Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming tale and long term favourite
A beautifully conceived and illustrated book with a charming tale of a bear's adventure at bathtime. The use of 'noise' words brings the tale to life. Black and white drawings on the text pages face beautiful full colour pictures opposite adding to the story. It has become a tale we know by heart and yet never dread as it is selected frequently. The quality of the...
Published on 9 July 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Whatever Next!
This is another good book by Jill Murphy. I would give it 5/10 as it is not
on a par with 'The Last Noo Noo' I would give that 9/10 & Highly recommend it.
This is quite a good read and a decent bedtime story.
Published on 28 Jan 2011 by T. Gussmann


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A charming tale and long term favourite, 9 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
A beautifully conceived and illustrated book with a charming tale of a bear's adventure at bathtime. The use of 'noise' words brings the tale to life. Black and white drawings on the text pages face beautiful full colour pictures opposite adding to the story. It has become a tale we know by heart and yet never dread as it is selected frequently. The quality of the board is high and the book is showing less signs of wear than some of its contemporaries. A real favourite and one to keep to pass down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baby Bear wants to go to the moon, 23 Oct 2008
This review is from: Whatever Next (Paperback)
and, so searches around his house until he finds just what he needs for his mission.

From the back cover:-

'The moon and back before bathtime?
Whatever next!

This is the second book about 'Baby Bear', who first appeared in the best-selling Peace at Last by the same author.

Beautifully written and illustrated with Jill Murphy's characteristic warmth and humour.

'Whatever Next!' has also become a picture book classic.'

30 shiny high quality pages in the popular 2-page spread format. Wonderfully illustrated throughout, this beautiful book is further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions.
Clear text is on the left hand page with the pictures on the right, so suitably predictable for the younger reader who is eager to turn the page!
This delightful book finishes with a topically tired Baby Bear and his Ted, ready for bed!

The book opens with Baby Bear peeking out from behind the curtain, asking nonchalantly:-

"Can I go to the moon?" asked Baby Bear.
"No you can't," said Mrs Bear.
"It's bathtime.
Anyway, you'd have to find a rocket first."

Baby Bear found a rocket in the cupboard under the stairs.
He found a space-helmet on the draining board in the kitchen, and a pair of space-boots on the mat by the front door.
He packed his teddy and some food for the journey and took off up the chimney....
WHOOSH!
Out into the night..........'

On his journey Baby Bear meets an owl who accompanies him in his 'smart rocket` ......up and up ......past the millions of stars, until they eventually land on the moon.
It is rather boring on the moon so Baby Bear, Owl and Teddy have a picnic...... but are very aware that Baby Bear's Bath must surely be ready.
So, they fly down ......and down..... Say Goodbye to Owl...... get a little damp.... and a little bit .....well.....grubby, as they return back down the chimney, landing with a bump on the living room carpet!

As Baby Bear explains his sorry state, in a matter-of-fact sort of way, Mrs Bear laughs:-

"You and your stories," she said.
Whatever next?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is simply no way to hide it, 21 Feb 2008
I simply LOVE this beautiful book!

This review is for the TED SMART (BOOK PEOPLE) paperback edition.

Baby Bear wants to go to the moon and so searches around his house until he finds just what he needs for his mission.

From the back cover:

`The moon and back before bathtime?
Whatever next!

This is the second book about Baby Bear, who first appeared in the best-selling Peace At Last.
Beautifully written and illustrated with Jill Murphy's characteristic warmth and humour.
'Whatever Next!' has also become a picture book classic.'

30 shiny high quality pages in the popular 2-page spread format. Wonderfully illustrated throughout, this beautiful book is further enhanced by meaningful facial expressions.
Clear text is on the left hand page with the pictures on the right, so suitably predictable for the younger reader who is eager to turn the page!
This delightful book finishes with a suitably tired Baby Bear and his Ted, ready for bed!

The book opens with Baby Bear peeking out from behind the curtain, asking nonchalantly:

"Can I go to the moon?" asked Baby Bear.
"No you can't," said Mrs Bear.
"It's bathtime.
Anyway, you'd have to find a rocket first."

Baby Bear found a rocket in the cupboard under the stairs.
He found a space-helmet on the draining board in the kitchen, and a pair of space-boots on the mat by the front door.
He packed his teddy and some food for the journey and took off up the chimney....
WHOOSH!
Out into the night..........'

On his journey Baby Bear meets an owl who accompanies him in his 'smart rocket'......up and up......past the millions of stars, until they eventually land on the moon.
It is rather boring on the moon so Baby Bear, Owl and Teddy have a picnic...... but are very aware that Baby Bear's Bath must surely be ready.
So, they fly down ......and down..... Say Goodbye to Owl...... get a little damp.... and a little bit .....well.....grubby, as they return back down the chimney, landing with a bump on the living room carpet!

As Baby Bear explains his sorry state, in a matter-of-fact sort of way, Mrs Bear laughs:

"You and your stories," she said.
Whatever next?"

Indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories..., 7 Jun 2007
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
We first read this to our little boys when it was originally published and it continued to be their favourite story for many years. Now they are all grown up and our very loved, battered and taped copy sits on the shelves waiting for more little ones to creep quietly into bed for story time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical!, 21 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Hardcover)
Exceptional good value for money, my 18 month old won't go to bed without it being read to her. She is totally potty about the moon and looks for it every time we go out of the house - night and day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the imagination, 7 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Hardcover)
Our 2-year old is always asking us to read him "Baby Bear" and is now obsessed with finding the moon. The interaction between Mrs Bear and Baby Bear obviously resonates with him (Can I go to the moon? No you can't, it's nearly bathtime) and he can't get enough of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Perfect! The Bear Family Are Back!, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next (Hardcover)
As my 3-ear old son is a huge fan of "Peace at Last", we were delighted to find more adventures of the Bear family. Jill Murphy has captured exactly the fun a child can have with a cardboard box and a lot of imagination. We have read this so many times my son now remembers it word for word! What greater praise can there be from a small boy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun!, 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Hardcover)
My two-year old adores this book and "reads" it to herself in the back of the car. The only problem is -- our colander now does more duty as a space helmet than it does draining spaghetti...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
I love this book and so do my boys <3 its a wonderful story and has lovely illustrations, I remember it as a child and it's such a timeless book I'd recommend to anyone with kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To the moon, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Next! (Paperback)
My son 3 loves this storey, we have made a space ship and had a picnic on the moon in the garden, a great story. And a fun to replicate,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever Next!
Whatever Next! by Jill Murphy (Hardcover - 21 Aug 1998)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews