Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing The Rain To Kapiti Plain, 5 Mar 2004
Kapiti Plain is a beautifully illustrated African story/poem which adopts the repetitive structure of 'The House That Jack Built'. As a primary school teacher this book has been ideal when teaching performance poetry and can be the cause of great discussions on the ethics of hunting. The stunning illustrations, rhythm and tale are sure it capture the attention of children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the rain to Kapiti plain, 5 July 2009
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
Used as stimulus during mutli-cultural week at school-used across KS 1+2 . Well recieved-good book+ super illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the rain, 3 May 2010
By 
P. E. Mooney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
Bought as part of theme on Africa. Used with mixed age range 5-11 years old. Beautiful book, lovely illustrations. Children copied style of water colours- brilliant results -wonderful dislay-children enjoyed immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kapiti Plain, 24 Jan 2010
By 
T. Coles "T Coles" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
You might not initially be drawn to this book as the illustrations aren't as good as many other multi-cultural books. However, it's a useful book for both home and school.

Written in a repetive, increasing style, the story builds and builds until finally the rain comes. Lots of opportunities for PSHE / geography / science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It, 22 May 2006
By 
C. R. Okparaeke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
I fell in love with this book when one of my children had it home from school. I've just ordered and received my own copy and re-read it. I love it, not just the rhytum of the story but the ending always puts a smile on my face!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great change from farmyard animals, 3 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
This is a great book. The story builds with each repartition, like the old lady who swallowed the fly. With lovely pictures it is a great alternative setting and children in my class always enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Water project/assembly?, 28 July 2009
By 
C. Cable (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
We had great fun using this African folk tale to learn about drought in Africa. The story is in the form of poetry and the repetition throughout lends it vey well to music and drama. My year 2/3 class had great fun being an 'orchestra' and composed several pieces of music using both the normal musical instruments in school and those they created themselves from everyday objects. The result was a brilliant assembly enjoyed by all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
I bought this book to go with my school topic of Africa. This is a good story to share with the children with colourful pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved reading it, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
A story with a difference. Loved reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing the rain to Kapiti plain, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) (Paperback)
Y1 just about to work with this book but having planned around it, I am looking forward to sharing the book with the classes. They will love it as much as Mama Panya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs)
Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain (Picturemacs) by Verna Aardema (Paperback - 25 Sep 1986)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews