Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuremberg
Having read countless books on the two world wars I had long wanted to read a full account of the Nueremberg trials. This account by Ann and John Tusa provides an impartial, well-researched and fascinating insight into this trial that established the historical precedent of the concept of war crimes. The way in which lawyers from the radically different legal systems of...
Published on 25 Mar. 2013 by Andrew Allen

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Historic Milestone, Ruined by Kindle
First of all, could I make it clear that my low rating of this book is not reflective of the book itself. "The Nuremberg Trial" is superb and is probably the most definitive book-length work on this subject. (Incidentally, the print version credits John Tusa, as well as Ann Tusa.) No, my problem is with the Kindle version.

The Kindle version is PLAGUED...
Published on 2 May 2013 by Mr. Trevor K. Killen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Historic Milestone, Ruined by Kindle, 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. Trevor K. Killen "teekay" (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First of all, could I make it clear that my low rating of this book is not reflective of the book itself. "The Nuremberg Trial" is superb and is probably the most definitive book-length work on this subject. (Incidentally, the print version credits John Tusa, as well as Ann Tusa.) No, my problem is with the Kindle version.

The Kindle version is PLAGUED (actually, that is a mild term) with typographical errors. Intermittently - and entirely unpredictably - an error appears which totally detracts from enjoyment of this first-rate history. For example, "Dahlerus" appears (several times) as "Dahlems" and "Gilbert" as "Gilbe5". These are only random examples of many. Worse, many of the typos are numbers.

Precision in numbers - quantities, dates - are somewhat important in a history; otherwise rubbish results. For example, referring to Speer's appearance in the witness box, the Kindle version says, "...he himself had struggled to prevent the destruction of Germany at Hitler's hands in 1941....From January 1941 he had given up all attempts to produce armaments..."

This is blatant nonsense. For anyone who has even a nodding acquaintanceship with the history of this period - or who has read the print version of this book - it is clear that the year quoted should be 1945.

This goes beyond merely spoiling the reader's enjoyment of an excellent book - it is destroying historical accuracy.

I mean, what is Amazon playing at? Do they not have any people proofreading Kindle editions? If so, why are they still holding their jobs? Can we introduce Amazon to the concept of a simple spelling checker?

In short, does Amazon pay any attention at all to quality control?

They are charging punters like you and me good money for a product which is faulty. UK consumer protection legislation gives us, the customers, certain rights and Amazon certain responsibilities.

It should be said that typos are found in many Kindle books - this is merely one of the worst examples.

The copyright holders for this work should also have words with Amazon in relation to the spoliation of their book on Kindle.

It will be interesting to see if and how Amazon reacts to this. Hopefully with a determination to improve lax and careless outputs such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nuremberg, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Andrew Allen (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Having read countless books on the two world wars I had long wanted to read a full account of the Nueremberg trials. This account by Ann and John Tusa provides an impartial, well-researched and fascinating insight into this trial that established the historical precedent of the concept of war crimes. The way in which lawyers from the radically different legal systems of America, Britain, France and the USSR worked together for a year to try and convict those guilty of some of the most heinous crimes in human history had me rivetted. The way that the challenges of mounting such a trial were met, demands the utmost respect and admiration for those involved. The fairness of the judgements - three were acquitted - and the conscientious way in which this at times extremely tedious trial was endured make it a historic landmark. The reactions of the those charged with crimes against humanity, described in full detail in court, gives deep insights into the depths to which human beings can sink. Twelve of those convicted were sentenced to death by hanging, an arguably just, but neverthless moving, end to the Third Reich and all that it stood for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book, well worth a read, 2 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nuremberg Trial (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book, which describes not just the trial itself, but examines the history behind it, the law on which it was based, the dramatis personae, as well as its after-effects on the collective conscience of the international community. It is written in an easy to read style, and manages to transcend the horror it describes with an appropriate mix of pathos and gravitas. The description of Justice Jackson's cross-examination of Goering, Maxwell-Fyfe's rather better effort at the same task, the attempts to unravel the mysteries of Hess' mind and the scathing description of Ribbentrop's "woolly mind" are just a few examples of the excellence of this book. Ideal for both the scholar and the anorak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version appalling typsetting, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
Robin Miller (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am rating the kindle version of this book. I read the hard print version many years ago and it was excellent. However, in the kindle version a copy of the manuscript has scanned and put through some optical character recognition. Unfortunately very little in the way of proof reading after that. It was so bad it really did get in the way of what otherwise was a very good history of the Nuremberg Trial. Just because its a digital book, doesn't mean that publishers can ignore typesetting and proof reading. very poor indeed. Frankly the publisher is just taking the digital reader for a ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the numerous books I've read on Nuremberg, truly excellent, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Nuremberg Trial (Paperback)
I could not urge anyone enough to buy this book - an engrossing tale of the trials and the participants. I found the political and legal arguments concerning the moral authority of the court very interesting and some of the remarks attributed to the chief gaoler, Col Andrus, hilarious. Perhaps the best aspect of the book's coverage is the description of the relationships between the various defendants and those of the captives and their lawyers. The political wrangling between the four powers is also well covered.

Anyone with even the slightest interest in WW2 and all lawyers really should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly piece on many levels, 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nuremberg Trial (Paperback)
This book was a superb tour de force. For the legal minded the full background to the problems of creating international law was exceptionally outlined. For the attempts of the allied lawyers to ensure a fair trial despite interference from their governments was illuminating, especially the Russian delegates. For german social historians there were some excellent insights into the climate of 1947 and the popular views in Germany of their former masters. For those for whom the leaders of the Third Reich have been a focus of interest for years there are revealing passages. The contrast between men like Speer and Goring provide much fruit for thought. In all, this was a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full of detail but very interesting, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nuremberg Trial (Paperback)
I read this after reading 'the rise and fall of the third reich' so was familiar with most of the 'cast' and their deeds during the war. What i liked best about this book (as a law graduate) is the several chapters about how the tribunal was set up, what jurisdiction etc, what the offences would be. It was the 'precedent' for all the war crimes trials since which I think shows that they set it up well.
Then all the info about all the different languages and how the translaters worked, things that I had never even considered before but which at the time was totally new and ground breaking - but essential if the trials were to succeed following the rule of law.
Other books will give you extracts of the worst parts of the defenants words during the questioning, they are a bit sensational. I got a book like that also but put it down in distaste after a chapter or two. Rather, this book gives you the reasoning behind the questioning, the attitude of the defendants etc.
If you want transcripts of the trials then this book is not for you. But if you want to know how the trials were decided on, set up and managed, then you will enjoy this huge book. Its more of a textbook style than a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written a complete account. Well deserved 5 stars!, 8 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Nuremberg Trial (Paperback)
The authors give a full account of this historical trial. I had no background knowledge of the Nuremberg Trial, and I found this book easy to read as well as complete and detailed enough. I would complement it with Nuremberg's Diary, by Gilbert, to get a deeper insight of the defendants personalities. Although I can't compare this book with the others available on the subject, I would certainly recommend it as an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Audible version, 4 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Nuremberg Trial (Paperback)
This is a very long Audio version but my goodness at half way into it, not a moment that's not interesting for me. I struggle to stop listening, it's that good. It has everything...politics, inevitable with the 4 victorious (Empire) nations, genuine argument (regarding different legal systems), trivia (what should the judges wear?), suspicion (was one of the rather legally ignorant Soviet Judges KGB?)... and that's before we even start on the defendants. Obviously this was a major event in World history and this is a brilliant book if you're interested in that. The audio book is very highly recommended by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A momentous trial, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very detailed and thorough report on the Trial. A lot of research has gone into this book to give a balanced and fair explanation of what is generally classed as a show trial. If it was then the book goes into a lot of detail to explain why that claim may not be fair. It did after all give obvious criminals the right of reply. I enjoyed it and commend the authors for a well balanced report on a momentous time in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nuremberg Trial
Nuremberg Trial by John Tusa (Hardcover - 20 Oct. 1983)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews