Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Structural made easy (...-ier), 18 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
This book is recommended by our lecturers in university. The book is useful as it contained all the information that I needed for my first year study of Civil Engineering. The ‘Problems’ (in format of problems sheets) sections are handy and very useful as small revision. The graphics and diagrams are clear, and the calculations made can be easily understood by a first year student like me.
On the negative side, I am a bit confused with many ‘frames’ (that is small sections, NOT structure) in the book. Each frame ends with a question to develop understanding and begins with the answer from previous frame being put in some big black boxes. Although it is a good idea to divide a small chapter into many small parts, however the boxes at the beginning of each frame looks like an important summary rather than answers, it gets frustrating at time during your last minutes revision!
Overall, I think this book is extremely useful for students who just started to study Civil or Structural engineering. It briefly covers all the information you needed without getting too difficult and technical. This is also a good book for people who are too lazy to go to lectures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for first principles, 14 May 2011
By 
K. Rose (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
For any engineering student, this is offers an ideal introduction to structural theory, with only some background in maths and basic equilibrium physics needed.

It covers most of the core structural engineering design and analysis principles, mostly shown from first principles. Consequently it doesn't go much deeper than the contents list does suggest, but I could see it being useful to have stashed somewhere even for advanced engineers as a reference and a starting point for unique, complex problems.

Probably not essential though for anyone who is comfortable with what is on the contents list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good engineering book., 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by a co-worker and am very pleased with my purchase. This book covers a wide range of topics in a very good manner including examples which enabled me to form a core understanding whilst teaching me the more advanced topics that i use everyday in my job.

The layout is clear and each chapter concisely explains the topics to be covered.

Overall very pleased and highly recommended to students and also engineering professionals.

John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 23 Mar. 2009
By 
Fabio Pero "Petrus" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
Very good book for student who start to study structural mechanics for the first time. It is a very easy book to understand and you do not need very good math skills. If you have already studied structural mechanics and you need a book to use as manual, other books are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for engineers!!!!, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
George (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
A must have book for all civil who start studying engineering, who work as engineer. It explains all you need at University, and you can reference it later while you work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exercises galore, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. I. Hockridge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
Super book, full of examples and well graded exercises. Highly recommended. Ideal for students in stuctural or civil or mechanical engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpfull Book, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
This book really helped me through my degree, has a large amount of helpful infromation in it, very useful for civil/structural engineers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book perfect for first timer, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
Excellent book that explores structural theory in enough detail whilst enabling oneself to test their knowledge each chapter.

Use it understand structural dynamics and core theory.

Very useful day-to-day in my career and money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job., 5 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
Book arrived within 3 days and is in A1 condition. Now all I need to do is to make good use of it!
Hopefully, it will help with my coarse work.
I would buy again without any worries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent content, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Structural Mechanics (Paperback)
This book explains things very well. I only dislike the layout. If there were more titles, one chapter wouldn't feel so overwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Structural Mechanics
Structural Mechanics by Jack Cain (Paperback - 13 Oct. 2000)
£38.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews