Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£42.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2003
This book is recommended by our lecturers in university. The book is useful as it contained all the information that I needed for my first year study of Civil Engineering. The ‘Problems’ (in format of problems sheets) sections are handy and very useful as small revision. The graphics and diagrams are clear, and the calculations made can be easily understood by a first year student like me.
On the negative side, I am a bit confused with many ‘frames’ (that is small sections, NOT structure) in the book. Each frame ends with a question to develop understanding and begins with the answer from previous frame being put in some big black boxes. Although it is a good idea to divide a small chapter into many small parts, however the boxes at the beginning of each frame looks like an important summary rather than answers, it gets frustrating at time during your last minutes revision!
Overall, I think this book is extremely useful for students who just started to study Civil or Structural engineering. It briefly covers all the information you needed without getting too difficult and technical. This is also a good book for people who are too lazy to go to lectures.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2011
For any engineering student, this is offers an ideal introduction to structural theory, with only some background in maths and basic equilibrium physics needed.

It covers most of the core structural engineering design and analysis principles, mostly shown from first principles. Consequently it doesn't go much deeper than the contents list does suggest, but I could see it being useful to have stashed somewhere even for advanced engineers as a reference and a starting point for unique, complex problems.

Probably not essential though for anyone who is comfortable with what is on the contents list.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
I was recommended this book by a co-worker and am very pleased with my purchase. This book covers a wide range of topics in a very good manner including examples which enabled me to form a core understanding whilst teaching me the more advanced topics that i use everyday in my job.

The layout is clear and each chapter concisely explains the topics to be covered.

Overall very pleased and highly recommended to students and also engineering professionals.

John
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2009
Very good book for student who start to study structural mechanics for the first time. It is a very easy book to understand and you do not need very good math skills. If you have already studied structural mechanics and you need a book to use as manual, other books are better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
A must have book for all civil who start studying engineering, who work as engineer. It explains all you need at University, and you can reference it later while you work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
Super book, full of examples and well graded exercises. Highly recommended. Ideal for students in stuctural or civil or mechanical engineering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
This book really helped me through my degree, has a large amount of helpful infromation in it, very useful for civil/structural engineers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Very good detailed examples of problems and solutions though the detail can sometimes overwhelm as things are occasionally hard to follow when not completely explained. Very good reference guide for calculation in 2nd/3rd year of university in Civil Eng or Structural Mech. Goes well with 'Understanding Structures: Analysis, Materials, Design' which explains the theories at a slightly more accessible level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
Excellent book that explores structural theory in enough detail whilst enabling oneself to test their knowledge each chapter.

Use it understand structural dynamics and core theory.

Very useful day-to-day in my career and money well spent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Book arrived within 3 days and is in A1 condition. Now all I need to do is to make good use of it!
Hopefully, it will help with my coarse work.
I would buy again without any worries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)