Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think about it - buy it.
I can't believe I'm the first person to reivew this book which has to be one of the best known and best loved of all 'how to' books ever written. It does not tell you how to write - it tells you how to become a writer and it's probably best to read it before you start writing. It tells you how to balance your writing life with the rest of your life, and how to keep...
Published on 11 Jun. 2005 by Rp Garner

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All that Writing Jazz
Books that teach you how to write fiction are almost a genre unto themselves. Some are literary (A Passion for Narrative) and some are trash (How to Write a Blockbuster), but most usually recommend the same things: create a daily writing routine, study other authors, persist, etc. This slim book is a classic in the genre, published before World War II. The language is...
Published on 18 May 2008 by Oliver Redfern


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 30 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
So glad I bought this. I am happy just knowing I have it to read and follow, even if I am so busy with kids I can't actually follow it all just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Read Only One Book On Writing, Make it This One, 19 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
As budding writers, we're all faced with a bewildering panoply of books on the techniques of the craft. As beginners, this huge bulk of work on how to perform the miracle many of us see as writing, can seem very daunting. So, why am I bringing to your attention yet another book, causing you further anxiety of deciding in which of the hundreds of volumes you should invest your valuable time and energy, let alone money? Well, let me first say that this attempt to persuade you of the value of this book isn't aimed only at beginners. Well established, experienced authors will also benefit from the words of wisdom contained within this relatively slim volume.
The first clue is in the title. Becoming a Writer isn't a technical manual. It's not a guide to grammar, style or subject choice, genre, presentation or any of the many other, often contradictory aspects of writing that are shoved relentlessly at beginning writers. This, if at all possible, is the book you should read before you even contemplate immersion in the techniques of the trade. If that moment has already passed, worry not. I'd read dozens of technical books on the craft before I happened upon this wonderful book in the late 80s. But I wish I had come upon it at the very start. So much time and energy would've been saved and so much misunderstanding would've been avoided.
As Dorothea states so eloquently at the start of her encouragement to writers, we are all told, repeatedly, by books, lecturers, course leaders, and many others in the writing trade, that `genius cannot be taught'. Here, however, is a writer who exposes this lie and provides practical exercises aimed at discovering and freeing your own inner genius.
A word of warning: if you wish to continue your life believing yourself a writer without putting that possibility to the test, do NOT read this book. If you see writing as some sort of dilettante occupation involving no real work, DON'T read this book. Once she's explained the lies behind the discouragement of so many of the writing trade's so-called experts regarding the `magic' of writing, she presents her readers with a hard choice. If, having attempted her initial exercises, you discover you're incapable of following her advice, she suggests you take up some other career and leave writing to those who take it as the serious lifestyle it must be if anything worthwhile is to come from your scribbling.
This isn't simply a book. In order to gain anything from reading it, the reader is required to undertake certain exercises. Initially, some of these may seem arbitrary, meaningless, pedantic, even a little odd. But, and I speak from experience, perseverance will pay out in spades. As a direct result of reading this book and following the advice, I'm now able to write anywhere, under any conditions, and turn out the germ of a worthwhile story more or less at will at one sitting. I believe that to be an aim worthy of effort. If you think there's no chance of you ever achieving this level, read this book before you either give up writing or face the rest of your life in a state of dissatisfaction where your hopes have no chance of fulfilment.
I'm not going to attempt to provide a synopsis of the book. But I will quote a short statement taken from the back of the copy I picked up, second hand, for less than the price of a coffee. `Becoming a Writer...is unique and genuinely inspirational. She (Dorothea Brande) believes there is such a thing as the writer's magic, that everybody has it in differing degrees and that it can be taught. This book is about freeing that unconscious ability in all of us.'
Both John Braine, who wrote the foreword of the edition I have, and Ted Willis have words of praise for the book. Braine claiming that it is `...the only book about writing which has been of practical help to me...' And Willis describing it as `...the best book on creative writing and the process of creative writing that I think I have ever read...'
So, if you're looking for a ready guide to discovering and utilising your innate abilities as a writer, and you're prepared to put in the work required, this is the book for you. If, on the other hand, you're only playing with the idea of becoming a writer, this is also the book for you; for it will confirm your lack of seriousness and perhaps persuade you to try something more suited to your personality.
I recommend it unreservedly to all those who take seriously the complex, wonderful, frustrating, creative, stimulating and rewarding art and craft of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars educational, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
a very good book for aspiring writers. useful tips and information throughout. well written without being too heavy a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My second copy of this book - my daughter has my first., 5 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
Superb book. The best advice for anyone who thinks they want to be a writer, but is having trouble getting started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars my friend found this very useful as I purchased this for him, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
Well done, my friend found this very useful as I purchased this for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
Very interesting - a must read for anyone interested in writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serious About Writing?, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
Anyone who wants to become a serious writer should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
Arrived in good condition. Interesting read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Becoming a writer, 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
Becomin a writer by Dorothea Brant is an excellent book written with humility and insight. The authour has drawn on her own experience as both writer and teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for budding authors, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Writer (Paperback)
I found this book extremely helpful and refreshing in its approach, and will continue to refer to it in the years ahead as I pursue my creative writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Becoming A Writer
Becoming A Writer by Dorothea Brande (Paperback - 8 Mar. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews