Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2011
'Fruits' was our little toddler's first favourite book and still remains her favourite counting book. Unusually, it introduces an easy fraction, starting off with "half a paw paw" - the only counting book she has which does so. The engaging story follows a little girl helping herself to various Jamaican fruits throughout the day, while the adults are elsewhere occupied (though there are consequences at the end of the story!).

As well as helping with counting, this book is great for introducing fruit we don't normally come across in the UK, such as guavas, paw-paws, sweet sops; as a springboard for discussion about different places in the world; even for discussing fairness (there's a scene where fruit is inequitably shared with our heroine's little sister). The illustrations are simply stunning and there's a 'hide and seek' element to the pictures, which my little girl loves.

Reading it in my best Caribbean accent brings out the rhyme beautifully - but also derisory laughter from older (West Indian) family members! A book to enjoy again and again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2009
I bought this book for 2 children last Christmas, and they still say thank you every time I speak to them. It's a fun read both for the child, and the adult reading with them. The granny of one of the little ones loves it as it gives her a chance to talk about back home.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
My daughter and I first discovered this book at our local library when she was 1. She loved the language and style of it - especially when read with my best Caribbean accent! It soon became a firm favourite and whenever we'd spot it she would have to take it out again until I got sick of being ordered to find it every other week and bought it on Amazon. Lovely illustrations and just a great book which I think we'll remember forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
I really like this book, it is funny, uses rhymes which gives a great flow when reading. For people who want a bit of culture for their child I would definitely recommend this book. It is very important for black children to see these types of images which are a reflection of themselves, it really can help them to be more secure in the future about their own identity. Top book :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Absolutely love this book! I found this a number of years ago at my local library & ordered it not long after. As a preschool teacher I found many of the children I read it to really enjoyed it, but not as much as I enjoyed reading it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
Perfect storyline, a book for Black African/American that has sense and a good moral, not these peppa pig nonsense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
My daughter loves this book before bed. A very funny story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
Love this book, great story and lovely illustration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
We found this book to be our daughter's favorite bedtime reading. A thoughtfull, well written and illustrated book, should be a classic for all children especially jamaican children. Highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£6.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.