Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable guide, occasionally too prescriptive
This authoritative guide, by an experienced literary agent, contains advice for would-be authors on how to get books published. This is good, nitty-gritty stuff, including what to include in a submission, how to present your work and how to write a synopsis. There is also much about the book trade, including an excellent section entitled "Does an agent need you?"...
Published on 23 Jan 2006 by 100wordreviewer

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treat with caution
This book is very detailed and Carole Blake is obviously very successful in her area. The book is not however the best book a writer can read to get published. The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook is more useful. The problem with this book is that it has a very negative tone and is very defensive. It puts you off. Ms Blake explains how a writer's day job can determine...
Published on 4 Jun 2010 by Emanon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treat with caution, 4 Jun 2010
By 
Emanon (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
This book is very detailed and Carole Blake is obviously very successful in her area. The book is not however the best book a writer can read to get published. The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook is more useful. The problem with this book is that it has a very negative tone and is very defensive. It puts you off. Ms Blake explains how a writer's day job can determine whether they get published. The quality of the writing doesn't seem to be the deciding factor, at least for her. Carole Blake is obviously very capable, but if she ever revises the book she should address the tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable guide, occasionally too prescriptive, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
This authoritative guide, by an experienced literary agent, contains advice for would-be authors on how to get books published. This is good, nitty-gritty stuff, including what to include in a submission, how to present your work and how to write a synopsis. There is also much about the book trade, including an excellent section entitled "Does an agent need you?"
I'd give the book top marks except for the fact that the author is rather over-prescriptive. For example, she advocates very lengthy synopses, whereas many other agents prefer them shorter.
Summary: a fine book, but take a second opinion before sending off your precious manuscript.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are serious about writing, this is a must, 5 Mar 2003
By 
Penny Harvey "penhar" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
OK - so she scared me just a little, and would probably render me speechless if I met her face to face, but Carole Blake has written an essential guide to what agents are looking for, as well as what a writer should be looking at, once they are accepted for publication. She makes no excuses for this text being directed solely at commercial fiction, nor does she sugar coat any of the facts about the difficulty any new author faces when trying to secure the services of either agent or publisher.
Much of the book is taken up with information regarding contracts, royalties and auctions - which, as I am not in the fortunate position of having had any work accepted for publication, I skimmed over.
The initial third of the book covers the nuts and bolts regarding presentation, approach and attitude of the author. It's direct, concise and honest and although it can be read as saying 'you have more chance of becoming immortal, than becoming published' I actually found it refreshing and stimulating.
She notes throughout that some 'selling power' from the author is helpful i.e. they're a 70 year old dyslexic; and if I intend to submit anything to her agency I will have to stop smoking - otherwise my mss is likely to be returned unread.
But if you are serious about your writing and want to become a published writer I would strongly suggest you read from Pitch to Publication. After all, once accepted, you can dip into it again to read up about the auctions, contracts and royalties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 65 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only 75-year-old single parent stock traders need apply, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
It's undoubtedly a very informative book, but readers should be clear that its sole target is commercial fiction, where you let marketability guide your writing from the word go. As such, I found it depressing in its affirmation of all about the conventional publishing game that makes unpublished authors despair. Go back a space if you're a dentist or a civil engineer: not glamorous or exciting enough. Go back 3 spaces if you have just one novel, however brilliant; publishers are only interested if you show promise of being a cash-cow. Go back 5 spaces if you smoke: Carole Blake will be offended by the smell of your manuscript. Go forward 2 spaces if you have a marketing angle like being 17 or 75, or a single mother, or a stock market trader. If you have the qualities that allow you to play this game, the book will be helpful. Otherwise its only message is that you may be unpublishable not because of what you write, but because of who you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Information but very defensive, 27 Feb 2010
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
This book offers an informative view of the world of the agent as well as the interaction between the author, agent and publisher but ONLY if the reader can ignore the rather defensive position taken by Carole Blake when condoning the consistently bad behaviour perpetuated by agents towards new writers. Ms Blake tries very hard to explain why agents take so long to read submissions, why some agents don't even bother, and why so few writers get a decent (or any) evaluation of their product. Most agents demand that writers make unique submissions to one agent at a time, and then wait eight weeks before making a subsequent submission to another agent. This is an obviously one-way process made possible by the seemingly endless number of new writers. Bearing in mind the eventual symbiosis that should exist between the agent and the writer as a client, this uncompromising approach is probably the single most common cause of frustration. The new writer knows that each rejection passes in eight week periods and that a whole year could elapse in the time it took seven agents to reject their submission. Ms Blake produces a defensive apologia of this rather less than attractive introduction to agent practice before movning on to a very detailed description of the publishing process and explaining why all new writers should have an agent. The irony of this Catch-22 situation seems to be lost on her. The detailed information about contracts and later stages of the publishing process is very informative. However, considering the very small number of writers who manage to attract an agent, let alone a publishing contract, this information is likely to be of only academic interest to most readers. This book was printed before the wholesale use of email for communication but little has changed. Most agents will still only accept printed submissions by post. Despite advanced and extensive automated email systems, most agents still do not acknowledge submissions. Perhaps a later edition of this book will address these issues while publishing is dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century wrestling with the major issue of online book distribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book of its kind in English, 27 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
This book is probably the best single volume for the intending author who feels the need to understand the UK book trade and the process by which a book is brought to print. It covers all the major areas (researching the market, preparing the manuscript, approaching an agent, signing a contract, negotiating the editing process, verifying earnings, protecting rights) and contains accurate descriptions of how publishers, literary agents and booksellers work, gleaned from the author's considerable experience in the trade as a well-regarded literary agent. It is particularly strong on the areas in which the author has most direct experience: this is the book to read if you have no idea what a literary agent does, or if you were labouring under the misapprehension that a publisher's contract is a simple document. The author speaks with authority on all these issues: a good example of this is the discussion of vanity and 'collaborative' publishing ventures, in the course of which she predicts the collapse of Citron Press, the 'alternative' publishing house, well before its actual demise. Necessarily, the material dealing with royalties and rights is rather dry, but the level of detail gives great insight into how an author actually earns his or her money, and the various sections are well illustrated with examples and anecdotes drawn from the author's working life.
As the author is careful to state, this is a no-nonsense, feet-on-the-floor guide which assumes that the reader is prepared to give up any romantic illusions about the book industry. It is not an instructional manual in how to write a book: in fact the subtext throughout is that talent, hard work and perseverance are the writer's business. The ideal reader would be someone who intends to make a career writing commercial fiction, and who needs a thorough grounding in the professional practices of the trade. The author is careful to point ouit that this is the area of her expertise, and that conditions in other sectors of the market may differ somewhat. Would-be literary novelists will still find most of the book relevant, but may have to grit their teeth occasionally: at one point the author describes how an author changes the ending of her latest novel (from grandma dies to grandma lives) to please an overseas market, with no implication that there is any artistic reason for preferring either ending.
Otherwise, well worth your money. Perhaps no 'how-to' book is truly essential, but this and the 'Writers Handbook' are the ones that come closest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Information - Excellent Resource for Writers, 20 Feb 2006
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
Written by a leading literary agent this book is a valuable source of information.
This book covers everything which a writer should know before they submit their work to an agent – Carole Blake lays it down as it is – agents are busy people, they have stacks of submissions to go through – make sure yours is the best it can be, make sure you comply with agent guidelines etc etc.
But this book also goes further than providing general information on submissions to agents; it provides writers with information on publishing contracts, rights, publicity, royalties and more. The book covers everything that aspiring authors should want to know about having their book published.
The occasional personal story adds even more interest to this book, including snippets of letters of correspondence that Carole Blake has received as an agent, some of which are humours and others make you shake your head at the nerve of some people (but then again writers need nerve right?)
Everything is covered in this book and I found the money aspects particularly interesting. There are a lot of articles in newspapers and magazines about huge author advances but this book shows more of the real story – it provides information on what many authors can expect – and it’s not an advance which is big enough to buy a large house in the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm living proof...this book WORKS..., 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to write a book, but I didn't know where on earth to start. I was chatting to a journalist who told me I had to read this book. It gives you the steps you have to take in order to get published.

I'll explain quickly - write a 'submission', get an agent - who in turn finds you a publisher - who prints your book. I read 'From Pitch to Publication' from beginning to end, and it was VITAL in teaching me how to write a submission...I'm not giving away the secrets contained in the book, but I followed it almost to the letter....Guess what, for the person writing about the 'negative undertone', writing books and getting published isn't easy. It's not negativity, it's a thing called 'realism'. You need a seriously thick skin in publishing. This book tells you exactly what happens, and it doesn't gloss it up. (P.s - Writers & artists yearbook, great for a list of agents to send to, messy and complex for everything else!!!!!)

Fast forward a month, I sent my submissions to no less than 15 agents (Yes, that included yours Ms Carole <COUGH> ;-) ...)) .... every single one turned me down. This book had prepared me, I can't say I was distraught. I expected it. It simply wasn't my time.

Fast forward another year, I re worked my submission, and sent it directly to an agent I knew may be interested in my book (she was part of one of the agencies that turned me down the year previous too!!!) Within a week she signed me up. My now agent is still highly embarrassed at the situation, but she did say that 9 times out of 10 random submissions the tea boy gets to read and very few make it through. It's VITAL to send to an agent directly, and hope luck is shining your way!!!!!!!

To sum up really quick, because I've waffled enough.... A month after signing to my agent, 3 publishing houses started a little war between themselves for my book (The Real Lady Detective Agency, just so you can see I'm not lying!!!!). I chose Harper Collins. It was published not so long ago and it became a best seller in the first week.

Forget the people who say this book is outdated, it works - I literally am living proof. I now get asked all the time, 'how do I get published'... I tell these people the same thing the journalist told me. Go and read 'From Pitch to Publication'....Without it, I would never have become a best selling author.... Ms Blake, I thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fourteen years out of date, 21 May 2013
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
This book was written so long ago (published in 1999) that much of its information is hopelessly dated. Amazon, which even back then was 'Earth's Biggest Bookstore' gets two mentions in 384 pages; Carole Blake informs us that books ordered from Amazon are shipped from America, and that Amazon has yet to make a profit. How times change.

She discusses self-publishing without mentioning ebooks, which had barely been invented in 1999. Since traditional publishing moves at the speed of a sleepy snail, parts of the book dealing with royalties, the strange returns system and subsidiary rights are still useful. The information on publishers' contracts has dated, as they have recently become much more stringent; nor does it cover digital rights.

In my opinion, Carole Blake should update this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I become a published author it's thanks to this book., 13 May 2002
This review is from: From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published (Paperback)
I have read 10 'How To...' books recently in an effort to become offay with the publishing world and the craft of writing. Most of them will prop up my bed, but this one remains in easy reach for reference and inspiration. It's a fascinating read, and I found it focused my objectives and attitude without cramping my style or stemming my creativity.
Carole Blake is obviously a scary and yet multi-talented woman who knows exactly what she and her authors have to do to get published. She made me stop and think about exactly what I am trying to do, and I thank her for that.
If you want to see your book in print I suggest you read this before approaching an agent or editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Pitch to Publication: Everything You Need to Know to Get Your Novel Published
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews