Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-loved seasonal classic
Ian Whybrow is probably best known for his Harry and the Dinosaurs/Robots series. He collaborates here with the illustrator Axel Scheffler (famous for his work with Julia Donaldson on the Gruffalo, The Snail and the Whale etc). These successful individuals provide a winning combination in producing The Christmas Bear.

There is a catchy poem that takes you...
Published on 31 Oct 2007 by Dr. H. Payne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This is not a pop up book as advertised on the cover and the website. There are flaps and pull outs but no pop ups!

The story line isn't great and there are about four lines of text per double page. I was buying the book for my nephew who is almost four but it wasn't suitable for him; this is definitely aimed at a younger audience.

I sent it back and...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by NLM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-loved seasonal classic, 31 Oct 2007
By 
Dr. H. Payne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
Ian Whybrow is probably best known for his Harry and the Dinosaurs/Robots series. He collaborates here with the illustrator Axel Scheffler (famous for his work with Julia Donaldson on the Gruffalo, The Snail and the Whale etc). These successful individuals provide a winning combination in producing The Christmas Bear.

There is a catchy poem that takes you through the book. The poem/story follows a teddy bear from Santa's workshop who gets left behind accidentally when Santa goes off on his Christmas Eve rounds. He has numerous strange adventures on land, sea and in the air trying to catch Santa. Along the way he is aided by a whole host of creatures. The story has a happy ending as he finds his way to his intended little boy in time for Christmas.

Each page has a flap to lift, a tab to pull, or something to spin which always engages the little people. I agree with the other reviewer, however, that these features are not terribly robust and we will be buying a new version this year. I think that is in itself testimony to the strength of the story and quality of the illustrations that I don't mind replacing something we already own.

I'd also recommend The Tickle Book and Bedtime Bear written and illustrated by this talented due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful xmas story with gorgeous graphics, 24 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
The only problem with this book is stopping your kids damaging it. The pictures are beautiful and the paper art wonderful. I reckon I must have had about three of these over the last few years - every time xmas comes around this gets wheeled out. A must for any parent of under 5s. The rhymes are delightful and the pictures and paper mechanics simply breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Christmas Bear, The Bedtime Bear & The Tickle Book, 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
Great books for bedtime for 3 years and upwards. My 6 year old grandaughter still loves them as she can read them herself now and always loves the pop up surprises. Treat them gently if you want them to last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Christmas book, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
A beautiful book for children of all ages. Sturdy tabs and flaps make it suitable for even tiny hands and the detailed illustrations mean that there's lots to pore over, discuss and find. A real Christmas gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 8 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
This is not a pop up book as advertised on the cover and the website. There are flaps and pull outs but no pop ups!

The story line isn't great and there are about four lines of text per double page. I was buying the book for my nephew who is almost four but it wasn't suitable for him; this is definitely aimed at a younger audience.

I sent it back and instead ordered 'The Night Before Christmas' The Night Before Christmas. Classic poem by Clement C Moore and beautiful, colourful and crisp illustrations by Eric Puybaret. Exactly the same price but much better value in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much fun!, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
my little one can't get enough of christmas bear!! he just loves the story and all the moving things and flaps!! not just a christmas book, we will read it all year long:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
We already had the Bedtime Bear book which my 3 year old has loved since he was 2 and still wants it read to him often. The Christmas Bear has also been a great hit and a fantastic Christmas Eve gift to open to entice him to bed prior to the "Big Day"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I was very disappointed with this book having recently purchased it for my ..., 16 Nov 2014
By 
G. Rigby "Sunsetbonce" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with this book having recently purchased it for my 3 year old grandson. The copy I bought was sold as new although I did not pay the full price for it, however on receiving it 2 of the tabs broke immediately despite careful handling. Although the book is colorful and the illustrations are good, there are not many pages or pop up features, so to have 2 of them damaged does limit the books appeal. Not a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of our favourite reads!, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
The whole family always (and still does) enjoy the Ian Whybrow and Axel Scheffler books. They make reading fun. My 2.5 year old now recalls each page from memory before I've even read it to her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Bear (Hardcover)
great product sent quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Christmas Bear
The Christmas Bear by Ian Whybrow (Hardcover - 23 Oct 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews