Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent theoretical text
An excellent book for learning about Analysis - although more about the general theory rather than how to actually perform the methods. A traditional analysis text, as opposed to something such as Burn's Numbers and Functions which consists largely of exercises. Sometimes, the solutions in this book can be a little scant, but for looking up proofs and theorems it is very...
Published on 8 Jan 2002 by A. Dulson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very overrated
I too purchased this book during year 1 of a mathematics degree and, personally, feel contrary to most reviewers' opinions. The material, again in my view, is not very well explained at all and comes across as cumbersome and non-accessible.
By comaprison, the David Brannan's 'First course in Mathematical analysis' is infintely better.
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by james


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent theoretical text, 8 Jan 2002
By 
A. Dulson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
An excellent book for learning about Analysis - although more about the general theory rather than how to actually perform the methods. A traditional analysis text, as opposed to something such as Burn's Numbers and Functions which consists largely of exercises. Sometimes, the solutions in this book can be a little scant, but for looking up proofs and theorems it is very useful. Recommended by everybody on my degree course, and very useful to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Analysis, 15 Mar 2009
By 
S. Phillips (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
This book really helped me get to grips with analysis at degree level, which is something I know a lot of people initially struggle with. What makes this book very good is the number of example questions availible to you, which is a much to in trying to get to grips with the work. It covers a lot of material and as i've said in my title is well written and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A godsend, 15 Sep 2006
By 
K. Slusar "slusa" (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
In the first year of my maths degree I was lost... until I found this book. It's unbelievable!! It makes sense, it has nice little historic interest bits and most importantly it'll answer all the exam questions. You won't need another analysis book. I actually love it... yes, I do realise it's just a textbook but trust me, you'll love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very overrated, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
I too purchased this book during year 1 of a mathematics degree and, personally, feel contrary to most reviewers' opinions. The material, again in my view, is not very well explained at all and comes across as cumbersome and non-accessible.
By comaprison, the David Brannan's 'First course in Mathematical analysis' is infintely better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most useful analysis book ever, 5 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
This book was the best value for money out of all the books I have ever bought. It covers everything you will need to know to start off your analysis coverage. Proofs are both concise but fully acceptable under examinable conditions. Definately worth buying. I used this in my first year of my Mathematics degree course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good comprehensible exposition, 29 May 2013
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
This is a good, gentle introduction to mathematical analysis, written in a readily comprehensible and engaging style, so concepts are easy to grasp. It is accessible to anyone with A Level maths, and is suitable not just for students but also for maths enthusiasts not doing formal study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good analysis guide, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
good guide to college level analysis, although relatively expensive. many good examples included and answers are provided. i would like to recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
A very good friend of mine recommended this book to me but after reading few pages I realised that I am studying a very lil' portion of what I already know about analysis therefore it's good for the beginners but not for the advance mathematicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
Helpful book, but lacks extensive examples and sometimes is hard to follow, but would reccomend. Fast shipping, good seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) (Paperback)
Brand new as stated. Very good service, arrived promply and well within the timescale indicated. Would recommend this supplier to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides)
Guide to Analysis (Mathematical Guides) by Mary Hart (Paperback - 3 May 2001)
35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews