Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2001
A book of 11 short stories, ranging from 5 to 30 minutes reading time. All compelling reading, thought provoking. All reminders of cryptic crossword clues, double bluffs, mystery and intrigue. Not all the stories feature Morse. Morse's greatest mystery is the one story with the least criminal and detective content. The story subjects include fabricating evidence, theft, escape from prison, impersonation, infidelity and murder. A likable book, worth reading, recommended for holidays or train journeys. The first Colin Dexter I've read it reminded me of Ian McEwan but not so macabre.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Highly enjoyable stories which give another chance to immerse oneself in the brilliant mind of Oxford' s greatest mind. Great in every sense.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
I was thrilled to discover some Morse stories that I hadn't previously come across. However, I was very disappointed. The short story format didn't suit Dexter's style at all, as he was unable to develop the story or use Morse's character effectively. The stories would have been okay if they hadn't been Morse stories and had used a different character. In one or two of the stories the point was either so obscure, or so insignificant I couldn't even see it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Reading the stories instead of watching them on the television is much better. You can go at your own pace.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
I have to say, this book was fabulous, a Morsey delight.
Colin Dexter was a genius writing these.

A melt in the moment experience with every story.
A must read for Morse fans and newbies alike.
Inspector Morse - Complete Boxset [DVD]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Great stories; the book makes me want to read some more Morse. I particularly enjoyed the Sherlock story. Bring back Morse!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Not his best, but enjoyable.it's a bit lightweight, but passes the time agreeably. Worth buying and reading for Morse fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Stories good but I was not expecting the Sherlock Holmes. Other than that, the twists at the end were well handled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Colin Dexter is a master story teller. The Morse stories keep you in suspense until the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
Didn't enjoy this. Too many very short stories. Think advertising is misleading. Thought it would be a number of full length stories.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse