Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DID THEY OR DIDN'T THEY?...
This is a beautifully and lavishly illustrated, textually rich book. Its heavy, glossy pages demand the reader's undivided attention and are sure to enthrall all mystery lovers, Everest aficionados, nostalgia junkies, history buffs, and climbing enthusiasts. This book is sure to provide the reader with many hours of enjoyment.
The book chronicles the search for...
Published on 1 Dec 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mystery solved?
I purchased this book on the back of the excellent TV documentary (shown earler this year on BBC2) made by the same expedition team and that's probably the main reason I'd only give 3 stars. It's difficult to re-create, in print, the same atmosphere of anticipation, tension and struggle in searching for a body at 26000ft in life threatening conditions. I was also a little...
Published on 22 Nov 2000 by Mr. M. Chorlton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic boys own story, 27 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ghosts of Everest (HB): The Authorised Story of the Search for Mallory & Irvine: The Search for Mallory and Irvine (Hardcover)
I had never heard of george mallory or andrew irvine until i read about their amazing exploits in the Times earlier this year. As soon as the book was released i knew i just had to have it and i wasn`t disappointed. The book explains how these men tried to summit everest in 1924 but failed to return on their summit attempt. For 75 years people have debated if they reached the top. Now after much planning a team of climbers searched everest for clues to their disappearance and found more than they bargained for. Fantastic story with great pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, well documented book with good pictures, 3 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ghosts of Everest (HB): The Authorised Story of the Search for Mallory & Irvine: The Search for Mallory and Irvine (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting and well researched book written by the true people who were there. The history, discovery and final analysis as to what the new evidence throws onto the Mallory & Irvine mystery are well written and researched. This is a far better book than Firstbrook's, 'Lost on Everest'. The author J.Hemmleb is the world renowned authority on the Mallory & Irvine mystery and his knowledge is well presented with an interesting and detailed analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DID THEY OR DIDN'T THEY?..., 24 May 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a beautifully and lavishly illustrated, textually rich book. Its pages demand the reader's undivided attention and are sure to enthrall all mystery lovers, Everest aficionados, nostalgia junkies, history buffs, and climbing enthusiasts. This book is sure to provide the reader with many hours of enjoyment.
The book chronicles the search for George Mallory and Andrew Irvine by the 1999 Mallory & Irvine Research Expedition. It juxtaposes the dramatic turn of events during their expedition with those of the 1924 British Everest Expedition which saw Mallory and Irvine attempt a summit climb, only to disappear into the mists of Everest, never to be seen again. It makes for a spell binding narrative, as past events are woven through present day ones.
The 1999 Mallory & Irvine Research Expedition was a meticulously well-prepared and well-organized venture. With its discovery of George Leigh Mallory's body, it enjoyed much success. The research and analysis that went into its ultimate, well thought out conclusions were comprehensive and fascinating, with its strong reliance upon forensics and deductive reasoning. Their reconstruction of Mallory's and Irvine's last climb is riveting. Unfortunately, the ultimate question still remains unanswered. Did they or did they not reach the summit of Mount Everest back in 1924?
The beautiful photographs of the personal effects found upon Mallory's person underscore a certain poignancy about the discovery of Mallory's well preserved body. The photographs, which memorialize this discovery, are amazingly lovely and tasteful, considering its subject matter, and hauntingly illustrate the finality with which Everest may deal with mountaineers, no matter how accomplished.
The photographs also highlight how ill equipped for the harsh climatic conditions were the early Everest expeditions. It is amazing, and a credit to those early expeditioners' courage and fortitude, in braving such an inhospitable and harsh terrain with the inadequate clothing and equipment available to them at the time. Mallory and Irvine were certainly intrepid explorers!
This book is a fitting tribute to two men who sought to make a historic summit and, in their attempt, would forever be a part of Everest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Detective Story across time in the High Himalaya with a surprisng and touching discovery The story, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghosts of Everest (HB): The Authorised Story of the Search for Mallory & Irvine: The Search for Mallory and Irvine (Hardcover)
The story of George Mallory and Andrew Irvine's attempt at reaching the summit of Mount Everest and the intriuging question as to whether they succeeded is captivating.The members of the 1999 Research team were surprised and overwhelmed by the discovery of George Mallory's body high up on a steep slope and I wondered if some day Andrew Irvine would be found too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ghosts of Everest, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ghosts of Everest (HB): The Authorised Story of the Search for Mallory & Irvine: The Search for Mallory and Irvine (Hardcover)
excellent book and I have read it several times, together with others on the same subject.

Well written and informative and complements the book "Mystery of Mallory and Irvine" by Tom Holzel and Audrey Salkeld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slow start makes way to fascinating events & conclusions..., 26 May 2010
By 
N. Reeves (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ghosts of Everest is an insightful and interesting book only marred by some early parts of the book being a little dull.

Jochen Hemmlebb, Larry A Johnson & Eric R Simonson set out to unearth the true facts on the disappearence of Mallory & Irvine on the 1924 Everest expedition. They do this in two ways, first they research the already available accounts and historical material then secondly in 1999 they embarked on their own expedition to try and locate the remains of Irvine & Mallory.

Sadly the first part of the book spends quite a bit of time dealing with the groups own trials and tribulations in the build up to the 1999 expedition, which for me was really not that interesting. Fortunately they interweave this with the historical background to Mallorys expedition in 1924, which saved me from complete boredom!

Patience is rewarded when the book really moves up a gear in the second half as the 1999 team start to discover artefacts and clues from 1924 preserved by cold and altitude for 80 years on Everest. It becomes a riveting narrative as they piece together the evidence and make educated but plausible guesses as to what may or may not have happened to Mallory & Irvine. I feel they could have expanded on this area and minimised on some of the early parts of their own expedition.

In short it's a book that rewards patience though some may feel slightly short changed by the slow start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy gift for the mind of an adventurer, 12 Mar 2000
By 
This review is from: The Ghosts of Everest (HB): The Authorised Story of the Search for Mallory & Irvine: The Search for Mallory and Irvine (Hardcover)
The content style is factual and covers 3 main areas - background to the 1924 climb, the search Team's own climb, and speculation on Mallory&Irvine's 'summit day'. Nothdurft's writing grips and pulls the mind along. There is a moderate amount of artwork, ranging from old photographs to items actually recovered. The frontispiece is haunting. The aptly titled chapter 6, The "English Dead", contains photographs of Mr Mallory's body, they appeared to me, to have been respectfully composed inline with the readers desire to know, but not sensationalized (Which would have resulted in a 'no-sale send book back'). If you enjoyed Jonathan Livingston Seagull (R.Bach) you'll be touched by the true Mountaineers' spirit. If I could improve anything, I'd like to see more old photographs. I'd add a few modern-day black and white photographs to emphasise the 're-tracing' of the 1924 route. I'd replace the word 'impossible' with 'it would be incredible'. I'd give a postal address so I could have an Everest Post card sent to my son with two of 'Noel's expedition stamps'. The expedition flag deserved a larger in-focus shot and finally, the important ceremony 'puja': I think it is romanized to 'pujaa' a Nepalise noun meaning worship, but please do correct me if I'm wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews