Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars56
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2000
Norman Davies spends much of his introduction separating the notion of the history of " Britain and Ireland " as the history of the U.K. or the history of England or the history of Britain.He continues from first page to last to insure that the English among his readers,or the British among his readers understand that " The Isles " also contain a very separate nation and state known as Ireland.
It is more than refreshing from an Irish perspective to read an History that gives Ireland equal status with all of the other nations and peoples of the Isles.
This book is balanced,astute,and long overdue.Congratulations Mr.Davies on an educational text of the highest standerd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
wonderful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I read Norman Davies widely and enjoy his history books. I am only disappointed that the download has repeated pages in the early part of the book. requests to Amazon to re-download this book and remove faulty download have been ignored to my disappointment

Michael Underwood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
nice book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Outstanding . Everyone interested in British History should read this book. Every Welshman, every Scot, every Irishman and particularly, every Englishman ,man lncludes woman in this case,of course.
Pity about the typo errors far too many. Are ebooks proof read?

Geoff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2013
I have read "EUROPE: A history" by the same author and he had impressed me. I am very pleased with this book as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This was a very big book and quite heavy reading so did not tick all the boxes for my husband
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
This book is mainly good for people who really want to learn about British history. It's clear, brief and concise. Certain critique on other famous historians is reasonable and accurate indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
Norman Davies is a peculiar writer. He goes to great lengths to impress upon us the legitimacy of the national myths of the so-called Celts (most of whom have a Germanic or Romance language as their mother tongue these days anyway). The English however were a frigid nasty universally despised lot from the beginning, who have never really existed anyway. So he says. When all is said and done, his attempts to deconstruct dubious historical terms and concepts is wholly laudable. Yet, he falls down in the way that many modern English people do, by replacing a belief in English-infallibility with a belief in English innate wickedness and original sin. It is ironic that, in his attempt to de-anglocentricise history, Davies never stops going on about the English. An enjoyable read but not as much fun as Jane Austen's History of England.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)