies are treated well yet concepts like the individual and the state often recieve only superficial analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book!, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Political Ideologies: An Introduction (Paperback)
A very good book! Easy and simple to read and very helpful for me with my studies. Would highly recommend it for anyone studing or just having a general interest in politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Political Ideologies: An Introduction
Political Ideologies: An Introduction by Andrew Heywood (Paperback - 17 April 2003)
Used & New from: 2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews